David

From: United States

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Australia, Colombia, Egypt, Greece, Indonesia, Nepal, Peru, Tanzania, Thailand, Turkey

  • ...

    Travel dates

    17/09/2018 - 06/07/2019

  • Badges

    Good Workawayer

  • Description

    I am a single-father traveling on a sabbatical year around the world with my two boys (ages 8 and 11). You can learn about our journey here - http://journeyingintotheworldoflove.com/. I am dedicated, trustworthy, professional, resourceful, highly-organized, silly, serious, fun, tactful, and community-oriented. I take my skill set and apply it to whatever the content of my interest is; I’ve got a breadth of experience behind me. I received a Bachelor of Science in Civil Engineering from the University of Massachusetts (Amherst, MA USA) and worked for the California Department of Transportation as an engineer. I volunteered in the US Peace Corps as a secondary school teacher in the country of Lesotho (Southern Africa), living in a remote village. I’ve been an Outward Bound instructor for adjudicated youth in outdoor programs. My most recent work endeavor was as the director of operations and administration for Harvard University’s Office of Technology Development (https://otd.harvard.edu/about/team/david-pruskin/). I conserve wherever possible, respecting Mother Earth, and tend to live closer to the natural order of things than to the artificial. I do not identify with many common cultural norms and the mainstream consciousness (here in the USA). However, I can always find something to relate to in all individuals. I’m very approachable and flexible, and can converse with all types of people. I’m very open-minded and respectful towards others. My interest and hobbies (i.e., where my heart finds joy easily) include music, dance, plants/gardening, and bicycling.
    My boys didn’t fall far from the tree! Like me, they love to be of service, love being in community, love to be active and play creatively, love to laugh and get involved. They love to work with their hands especially in a garden or on a farm. Both of them are eager to share their zest for life, and to help wherever it is needed. As a family, we look forward to getting involved and sharing our skills and energy with people from different walks of life. Ideally, we are looking for Workaway experiences where there are other families with children so that my boys can have playmates and feel engaged. This experience 'workawaying' around the globe will likely change our lives, and we endeavor to positively affect those around us as much as they will positively affect us.

  • Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Babysitting / child care
    Elderly Companion
    Cooking / shopping
    General Maintenance
    Farmstay
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Helping with Tourists
    Charity work
    Language practice
    Help with Computers / internet
    Teaching

  • What skills do you have?

    ==Inside a home (domestic services):
    +Love cooking and baking (for omnivores, but especially for vegan and gluten-free/dairy-free)
    +Can clean a house top to bottom (especially good at cleaning out refrigerators!)
    +Fold a mean laundry
    +Especially good at organizing and rethinking the use of space
    +Can tinker, patch, repair, and fix the odd-job;
    +Green thumb for house plants (strong affinity for all plants)
    ==Outside a home:
    +Love to work outside - general yard maintenance, gardening (vegetable and flowers), rock walls (not a professional skill, but an interest - I'm drawn to rocks, in general)
    +Love to do all this with attention to organic, sustainable (permaculture) principles
    +Farm work (just tell us what to do)
    ==With kids:
    +Creative, fun, caring
    +Respect children's emotions, and look to hold space for them before trying to resolve the outward behaviors
    ==Other:
    +Bicycle repair & maintenance
    +Outdoor wilderness skills
    +Highly organized
    +Detailed oriented
    +Resourceful
    +Process improvement
    +Problem-solver
    +Play guitar, ukulele, and sing
    ==My Boys:
    +Love to be of service in community
    +Have grown up attending Dance New England's Summer Camp (DNE.org)
    +Last 3 years were part of the DNE camp set up crew

  • Languages spoken

    English, Spanish

  • Age

    54

  • Nationality

    USA

  • What else ...

    I am a single father of two beautiful boys - Toby - 11, and Leo - 8. My wife, their mother, died of colo-rectal cancer in February 2014, and since that time I've been struggling to gain a sense of purpose and direction. So it seemed, at least after I married Shira, that my life was like an 18th century multi-masted schooner sailing under the sunny, warm perspective of family to wherever we wanted it to go. However, I wasn't captain of that ship as much as my wife was. Sure, I could swab the decks, and hoist the main sail, handle the never-ending maintenance issues of the vessel to help keep it afloat, and, of course, assist in the navigation towards our collective goals. Private; first class. When the seas got rough, I was right there at her side to help right the ship and keep us on track. When she died, I was, by default, to assume the role as captain of the vessel. The seas have been extremely rough and stormy since that promotion. My boys and I have been battered by gigantic waves of grief and anger. Hurdled in far-flung directions by the winds of change. Meanwhile, I have no idea about the condition of the ship. The crew is near mutiny. I don't know where we are going, or to where we should travel. I've been just trying to keep the damn boat afloat, and keep it from crumbling altogether. The immediacy of taking my life into my own hands - fully, now as a single-father - has driven me inside out, sideways, and upside down. I cannot relinquish my role as captain. I wear that rank for the rest of my life. The immensity, and weight of my responsibility to raise two boys and find my joy in this one precious life has been a catalyst for change. I see my situation as an opportunity. I question who I am in the context of this life now without my beloved Shira. I question what I'm doing, why I'm doing it, where I'm living. I question my job and all the roles I play - brother, lover, father, friend, manager, colleague, etc. In my current life everything seems the same from the outside looking in, except the partner I chose to sail through life with is no longer here. I desperately need perspective in a big way, and for that reason, I have chosen to take my sons and travel around the world for the next year. Traveling is in my blood. It brings out my most precious gifts – my kindness, my curiosity, my sense of adventure, my desire to help others and be of service. Beyond everything that the travel experience can provide me, I wish to gain perspective on my life, and my place and purpose in it. I want to expose my skills and learn new ones. I want to share my work ethic and give freely. I want to do work with meaning and substance. I want to be part of community and provide opportunities for my true self to shine among other like-minded individuals. Additionally, it is important to me to expose my boys to all that the world has to offer, and to provide them with the same opportunities to understand more of who they are and what they can do. For that reason, I seek opportunities where my family is welcomed. The boys have my strong work ethic and love serving in community. Thank you for taking the time to read through this, and learn more about us!

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      No

    • Special dietary requirements
      Gluten-free, dairy-free

Photos

Feedback