Help with sustainable projects on our families farm in the South of Chile

Country

Chile

actualizado  

40 “me gusta”


  • rating

    Evaluación del anfitrión

  • feedbacks

    Comentarios

  • last activity

    Última actividad

    20/11/2021

  • Medallas

 
  2021 

 Estancia mínima:  Al menos 2 semanas

E
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descripción

    Descripción

    We are a Chilean (Pablo) & Irish (Rachel) couple currently based in the south of Chile. We have recently begun to develop Pablo's family farm with the dream of some day transforming it into a Glamping and an educational farm, with the aim of bringing animals and people together to increase their understanding and respect of the natural world. Our current focus is on building a yurt and other structures to further our dreams of sharing a sustainable and eco-friendly life style with people in Chile.

    We already have various birds and animals such as chickens, peacocks, emus, rabbits, sheep, deer, horse, alpacas, etc.
    Part of your work will be helping to feed and care for the animals but at the moment we need help with the construction of the Glamping and working in the garden and in the house.

    We are even producing our own beer here, Pablos' brother has started a craft beer company and will need some assistance also. There is always something to do on the farm!

    The farm is located in Copiulemu about 20 mins from Concepción, a large cosmopolitan city 500kms south of Santiago.

    We require intelligent and hardworking people willing to help 6 hours per day. Of course the schedule is flexible, depending on what needs to be done in the week. In return you will have healthy nutritious food and accommodation in the large farmhouse.

    If you are looking to get away from hectic city life to the peace and tranquility of the countryside (to be honest we are not so quiet, always something fun its going on) and are happy to get up early and get your hands dirty then Fundo San Jose is the place for you.

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Proyectos artísticos
    Ayuda en proyectos ecológicos
    Jardinería
    Proyectos de construcción y bricolaje
    Cuidado de animales
    Ayuda en una granja
    Mantenimiento general

  • Objetivos de sostenibilidad de las NU que intenta conseguir este anfitrión

    Objetivos de sostenibilidad de las NU que intenta conseguir este anfitrión

    Objetivos de las NU
    Fin de la pobreza
    Hambre cero
    Salud y bienestar
    Educación de calidad
    Igualdad de género
    Agua limpia y saneamiento
    Energía asequible y no contaminante
    Trabajo decente y crecimiento económico
    Industria, innovación e infraestructura
    Reducción de las desigualdades
    Ciudades y comunidades sostenibles
    Producción y consumo responsables
    Acción por el clima
    Vida submarina
    Vida de ecosistemas terrestres
    Paz, justicia e instituciones sólidas
    Alianzas para lograr los objetivos
  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    You will get to experience rural life, work with animals and also be surrounded by friendly locals who love to hang out and party. You will see the real Chile not just the tourist trail.

    The farmhouse has a pool and large BBQ area that you can enjoy in your time off 😊

    We speak English and Spanish so will help you improve your language skills.
    Both of us are experienced travellers so can assist you with planning your trip in South America (we also lived in Australia, New Zealand & Sweden and have visited much of South East Asia if those are on your list)

  • Ayuda

    Ayuda

    - Yurt Project
    We are working on building 2 Yurts (mongolian nomadic tent), to bring a new style of living to Chile. We experienced living in a Yurt at a Workaway Project in Holland and were inspired to create our own here. We will be starting from scratch so plenty of help will be needed, if you have skills in carpentry or construction we would be delighted to host you.


    -Farm
    If you have skills or knowledge in permaculture or organic farming practices we would love to hear from you.
    We are hoping to grow and produce as much of our own food as possible.
    We have a new greenhouse and space to grow vegetables but we lack knowledge in this area.
    We have a vineyard that we need help enhancing and an apple orchard that is doing well.
    We are developing an educational farm with the animals that are here so want to ensure that each one is as happy and healthy as possible. For example, we need to build a new house for the rabbits and create information displays about the animals, etc.


    -Outdoor
    We are planning to develop sustainable projects using recycled/repurposed materials such as pallets to build flower beds and plastic bottles to build a greenhouse. Any ideas and inspiration you have are welcome.
    We are also going to establish some walking trails within the woodlands alongside the farm.
    We have a duckpond and small lagoon that need improving.
    Help to maintain the swimming pool and green areas around the house.


    -Other
    We already reconstruct part of the Farmhouse and now we use it as a bnb, so need help with some cleaning and maintenence.
    Pablos' brother has a new craft beer company and needs help with brewing and bottling as the business grows.
    If you are artistically talented you can help with some murals or other creative projects.

  • Idiomas hablados

    Inglés: Fluido
    Español: Fluido

  • Alojamiento

    Alojamiento

    We have a large farmhouse with a woodstove, you will have either private or shared room depending on how many people we have staying. You will need to be flexible in regards your accomodation as sometimes Pablos family will come to stay, but there will be a comfortable solution for everyone.
    There are 3 bathrooms so no need to worry about waiting for the toilet!

    Food will be provided in exchange for your work and if you enjoy cooking or want to share/learn recipes you are welcome in the kitchen. We are friendly and open people and believe that food is a great way to bond.
    We try our best to be vegetarian but its not always easy in Chile. For sure there will be the opportunity to experience a typical Chilean Asado(bbq).

    If you have any dietary or health requirements please let us know in advance.

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    There is a local bus close to the house that will take you into the city or the beach and you will have time to explore Chile's stunning Southern region. Of course if we are heading into town we can give you a ride as well, so long as all the work is done haha. This is our first host profile but we have plenty of kind reviews on Couchsurfing & Workaway if you are curious about us.

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    Este anfitrión puede proporcionar un sitio para autocaravanas.

  • Podría aceptar mascotas

    Podría aceptar mascotas

    Unfortunately we can not accept cats and if you are dog owner be advised that there are many animals here including other dogs and birds that roam free so if that is an issue for your pet it won't be allowed.

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Dos

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    6 hours a day, 5 days a week but hours/days can vary.




Número de referencia de anfitrión: 966692264651