Steven

From: United Kingdom

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Albania, Bulgaria, Cyprus, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Italy, Malta, Portugal, Spain, Sweden, United Kingdom

  • ...

    Travel dates

    07/12/2016 - 07/12/2018

  • Badges


  • Description

    Although new to Workaway, I recently enjoyed working for a Workaway host who is a friend of a friend. I spent three weeks in Germany helping her install an underfloor heating system in her yoga tipi…..what a fascinating project! It was also a chance to experience a vegan diet and way of life….again, a new positive experience for me.
    I’m looking forward to working on another project with Workaway, and can commit up to eight weeks at a time.
    I enjoy travelling, my most rewarding experiences being on several trips to the Pacific, sailing to some tiny, remote islands. Taking a small tool kit with me I was able to help repair broken items, such as sewing machines, and electronic items, as well as improving their communications systems. All this alongside experiencing of a totally different way of life, what a privilege!
    I’ve also travelled in Asia, North America, Africa and Europe, as well as Australia and New Zealand.
    My interests include foreign cinema, live music, amateur radio, yoga, table tennis, walking, reading, and dance.

  • Type of help

    Building
    Cooking / shopping
    General Maintenance
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Helping with Tourists
    Charity work
    Language practice
    Other
    Help with Computers / internet

  • What skills do you have?

    Coming from an Electronic/Electrical engineering background as a telephone engineer, I enjoy the opportunity to repair most electrical or mechanical devices, especially where parts are not available locally i.e. small island locations where there are often sources of spares in discarded broken equipment ready to be harvested.
    Reuse and recycle is my motto.
    I’m proficient in the use of power tools and can tackle most DIY jobs.
    I have a full clean driving licence, and am experienced in driving on either side of the road (as appropriate!)
    I’ve always serviced and repaired my own vehicles…….mostly older cars that don’t need a computer to diagnose their problems!
    I’ve worked as a volunteer for the National Trust several times, working on projects such as fence erection and repair, working on timber buildings and clearing vegetation.
    I have a basic TEFL qualification, but as I have not used this recently, I would like the chance to be an assistant, or just provide conversation practice.
    I ran a scheme within AgeUK Exeter called “Safe as Houses” which was a service to advise older people about home security and how to feel safer in their homes, as well as fitting new locks and security devices and carrying out minor repairs etc. I found this work very rewarding, and learned a lot in the process.
    I’ve also spent several years working in an office environment as a volunteer in the finance department with AgeUK here in Exeter.

  • Languages spoken

    English, basic French

  • Age

    61

  • Nationality

    British

  • What else ...

    I’m looking for an opportunity to learn new skills as well as sharing mine with you in a friendly atmosphere where respect is valued…. with a few laughs along the way!

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      No

    • Special dietary requirements
      No

Photos

Underfloor heating system in the yoga tipi, Germany.
Composter in mid construction, Germany.
Recent dabble in art!
First aid at sea!
Admiring local workmanship on Takku island Papua New Guinea
Enjoying the sun on Samothraki island.

Feedback