David & Elizabeth

From: United States

  • ...

    Account Type

    Couple account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    New Zealand

  • ...

    Travel dates

    02/08/2017 - 24/07/2018

  • number of facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    193


  • Description

    Greetings! My name is David and I am married to a wonderful woman named Elizabeth. We are both in our mid 20's and are looking for lifelong memories and adventures. In February of 2015, I had traveled to New Zealand for 5 weeks on my own to go out and about in this huge world. Since that amazing experience, the itch to go back has not subsided. I met great people, saw beautiful landscapes, and experienced all new kinds of adrenaline rushes.

    In the time since, we got married and went around the Caribbean. We hiked, crawled, swam, kayaked and jumped our way through many places along the way and loved it all. Soon after, we decided we needed to do more in our lives than work, and as time and a good amount of saving has passed, we are ready. In August, we will arrive in New Zealand on a Working Holiday Visa and begin our exploration of a lifetime. The plan is to visit as many places as possible in this country in a one year period. We will be backpacking our way through to add even more adventure.

    For this experience to get better, we would love to work our way around and learn the ways of the locals. We do want to move about a lot, but we would also be just fine settling down in one area for a while if it seems to fit our fancy. The aforementioned plan does not need to be rushed, and in fact, we would enjoy it not to be. Elizabeth and I would love to make friends and have roots in this great land where possible.

    A bit about our daily lives:

    David is an assistant warehouse manager in Fort Collins, Colorado. He helps his company and their customers move furniture. His jobs include picking orders of furniture (which includes driving stock pickers up to 30 feet high while loading), managing a small group of warehouse associates, customer service in several areas, moving and loading furniture, inventory/logistics control, as well as other small jobs around the business such as landscaping and general maintenance/cleaning.

    Elizabeth is an entomologist for a water quality lab in Fort Collins, Colorado. She studies insects found in water sources such as rivers to give quality assurance to clients around the state. Her jobs include gathering samples from water sources, identifying insects gathered from these samples, compiling scientific writing about the state of the water and insects she has gathered, along with supervising lab techs while ensuring their jobs are being done correctly.

    When we have time together, we like to (try to) stay in shape with running and hiking. Elizabeth loves to draw, take amazing photos of just about anything, and paint, as well as read. I personally enjoy pin bowling, rock climbing, and star-gazing. Our meals are home cooked almost every day, with the periodic date-night out. Cooking together is always a fun experience and the kitchen is a great place. We both love animals of any/all kinds (though I do have furry allergies to an extent) and would be happy to be alongside yours. Neither of us smoke, and we primarily drink water. Elizabeth drinks tea regularly, and sodas are good on occasion as well as alcoholic beverages. My food allergies can be rough to work around, but I am not picky with what I can eat since it is so limited. Both of us have great attitudes toward life and are going around the world to make memories that will last us beyond a lifetime. New Zealand will be one amazing start to the rest of our lives, and we hope to make memories for you as well.

  • Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Babysitting / child care
    Cooking / shopping
    Other
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Helping with Tourists
    Charity work
    Art project
    Help with Computers / internet
    Teaching

  • What skills do you have?

    Elizabeth - Great with kids and animals. English major with an entomology minor. Good organization, customer service, time management and computer skills. Her attention to detail and beauty in her art add a lot to the many reasons she would be a good addition to any workforce. She would love to paint, garden, talk/teach her passions, and take care of any animals you may have.

    David - Most landscaping jobs are within my reach, as well as basic building. I can drive some industrial machinery and operate several power tools (forklifts, trailers, mowers, trimmer, chainsaw, etc.). Customer service skills, good with children, I know my way around a computer and can pick up new skills with relative ease. If you need someone to listen and learn, I will be that someone. I will happily take on new skills, maintain a yard, help build or repair small projects and lift heavy(ish) objects where needed.

  • Languages spoken

    English

  • Age

    24 & 24

  • Nationality

    North American

  • What else ...

    As far as my allergies go, please do not feel the need to work around them. I have lived with them a majority of my life and understand they are not always easy to go with, but I can work around them myself no problem. All I need from a host would be the information of what would be around for our stay.

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      Nuts, Fish, Seafood, Poultry, Lamb, Raw fruits/vegetables.

    • Special dietary requirements
      Soy can be troublesome along with listed allergies.

Photos

My Photo Album

My wife and I in Yellowstone National Park

Feedback