Madhur

From: United States

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    United States

  • ...

    Travel dates

    25/03/2017 - 02/04/2017

  • number of facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    894

  • Badges

    Good Workawayer
    Facebook verified

  • Description

    I'm an international student from India, and am currently a college student in the North East in the US.
    I'm very excited to travel and see more of the world, and find great value in the host-based system that networks like workaway provide because living with hosts is a great way to meet really, interesting, warm and wonderful people who allow me to see the new place "from the inside out" as opposed to the other way around.

    I'm very interested in learning about the human mind, cultures and societies, languages, better ways of living, and such things. I place high value on good conversation, like to hear about people's lives and points of view on things, and learning things about where they are from and the things they care about.

    My experiences with Travel:
    I was born and grew up in India, but my family moved often. Over the course of my childhood, we lived in several cities across Western and Southern India.
    Growing up, I went to several different alternative schools, one of which was essentially a large organic farm which was was entirely self-reliant through self-produced renewable energy sources and farm produce. Another was a very small school (of 7-20 students in all) that strongly believed in community involvement, so everyone took part in cleaning, dishwashing, tending the vegetable garden and looking after the dogs.
    When I was 16, I went abroad on exchange programmes for short periods to Paris and to Adelaide, Australia, where I lived with host families and attended school with my host-sisters. The experience really opened up the world to me and really taught me to value the host family experience.
    When I was 16, I was selected to attend school in Dilijan, Armenia with a hundred other students from 54 countries. Over winter, I lived with an Armenian host family and, for the first time since my arrival, truly experienced Armenia.
    School allowed me to travel more with grants and funding. I travelled to Tblisi, Gori and Kakheti in Georgia, first on a project trip to study Stalin's early life and contemporary perceptions of the figure in the country, and the second time on a project trip to study the history and contemporary culture of wine-making practices in Georgia.
    I was also able to visit Scotland (and meet Prince Charles ^^), and intern in Addis Ababa, Ethiopia.
    Finally, at the end of high school, I was accepted to a university in the States, where I now study. (I also have a host family here ^^)

    All in all, I'm very excited to travel and learn, open to new experiences and opinions, and look forward to meeting and working with the incredible people I meet through workaway!

  • Type of help

    Gardening
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Other
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Helping with Tourists
    Charity work
    Language practice
    Art project
    Help with Computers / internet
    Teaching

  • What skills do you have?

    Painting, Photography, Writing, Research, Manual Work, Basic Cooking (can cook Indian food), Cleaning and Organisation.

  • Languages spoken

    English, Marathi, Hindi, Elementary French, Elementary Russian

  • Age

    21

  • Nationality

    Indian

  • What else ...

    I'm very excited and willing to learn skills for work that is required by a host. I'm especially keen to learn more about farming/gardening practices, fixing and making things, etc. I learn quickly in general!

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements

Photos

My Photo Album

Feedback