Nicolas & Mathis

From: France

  • ...

    Account Type

    Couple account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Argentina, Bolivia, Canada, Chile, Colombia, Ecuador, Peru, United States

  • ...

    Travel dates

    24/07/2017 - 15/08/2018

  • number of facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    274

  • Badges

    Super Workawayer
    Explorer
    Facebook verified

  • Description

    My friend and I have the same philosophy of life, this unites us; this is a strong desire for freedom, for adventure, meeting people and travel !
    We left with backpacks to discover the Americas. Our hope is to be able help people and with their projects.
    We are very open minded to every type of experience and would like the opportunity experience new horizons.
    We are mature and motivated, but also creative and ingenious!
    We love to lose ourselves in the projects!
    We spent our three years of high school studying and practicing
    " Outdoor Sports " in a mountain city in France. We learned to evolve in an autonomous way in open-air sports: Climbing, caving, kayaking, ski touring, and sometimes rock rappelling, and guiding.
    It was a great school of adventure, which allowed us to mature, find ourselves , and gave us a great desire to travel the world!

  • Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Babysitting / child care
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Other
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Helping with Tourists
    Charity work
    Art project
    Teaching

  • What skills do you have?

    We are hard workers, punctual,motivated and strong! At the same time, we are creative, ingenious and enterprising.
    Nicolas's experiences:
    -I was voluntary in a hostel in Valparaiso with Workaway. I helped with reception, maintenance and lot of other things.
    -I was a volunteer at a radio station for 4 months . I helped with the technical jobs, I did interviews, reports, and I performed radio shows on stage.
    -I worked two months picking fruit in France.
    -I worked two weeks in a paintball club in England. (different jobs)
    -I was a volunteer for one week building a wooden roof at an ecologic house.
    -I studied 3 years in a unique high school in France that gives a degree equivalent to that of "mountain guide".
    -I was in the student council of my boarding school during the three years.
    -I was a volunteer in a public library in my town. I helped my mother to create a cultural pole.
    -I also worked as a graphic designer for CD covers and related posters. Sometimes as a volunteer, other times on the payroll.
    -I like take pictures, for me and for my artistic group. I even won a Workaway photo competition!!!
    -I have been playing drums for more than ten years. With my band, we played at several concerts.
    Nicolas' skills :
    -Physical requirements ( very athletic )
    -Equivalent level to a hiking mountain guide
    -Artistic skills
    -I feel at ease with public speaking
    -I am a Musician
    -I'm still learning English! Be patient with me!!!

    Mathis' experience:
    I created with a group of friends a Project of international solidarity with a Non-governmental organization in the country of Senegal. We spent two weeks in a small community building a shelter space/ tool shed. We learned to build a foundation and to build walls. We Worked in the biological garden cultivating lots of plants.
    I worked hard two months picking fruit, apricots and grapes.
    I have my diploma with the distinction of “very good”.
    I worked one month in a communal structure in maintenance .
    I spent three years in a school with a "outdoor sports" option when I learned
    to manage a group in different outdoor sports, like climbing, kayaking or trekking.
    After I worked to maintain the garden of a different residence.
    I practice different circus skills like Poi, Slackline, Diabolo and staff.
    I have gained lots of experience working in 5 Hostels and outdoor
    camping situations in South America.
    I helped organize a music festival in Chile.
    Mathis' skills:
    -Physical requirements ( very athletic ).
    -Equivalent level to low mountain trekking guide.
    Hard worker. Problem solver.
    I've worked at a farm co-op in California assisting with all duties.
    I Feel at ease in the outdoors.
    I am still a student of intermediate English!!!! Be patient with us!!!

  • Languages spoken

    French ; Spanish ; English

  • Age

    18 & 18

  • Nationality

    Français

  • What else ...

    We are now in the Western USA!

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements

Photos

Mon album photo

Journey in touring and on skis !!
Journey in touring
We love climbing
Passion for photography
Volunteer in a radio (Nico)
Attraction for the travel and the freedom !
The collective dimensionis very important for us.
Journey in touring
We have physical requirements. And experiences in mountain.
We have working experience. Here, we build a roof
We have artistic disposition. Here the portrait in the charcoal of a French humorist. (Nico)
Mathis
Nicolas

Feedback