Join our family raising our own food on the beach in Wai'anae, Hawaii, USA

Country

Estados Unidos

447 “me gusta”


  • rating

    Evaluación del anfitrión

  • feedbacks

    Comentarios

    50  

  • last activity

    Última actividad

    24/05/2022

  • Last email replied

    Porcentaje de respuesta

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Responde en:

    ≤ 1 dia

  • Medallas

    Facebook verified
    Top Host
 
  2022 

 Estancia mínima:  Al menos 2 semanas

E
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descripción

    Descripción

    Aloha! We are a family who raises our own food right here on the beach in Hawai’i. I started back at work now that my children are older and have found I could use some help with the care of the plants, house, and animals. We live in a town with the highest amount of native Hawaiians in the state and the best weather and beaches. Our home is located across the street from a gorgeous secluded beach and a small mountain hike that is perfect for sunset.

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Jardinería
    Proyectos de construcción y bricolaje
    Cuidado de animales
    Ayuda en una granja
    Cocinar para toda la familia
    Ayuda doméstica
    Mantenimiento general

  • Objetivos de sostenibilidad de las NU que intenta conseguir este anfitrión

    Objetivos de sostenibilidad de las NU que intenta conseguir este anfitrión

    Objetivos de las NU
    Fin de la pobreza
    Hambre cero
    Salud y bienestar
    Educación de calidad
    Igualdad de género
    Agua limpia y saneamiento
    Energía asequible y no contaminante
    Trabajo decente y crecimiento económico
    Industria, innovación e infraestructura
    Reducción de las desigualdades
    Ciudades y comunidades sostenibles
    Producción y consumo responsables
    Acción por el clima
    Vida submarina
    Vida de ecosistemas terrestres
    Paz, justicia e instituciones sólidas
    Alianzas para lograr los objetivos
  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Omgoodness, this area is full of cultural opportunities and it’s my passion. I can teach you the proper etiquette for exploring the natural wonders, heiaus, hikes, dives if you are scuba certified, how to make leis from natural fibers and flowers etc

  • Proyectos con niños

    Proyectos con niños

    En este proyecto podría haber niños. Para obtener más información, consulta nuestras directrices y consejos aquí.

  • Ayuda

    Ayuda

    PLEASE READ CAREFULLY AS TO WHAT TASKS ARE EXPECTED AND HOUSEHOLD RULES. PLEASE ONLY RESPOND IF IT ALIGNS WITH YOU PERFECTLY. I don't mean to be harsh but we get so many people that copy and paste messages to each host or just talk about themselves that I need to put this message here.

    If you email without reading the profile in it's entirety and email accordingly, I will feel like you sent a copy/paste message and I won't host you. You will just receive an automated message response saying that you didn't read my profile and good luck in the future.


    Curious about backyard small-scale home farming?

    Wanna learn what it takes to plan, maintain and run? Not afraid of dirty work?

    Are you reliable, trustworthy, and strong?

    Two-week minimum commitment as it’s a lot of energy for me to teach

    Examples of responsibilities could be:

    Feeding and watering ducks, quail, chickens, rabbits

    Sanitizing feed and water containers and habitats

    Turning animal manure into healthy fertilizer

    Cleaning out animals coops

    Learning how to diagnose basic bird disease and treat

    Planting, pruning, fertilizing, mulching, and harvesting fruit trees

    Starting seedlings and transplanting

    Gaining knowledge on weeds. Most can be made into medicine or food. Removing them from places they shouldn’t be and feed the animals with them

    Collecting, washing, and packaging eggs from all the birds

    Basic repairs on cages as needed

    Mowing, weed whacking, sweeping

    Helping maintain the community living space an hour a day or so. (not counted in hours as you will be using the living room, kitchen, bathrooms just like at home.)

    Maintaining a live compost pile

    Handy(wo)man skills

    Ethically harvesting birds (if you’re comfortable with it)-absolutely optional

    Deep cleaning inside the house

    Random things that I need help with

    PLEASE WHEN REACHING OUT TELL ME SOMETHING THAT SHOWS ME YOU READ AND UNDERSTAND THE TASKS. ONLY REACH OUT IF YOU DO AND SEE THAT I HAVE AVAILABLE. SO MANY PEOPLE REACH OUT AND DON'T PAY ATTENTION TO THE CALENDAR OR TASKS and that makes me feel like they wouldn't actually pay detailed attention to rules or work. :(

  • Idiomas

    Idiomas hablados
    Inglés: Fluido

    Este anfitrión ofrece intercambio de idiomas
    I speak English well and since it is all I speak, I will be sharing it :) I wish I had the bandwidth to learn another language but I do not. My daughter however is a second-year Japanese student so knowing Japanese would be helpful and could count as your hours if you're willing and able to teach it.

