We would love help with creating a special garden on our property in Te Awamutu, New Zealand

Country

Nueva Zelanda

15 “me gusta”


  • rating

    Evaluación del anfitrión

  • feedbacks

    Comentarios

  • last activity

    Última actividad

    17/06/2020

  • Medallas

 
  2021 

 Estancia mínima:  Al menos una semana

E
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descripción

    Descripción

    We are Jack and Hadassah Jones. We are an international couple. Jack is English, spent many years in Germany so is fluent in German and married Hadassah who is a Kiwi. Hadassah grew up in Papua New Guinea, has an American accent but is a New Zealander. We both have traveled a lot and enjoy people from other cultures.
    We would love help with creating a special garden on our property. Hadassah has a passion for beautiful gardens and wants to over time create something special that maybe one day people will want to come and visit.
    We have a long way to go and the place definitely looks like a work site, but we are starting to make some progress.

    Jack is 50 years old and works for a kiwi fruit orchard mainly in their workshop fixing, tractors and tools. He also does some youth work at one of the local high schools.
    Hadassah is 45 years old and has just set up her own business, tending other peoples gardens while still trying to do her own.
    We are Christians and belong to a local church. We enjoy people from all walks of life, religion and cultures and hold to the importance of respect.
    We are non-smokers and mostly non-drinkers. You are welcome to provide your own alcohol and smokers we would ask you to do that away from the house.
    The one thing we might seem a bit quirky about is that we like to have our shower squeegeed down and wiped after each shower. Just to stop water stains.
    We are new to workaway, but have had many people come stay with us before from all over the world.

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Jardinería
    Proyectos de construcción y bricolaje
    Mantenimiento general
    Ayuda doméstica

  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    If you live in a big city and haven't had the chance to experience having your own garden, mowing a lawn, eating vegetables that you have grown, this will be a good experience for you. If you enjoy this it might inspire you to do something of your own back home.
    If you are experienced with gardening you might enjoy seeing how things grow in a different country and climate from your own.

  • Proyectos con niños

    Proyectos con niños

    En este proyecto podría haber niños. Para obtener más información, consulta nuestras directrices y consejos aquí.

  • Ayuda

    Ayuda

    The main help we would be looking for is in our garden. It is a work in progress but we are hoping to create something beautiful but also beneficial, for birds, insects and little critters. There is a fairly large vegetable patch but also a few gardens in design and progress. You don't need to be a gardener but be willing to work outside with your hands. I will give direction on the different tasks. There are loads of tasks of varying degrees of physical work. From weeding, mowing lawns, digging edges, prunning bushes and so on.
    We have put in a small cabin that is going to be a garden potting and art shed, but still needs several things done. So if you like using a power drill and wielding a paint brush that would be very helpful. I will add some pictures to show what we are up to.

  • Idiomas hablados

    Alemán: Fluido
    Inglés: Fluido

  • Alojamiento

    Alojamiento

    Our spare bedroom fits one person comfortably. It can fit two but will be a bit tighter. It is a comfortable bedroom, bright and cheerful.
    Our house is a fairly new build, it isn't large but very comfortable.
    Food will be provided, and especially over summer a lot of it will come from the garden. (Not quite yet)
    Because of where we live having your own transport would be very helpful. We are in a small town that only runs basic bus services, so if you want to really get out exploring having a car to do so would really help. We can tell you of heaps of places to visit.
    I am happy to drop you off at the bus station if that helps. I am sure you can catch a bus to Waitamo caves or Hobbiton if you want to.

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    We live in a small area called Kihikihi a suburb of Te Awamuta. We are very centrally placed for tourist activities. We are about 40 minute drive from Waitomo Caves. Another 40 minutes in a different direction to Hobbiton. We are about 1 hours drive from Kawhia, Raglan, Rotorua, & Mt Maunganui.
    We have a good knowledge of places to go, local hikes, rock climbing, swimming, caving activities for the area. We might even take you out ourselves if the timing works. We do love to share our local awesome spots.
    I am sure we could fill-up your time off with places to visit.

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Dos

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    Maximum 4 hours a day

Son opciones de calificación adicionales para cuando los miembros dejan sus comentarios. Se muestra la calificación media dejada en cada opción.

Precisión del perfil: (5.0)

Intercambio cultural: (3.5)

Comunicación: (5.0)





Número de referencia de anfitrión: 981194579527