Raphaël

From: Martinique

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Argentina, Bolivia, Cambodia, Chile, China, Costa Rica, Cuba, Indonesia, Japan, Laos, Malaysia, Nepal, Nicaragua, Peru, Philippines, South Korea, Taiwan, Thailand, United States, Uruguay

  • ...

    Travel dates

    13/03/2017 - 12/03/2021

  • number of facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    154

  • Badges

    Explorer
    Good Workawayer
    Facebook verified

  • Description

    ⚠️ *️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️⚠️
    DEAR HOSTS,
    BEFORE READING MY PROFILE (AND CONTACTING ME), PLEASE NOTE:
    I am EXCLUSIVELY interested in projects or endeavours involving permaculture (especially food forests / forest gardening and urban permaculture), natural and regenerative farming, agroforestry, reforestation, herbal medicine, tea, mushroom cultivation, beekeeping, aquaponics, natural / eco building, healthy / holistic activities, bushcraft / primitive skills, ocean conservation or sailing – as I would like to learn more about these subjects. Thank you for your understanding.
    ⚠️ *️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️⚠️


    ➡️ WHO AM I

    Hi, I'm Raphaël! 👋
    I'm a 25-years-old guy from Martinique, a beautiful French island located in the Caribbean. I'm currently an English-French Translator working indirectly with international companies and a former Social Media Consultant. I'm on a journey to reinvent my life and myself.

    It's been travelling and volunteering since April 2017 (mainly in Europe and Asia so far) as I'm driven by a desire to enrich my knowledge and get more inspiration about permaculture (I took a certified Permaculture Design Course in March 2018), natural farming, agroforestry, natural building and sustainable/regenerative ways of living among other things. The end goal would be to set up my own project back in Martinique while making a significative impact around my community. A lot of things need to be changed and mindsets to be shifted but I'm optimistic.


    ➡️ MY INTERESTS
    I'm really interested in learning more about:
    – Permaculture & regenerative agriculture (+ ancillary activities like agroforestry, biodynamics, aquaponics, beekeeping, mushroom cultivation, herbal medicine, energy and waste management, …)
    – Natural building (adobe, straw-bale, bamboo, stone, earthbag houses, domes, …)
    – Environmental sustainability
    – Self-sufficiency
    – Alternative ways of living and consuming
    – Low-tech
    – Bushcraft & Primitive skills
    – Rewilding
    – Social entrepreneurship

    I cultivate other interests, specifically in the artistic/creative fields such as:
    – Poetry: I created a literary project called "La pause haïku" where I share every day a haiku since January 2016. You can check my work at www.lapausehaiku.fr if you're interested.
    – Music: I'm listing all kinds of music, but jazz has a special place.
    – Reading: Permaculture, philosophy, spirituality, psychology, … My Kindle is never far away.

    I'm re-learning Spanish and practicing meditation + yoga (very beginner at this) when I have time. Physical and mental health are an important part of my life. I'm vegetarian (flexible one I would say), I don't smoke and I generally don't drink alcohol (except beers from time to time). At some point, I would also like to learn bass guitar (to play jazz), hang drum (handpan), tai-chi, krav maga, archery, pottery and sailing.


    ➡️ WHY I WANT TO TRAVEL AND WHERE

    My main goal at the moment is to learn more – through volunteering among other things – about permaculture (and other related interests) in a theoretical and practical as I envision to set up my own project back in Martinique. I took a certified PDC (Permaculture Design Course) and NBC (Natural Building Course) in Thailand in March 2018 as I wanted to enrich my knowledge.

    As you guessed, I'm a very open and curious person since learning is a solid habit of mine, always looking for ways to improve myself, help others, and broaden my horizons every day. That's also why I want to travel in order to:
    – Experience new cultures and ways of life
    – Embrace uncharted waters
    – Meet and help people
    – Share and receive all kinds of knowledge

    Regarding my travel itinerary:
    So far, I already had the opportunity to volunteer in Europe (Sicily, Spain, Portugal) in 2017 and I'm currently helping within organic farms, permaculture projects and other environmental endeavours around Asia. At some point, I would like to volunteer in Hawaii, South/Central America, Cuba and the Dominican Republic. However, I give myself a margin of flexibility while embracing the uncertainty of the future.

    All my Workaway experiences have all been positive so far and I hope that I could be useful to you and that you'll be willing to welcome me and count me as your friend.

    Looking forward to meeting you! 😉

  • Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Farmstay
    Other
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Charity work
    Language practice
    Art project
    Help with Computers / internet

  • What skills do you have?

    ➡️ THINGS I CAN HELP YOU WITH

    I would be more than happy to help you with the following:
    – Manual work (gardening, farming, general maintenance, building, chores…)
    – Permaculture design (still a beginner at this, but willing to learn and assist)
    – Art projects (depending on my skills)

    If you're running a business/organization/non-profit/personal or charity project:
    – Social Media Marketing (I used to work with few local businesses and help them build their strategy on Facebook, Twitter and Instagram)
    – English-French Translation/Localization (I'm working indirectly with international brands and companies like Sony, Virgin, Amazon and Adobe, so I can definitely help you with that)
    – Website creation (mainly WordPress)

  • Languages spoken

    French & English (I'm re-learning Spanish)

  • Age

    25

  • Nationality

    French

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements
      Vegetarian (Pescatarian)

Photos

Feedback