  • Alojamiento

    Alojamiento

    Private entranced, beautiful, well maintained shared large bedroom with small walk-in closet, two beds, microwave, and mini-fridge. The commitment for the room is 25 hours per person each week. Shared bathroom with the other room downstairs. Shared kitchen in main living space.

    Security cameras on property and gates help keep everyone safe but the neighborhood has some houseless folk that can be visually rough if you're not used to it. No danger to your person but you don't want to leave things in your car or loose on the beach.

    I cook dinner most nights for the family anyway and have always included our work-trade friends. I LOVE when guests cook for us and each guest is asked to cook once a week per person not counted in hours. That way most nights you get cooked for by me or the other guests and then you reciprocate. It makes for a very tight community bonding experience. That said, if you are out and about and exploring, just text me and let me know you won't be home for dinner so I don't plan on you being here to eat. If there are dietary restrictions, it may be overwhelming for me. For example, vegetarianism is easy for me to adjust to for some meals but veganism or allergies are stressful and you'd be responsible for any special food and cooking it. I cook mainly dishes from the farm. So fresh veggies, side starch, and a small animal protein. I love to cook and with help on the farm, I will have more bandwidth to do so. Breakfast and lunch are the responsibility of our guests to care for themselves. Fresh chicken, duck, and quail eggs are always available. I am happy to provide food for you but specialty foods will be the responsibility of the guests.

    Please note that this is a real small-scale farm so you will have roosters crowing at 2am, smell animal smells and get dirty while you are helping.

    Things to make comfier/easier for you:

    Earplugs/white noise machine if you are a light sleeper
    Sunscreen and bug spray as you are in the tropics
    Closed-toed shoes but also flip flops (we call them slippahs here)
    Shorts with elastic band for ease of movement
    Tank tops or yoga tops
    Sunhat if you want. I don't use one but I have had guests really like having theirs
    US sim card if your phone is foreign. Walmart carries them here on the island
    Copy of vaccination card as a lot of indoor activities on the island need a copy of negative test result within 48 hours or vaccination to enter. (This is changing as we speak, so look up the laws for O'ahu island at the time of your interest)
    Your personal soap, shampoo, conditioner etc
    Laundry soap if you want to use the laundry on site. I don't charge for the water, power etc but please just buy your own laundry soap etc

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    We live across the street from the beach, the bus line is within 150’ and takes you anywhere on the island but takes a while, hikes across the street, waterfalls within 2 miles, camping is near as well. It’s the countryside in Hawai'i and everything you think it is :)


    Expectations are that we are a family so please be well mannered, non-smoker of anything even E-Cigs, not religious, kind, not a huge partier, communicative, help clean up after meals like good guests, and connected. We want to learn from you as well! I know it sounds like a lot to absorb but we have hosted a lot and know what works and makes everyone happy. COMMUNICATION! Can't wait to have fun!

    There is a truck and small sedan available to rent daily or hourly but absolutely no pressure. It’s there if you want but the bus system is too. Most of the time the workaway guests chip in so it doesn’t cost anyone much. Again, this isn’t mandatory or expected. Just if you want. Turo is also an option on the island and getting more affordable but have to rent it by the week etc. It used to be crazy high.

    Please reach out to me with any questions or if you see my calender is filled for the dates you want, I don't mind you reaching out if you just acknowledge that you are aware its booked but just wanted to check to see if any changes have happened.

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    We have high-speed internet and wfh as well. I’m in mortgage and my husband is in marketing. Our kids have virtual school.

  • Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    We have free parking available

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Más de dos

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    Maximum 5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Son opciones de calificación adicionales para cuando los miembros dejan sus comentarios. Se muestra la calificación media dejada en cada opción.

Precisión del perfil: (5.0)

Intercambio cultural: (5.0)

Comunicación: (5.0)































Número de referencia de anfitrión: 965753672181