Philip

  • Gran Bretaña
  • Inicia sesión para ver la actividad reciente

Medallas (4)

Explorer
Top Workawayer
Facebook verified

Información de perfil

  • Información de viaje

    Ahora estoy

    viajando

    Mi próximo destino:

    Lyon, France - Desde May 2022 Hasta Jun 2022
    Ver todos
  • Descripción

    ÉTÉ 2022 : Pas la France. Merci aux hôtes français pour toutes les invitations, mais je serai en Belgique.

    I have volunteered with more than 60 hosts around Europe since 2013, including families, communities, and temples.

    I have been a paid caretaker at a luxury guest house in Saint Tropez for the last six winter seasons, where I do catsitting, gardening, bricolage, and swimming pool maintenance.

    My university degree is Artificial Intelligence, and for 10 years I worked in England in the finance department of the National Health Service. Aged 32 I sold all my possessions and started volunteering full-time. Now I own only a backpack of clothes and a laptop computer. I prefer to travel via land instead of flying, for environmental reasons.

    In summer, working in the 35C heat of southern France is unpleasant, so I migrate north. For 2022, I seek hosts in Belgium for the first time. I am not a tourist, so you do not have to reside in an interesting location. For most of the year I am alone on a forest mountaintop, so I know how to entertain myself.

    My favourite two jobs are:
    Housesitting. I enjoy dog-walking as a reason to explore the area, and I ensure that your house and garden remain in the same condition that you left them.
    Tidying. I enjoy reorganising cluttered sheds/workshops/attics by creating space and making everything easy to find.

    I am mature, respectful, and tidy. I eat anything. I don't smoke or drink alcohol or use drugs. I have no criminal record. I exercise to stay fit, I have private health insurance, and I am fully vaccinated. I have work boots and gloves. I adapt to your lifestyle. Hosts say they like me because I am "uncomplicated", though people are disappointed that I don't drive, and everybody hates my cooking.

    My main hobby is genealogy. I like the detective work of tracing my ancestors back hundreds of years, as far as William the Conqueror. Now I mostly try to find the connections to my DNA matches. On the other hand, a pastime that I find intolerable is live music, so please don't take me to see local bands or recitals.

  • Intereses

    Jardinería
    Bricolaje y manualidades
  • Habilidades y conocimientos que quiero compartir o aprender

    Me interesa:  

    Trabajo de caridad

    Ciertos conocimientos de:  

    Jardinería
    Proyectos de construcción y bricolaje
    Mantenimiento general
    Vida en una granja
    Proyectos ecológicos
    Ayuda doméstica
    Cuidado de animales
    Hostelería/turismo
    Enseñanza

    Puedo enseñar:  

    Práctica de idiomas
    Ayuda con ordenadores/Internet
  • Que habilidades tienes?

    I'm not a professional. Many hosts give me a list of jobs and then trust me to organise my own time, but I am also happy to work as an assistant. If given the choice, I prefer to work early in the morning while the temperature is cool and finish at lunchtime.

    Garden/Farm Experience:
    * mowing lawns, strimming, weeding, trimming bushes, pruning
    * leaf blowing, débroussaillage, safe bonfires
    * irrigation installation, mulching
    * chainsawing, firewood chopping and stacking

    Renovation Experience:
    * painting with brush and roller, varnishing
    * drilling, circular sawing, sanding
    * very basic plumbing such as replacing a water faucet
    * very basic electrical such as replacing a socket
    * mixing concrete, repointing patios, plastering walls
    * trench digging, levelling ground
    * high work on ladders/scaffolds/roofs

    Domestic Experience:
    * housesitting pets, plants, and pools
    * housekeeping: bed making, bathroom & kitchen cleaning
    * furniture assembly
    * serving hot drinks, pot washing
    * fixing computer problems
    * writing staff instruction manuals

    English-Teaching Experience:
    * TESOL certified.
    * I speak clearly, without slang.
    * Taught immigrants for 3 months, conversation classes for 1 month, and tutored three children aged 8-14.

  • Idiomas hablados

    Inglés: Fluido
    Español: Principiante
    Francés: Principiante

  • Edad

    41

  • Nacionalidad

    English

  • Más información

    • Fumador

    • Permiso de conducir

    • Alergia
      Cars! I become sick very easily on twisting roads.

    • Dieta especial

Comentarios



Amigos

Fotos

Comentarios