Come and help us with our young children in the outdoor exciting city of Cape Town, South Africa

Country

Sudáfrica

163 “me gusta”


  • rating

    Evaluación del anfitrión

  • feedbacks

    Comentarios

    -

  • last activity

    Última actividad

    22/09/2022

  • Last email replied

    Porcentaje de respuesta

    87.5 %

  • Last email replied

    Responde en:

    ≤ 3 dias

 
  2022 

 Estancia mínima:  1 mes o más

E
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descripción

    Descripción

    We are a family of four, with a pigeon pair of children aged three and five living in a suburb of the colourful city of Cape Town. We are both enthusiastic family people and working professionals and need some help with childcare style help in the home and with getting our kids to creche and from granny and granddad who live nearby. Our home is very central to pretty much everything in Cape Town - from the bustling, social and arty centre of town to the mountain and beaches. We are outdoor enthusiasts and can recommend and invite you to many outdoor locations. We rock climb, run, mountain bike and occasionally brave the sea waters and have lots of toys for such adventures that the aspiring adventurer can use. Our home has amble space and the living area for a single, child-centred person is comfortable, large and private. I (mom) work at the University of Cape Town as a Neuropsychology lecturer so can provide guidance for prospective and current exchange students or just entertaining dinner time conversation. We are also music enthusiasts and my husband Duncan plays the piano and guitar and is recording an album. We are also involved in community development in various ways, so can connect you workaway-ers up with organisations that work in previously disadvantaged areas in Cape Town. Please note, our minimum stay time is 6 months, to provide stability for our children. Ideally, we would like you stay for 1 year.

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Cuidado de niños y juegos creativos
    Ayuda doméstica

  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Because we are people with diverse interests living in a multicultural setting we have a lot to offer in a wide range of experiences. First and foremost you'll gain childcare experience, working with toddlers and children. Here you'll learn creative ways to engage young minds, patience and multi-tasking.

    Staying with us there is also lots of opportunity to learn or engage in a new or loved outdoor sport through our wide network of outdoor enthusiasts (we practice rock climbing, trail running and mountain biking mainly but are closely connected to surfers, paragliders, paddlers and kite surfers too). You'll have the opportunity to hike a variety of wonderful trials in Cape Town and surrounds.

    Because I am in neuropsychology and work at the university I am perfectly positioned to help inform prospective or current University of Cape Town students. Furthermore both my husband and I have worked in community settings in trauma counseling, education and outdoor experiential learning and can advise on how to get some community experience if that is something that is of interest.

  • Proyectos con niños

    Proyectos con niños

    En este proyecto podría haber niños. Para obtener más información, consulta nuestras directrices y consejos aquí.

  • Ayuda

    Ayuda

    We offer a space to a single person. We need support for approximately 5 hours per day during the week. In return we offer free accommodation, and meals five days a week. The help is centred on spending time doing activities with our two little ones (currently aged 3 and 5). These activities would include free play, play dates, educational and outdoor based activities. We encourage taking the kids out to the parks, beaches and forest nearby for outings. We also need the workawayer to pick the kids up from school and drive them to various activities. The person must have an international drivers license or must be able to acquire one to help with the driving (we will supply the car). Regarding working times, we need help between 12pm - 5pm on 2 days of the week and 12 - 2.30pm on 3 days of the week. The remaining hours will be spent doing some morning chores (shopping and cooking) or an evening babysit once a week. Experience or great enthusiasm and a natural flair for young children will be a great advantage. We would love it if you got creative, silly, serious, exploratory with them; read books; sing songs and go on adventures. Furthermore, I am Polish by birth and speaking Polish would also be an advantage although certainly not a requirement. Please note, we need commitment for at least 6 months, and ideally 12.

  • Idiomas hablados

    Afrikaans: Fluido
    Inglés: Fluido
    Polaco: Fluido

  • Alojamiento

    Alojamiento

    We live in a big sunny house in the suburb of Pinelands in Cape Town. Pinelands is central to pretty much most places in Cape Town and close to all major highways. You will have your own suite with a private entrance, that has a bathroom, shower, kitchen and bedroom. The family washing machine is in this suite, so we will need to access it at respectful but regular times. You will be invited to share meals with us during the week - we love to cook and enjoy food and wine.

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    Cape Town is a fabulous city! Because it is built around a mountain but also along the coast, nature experiences are entwined with city life. It is also a cultural experience, with strong Xhosa and Cape Malay influences. The food is wonderful, people are generally friendly and there is great diversity in interesting places to see. During the week we will provide a car to transport the little people, which may be available for your use on weekends with prior areangement. You can also use our bicycles.

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Uno

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week


Número de referencia de anfitrión: 962452628974