Alex

From: United Kingdom

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Austria, Denmark, Germany, Norway, Sweden, Switzerland

  • ...

    Travel dates

    11/12/2014 - 10/12/2016

  • Badges

    Explorer
    Super Workawayer

  • Description

    I am 20 years old and live in the South East of England in Kent where I have lived all of my life. Since finishing school 2 years ago I have had two Engineering Internships and have travelled to Africa and around Europe. This is my last year of travelling before starting University in October 2015 where I will be studying Civil Engineering.

    I strive to maintain a healthy lifestyle and have a passion for physical fitness. I do not smoke and drink very occasionally (maybe a couple of beera every couple of months). I attend the gym six days a week, running and cycling on a regular basis. I enjoy team sports, having played football for seven years as well playing some Rugby. I have participated in several endurance events for charity. Last year I ran in the “NUTS Challenge” 28km army assault course raising £450 for Cancer Research. Without a doubt exercise is a huge part of my life. It’s because of this I am eager to get involved on a physically demanding project. I will be extremely willing to work long hard hours. I am an extremely hard working and determined individual who is committed to putting in 100% effort in everything I do.
    For relaxation I enjoy playing the piano for which I have been studying for five years. I have been classically trained, but I love Jazz and I am starting to focus my attention on that genre of music.

    Another equally important point to note is my passion for the outdoors and the natural environment. One aspect of “WorkAway” I am most excited about is the chance to travel to some amazing locations and get up close to nature. I am most interested in working in the outdoors doing some form of physical labour.
    I would also love the opportunity to learn from my Host family about the culture of the country they live in, as well as gaining new skills through the practical work I will be carrying out.

    In 2013 I spent 7 weeks in Malawi volunteering at a Secondary school teaching English and Maths to children of ages 12-18. I was also able to spend some time at the local orphanages, assisting the kids with basic numeracy skills and helping the locals prepare the morning porridge for the children. In the evenings we would return back to the schools to play sports with the children – this could be anything from playing football to just simply throwing a ball around and it was great fun. I was able to get involved on a slightly more practical project towards the end of my placement. I spent the last 2 weeks working alongside 4 other volunteers on the construction of a new Food Distribution Building.
    I found my entire Malawi experience extremely rewarding, especially when the children finally understood a concept I had been trying to teach them for the last three days! What’s more I thoroughly enjoyed learning about a whole new culture and way of life – something I would like to do again on my travels this time.

    Immediately after this I spent 4 weeks at Moholoholo Animal Rehabilitation Centre in South Africa. This was a completely different experience to my one in Malawi, but just as enjoyable. A typical day’s work included cleaning out of the animal's enclosures (birds of prey, lions, cheetahs, giraffe etc.), feeding animals and general maintenance of the Reserve. I have some fantastic stories from those 11 weeks in Africa and would love to have just as positive experience with my Host Family.

    Lastly, I think it’s important to say that I am a very relaxed and down to earth individual. I love talking to people about the things they have done and places they have visited throughout their life time. I get on very well with people of all ages and can adapt quickly to new working environments. I am not shy of hard work and would happily assist in all tasks that are asked of me. The one issue I might have is the quantity of food that I eat. I do eat A LOT of food (mainly due to my exercise programme), but I would happily pay for any additional food that I may need.

    Hopefully you have liked what you have read and will consider accepting me as your “Guest” in the near future.

  • Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Farmstay
    Help with Eco project

  • What skills do you have?

    I finished school in June 2012 achieving 4 A Grades in my A-Levels in English, History, Mathematics and Physics. I studied Spanish at school for five years and have a basic understanding of the language – I wouldn’t be able to have a full on conversation with somebody, but I know enough to get by.
    I have had a couple of engineering internships over the past two years and will be studying Civil Engineering at University later this year.
    Although I have no professional qualifications in terms of landscaping or agriculture, I have been involved in lots of physical hands on projects and have loved the feeling of satisfaction of seeing the completed work.

  • Languages spoken

    1)English - fluent 2)Spanish - very basic

  • Age

    25

  • Nationality

    English

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements

Photos

Feedback