Phoebe

From: New Zealand

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Italy

  • ...

    Travel dates

    31/07/2018 - 11/09/2018

  • number of facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    560

  • Badges

    Good Workawayer
    Facebook verified

  • Description

    Kia ora!

    My name is Phoebe, I am an 18 year old traveller from New Zealand. After graduating college/highschool last year, I decided to take a gap year before going to University, in order to travel and gain more life experience. I like to think of myself as an adventurous opportunist. I’m playful and humorous, however also always up for a serious conversation. A friend once told me that if I’m ever in a room with only people with the same knowledge, values or opinions as me, then I should leave it. I like to be challenged, I like to be wrong and to adapt my point of view. I also like to climb mountains and prove myself wrong when I think that I can’t do something.

    I am originally English, as I was born in Cambridge and have British nationality through my father. I also have New Zealand nationality through my mother. I have two older brothers and a twin sister, so I come from a sometimes rather hectic family. When I was three we moved to Melbourne, Australia, where we lived for six years. In Melbourne I went to a Rudolf Steiner school for my first four years of primary school. My family and I moved to Nelson, New Zealand when I was nine, where I went to mainstream school for the rest of my primary and college years.

    I love the outdoors, and spent most of my free time and holidays hiking in New Zealand, completing 5/7 of our great walks, as well as many other local hikes. This year I summited Mount Aspiring, as part of an eight day mountaineering course. I also enjoy a range of other outdoor activities, including white water and sea kayaking, rock climbing, scuba diving, mountain biking, horseback riding, sailing, skiing, and snowboarding. Having such a love for the outdoors has got me involved in many outdoor activities, allowing me to participate in diverse and often very challenging experiences. These experiences, although quite physically challenging, have also taught me many lessons in mental ability and resilience.

    I like working outdoors. My family has always lived on high maintenance properties and I have raised and looked after hens all my life. Although I don’t have a huge amount of knowledge of gardening, as I would mostly help with the hens and watering the plants, I am very eager to learn and I pick up new skills fast.

    I started my gap year travelling for five weeks in India, visiting Mumbai, Hyderabad, Hampi, Bangalore, Munnar, Kochi, Alleppey, Gokarna, Goa, Udaipur, Agra, Varanasi and Delhi. I really loved India as I got to experience a completely different culture from my own, and meet so many interesting people. It was also a challenging experience for me as it was my first time travelling alone, but I definitely feel proud of myself for doing it and well prepared for any future adventures.

    After travelling in India I flew to London, where I lived and worked for 3 months. This was a great challenge for me as I had never lived away from home before. I enjoyed London as it is a big, vibrant city with so many opportunities and cool people to meet.

    My last big adventure was a road trip across the United States and Canada. I really loved this as I was able to get away from the big cities for a bit and get back into nature. During the trip we spent most of our time hiking in national parks, visiting The Badlands, Yellowstone, Glacier, Banff, Jasper, Redwood, Yosemite, Sequoia, Zion and Arches National Parks.

    I am currently in Paris visiting family, I will be flying into Milan July 31st. I am then hoping to travel around Italy, but I don’t yet have set plans on where in Italy I am going. I have until September 11th in Italy, before I fly back to London, and then to Cambodia and Thailand, before returning home in November.

    I would love to hear from you if you have any opportunities that you think I would be well suited for. I am particularly interested in helping as an au pair, as I love children and think that getting to know a local family could be one of the most special experiences when travelling. I have good English and would do my best with teaching if that is what you are looking for help with. I also, obviously, enjoy being outside and so would love to help on an organic farm.

  • Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Babysitting / child care
    Cooking / shopping
    General Maintenance
    Farmstay
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Charity work
    Language practice
    Art project
    Help with Computers / internet
    Teaching

  • What skills do you have?

    During my last two years at school (2016-17) I worked weekends and holidays at MD Outdoors, a locally owned outdoors store in Nelson. Having studied NCEA Level 2 and 3 Outdoor Education at school, working in this store was a great experience because I had the opportunity to interact with and learn from like-minded people. While working at MD, my tasks included dealing with costumers, handling money, restocking shelves, offering advice and opening and closing the store.

    While I was in London I worked as a waitress at restaurant/bar/venue area called Oslo in Hackney. I enjoyed this as it was fast paced and provided me with many useful skills in hospitality, including barista training and occasionally working behind the bar.

    I love spending time and playing with children and have lots of babysitting experience over the last few years. In my first four years of primary school I learnt through a Rudolf Steiner education system, which focuses on learning through creative thinking. Although I don’t remember a lot of what I learnt as it was so long ago, I love the idea of working with children in a similar way.

    I love to cook and learn other cultures cuisine and skills. Most of my knowledge of cooking has been through making food at home, in the last few years especially I would prepare most of the family meals. But I also studied NCEA Level 2 Hospitality. This course covering skills such as practicing food safety measures, preparing fruit and vegetable cuts to a high standard, handling and maintaining knives in a commercial kitchen and barista training. It also enables me to learn about cooking foods with meats. I have been vegetarian for almost six years and so even though staying with a family who eats less or no meat would be easier, this isnt necessary and I don’t impose the way I choose to live and eat on others.

    I am very happy to help you with your English practice! I am also keen to learn some Italian! English is my first language and I believe I speak it well, although please remind me if I am speaking too fast as I sometimes do that when I am excited! In 2016 I studied NCEA level 2 English, endorsing the subject with Merit.

    Studying NCEA level 2 and 3 Outdoor Education in the last two year of school has also provided me with first-aid training.

    I enjoyed school and worked hard at it, in my last year I achieved high marks, shown through my National Certificate of Educational Achievement (NCEA) level 3 Excellence endorsement. The NCEA level 3 subjects I took last year were Chemistry, Biology, Earth and Marine Science, Statistics, and Outdoor Education. I endorsed Earth and Marine Science and Statistics with Excellence, and Chemistry with Merit. I also received academic awards for my involvement in Outdoor Education and Statistics.

    In October 2017 I was awarded the Cawthron Trust John Cross Award for best scientific investigation in recognition of my three investigations into ocean and river health. I also won the Cawthron Scitech Silver Science award for my investigation at Cawthron Institute, researching how polyethylene microbeads found in some skincare products effect the feeding rate of NZ green lipped mussels. In addition I was awarded the Marine Conservation award for my investigation into the decreased water clarity in the Tasman Bay caused by excess sediment, and its effect on bay marine life. These projects were assessed in several rounds of interviews with different judges who scored on quality of the investigation reports as well as how effectively findings were presented to judges. These achievements all reflect the hard work and dedication I put into my school work in 2017.

  • Languages spoken

    English

  • Age

    19

  • Nationality

    New Zealand / British

  • What else ...

    I have not been a workaway before, but my family have hosted many travellers in New Zealand. And so even though every arrangement is different, I have a good understanding of what is generally expected.

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements
      Vegetarian

Photos

Feedback