Poppy90

From: United Kingdom

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Portugal

  • ...

    Travel dates

    06/06/2018 - 31/07/2018

  • Badges

    Good Workawayer

  • Description

    *️*️*️Travelling within Europe to the right workaway placement :) *️*️*️


    Having previously travelled for 18 months seeing new sites, meeting new people, discovering new cultures and volunteering, I'm keen to travel again.

    I volunteered in projects in local communities which allowed me to get a better understanding of the culture in that country, as well as working at a hostel for month in Portugal. I am now looking to base myself somewhere for a month or longer and assist in accommodation where I can meet new people, contribute and work hard, but also have some time to focus on my future plans.

    I am a positive, empathetic and hard working individual who loves meeting new people and having new experiences. Authentic people who are true to themselves and passionate about what they do inspire me. Meeting new people and sharing stories, adventures and views are just some of the reasons why I love to travel. I want to be part of a team where I can contribute and keep broadening my knowledge of the world :)

    Prior to joining work away, I have volunteered in the past in the following projects:
    *️️️️ Volunteered as a Leader at a Brownie Pack with children (children aged 7-10years)
    *️️️️ Volunteered teaching English as a foreign language at a school in Thailand (approx age of children 6-12 years)
    *️️️️ Volunteered in Lesvos, Greece assisting refugees who have just arrived on the island, by providing support, distributing aid and providing care (all ages and backgrounds)

    Workaday Projects:
    " Volunteering in India
    " Working behind a bar in a hostel in Portugal

    I'm happy to answer any questions you may have!

  • Type of help

    Babysitting / child care
    Elderly Care
    Cooking / shopping
    Other
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Helping with Tourists
    Charity work
    Language practice
    Art project
    Help with Computers / internet
    Teaching

  • What skills do you have?

    *️️ I'm as happy thinking on my feet and using my initiative as I am taking instructions
    *️️ I was a Customer Solutions Manager prior to travelling, responsible for operational and strategic performance, so am used to responsibility
    *️️ I have successfully completed investigative and change management projects
    *️️ I have completed my Grade 8 in Musical Theatre and can lead enjoyment singing lessons with children (singing through practice rather than theory)
    • I am computer literate and can use Microsoft Office
    • I have experience of people management
    • I am used to completing tasks both in teams and on an individual basis
    • I use my initiative and am pro-active
    • I am used to communicating with people of all ages, having previously volunteered with children aged 7 – 10 years and worked with people with disabilities as part of my previous role
    • I am a confident and effective communicator, and whilst I only speak English, I have experience of communication where language was a perceived barrier (teaching in Thailand/helping with refugees)
    • I have worked in many different types of situations and adapt quickly to new environments

  • Languages spoken

    English

  • Age

    28

  • Nationality

    British

  • What else ...

    Just that I'm a positive individual who is really looking forward to working abroad again and meting new people :)

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      No

    • Special dietary requirements
      Vegan

Photos

Feedback