Recycled building and recycled farming in Bellingen, Australia

Country

Australia

28 “me gusta”


  • rating

    Evaluación del anfitrión

  • feedbacks

    Comentarios

    -

  • last activity

    Última actividad

    09/12/2021

 
  2022 
E
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descripción

    Descripción

    Due to Covid we have had a long break from hosting but we are now available and excited to have some visitors and some help on our many projects.

    We are very proud to host and share our beautiful part of the world on the lands of the Gumbaingirr People!

    We have just finished building our home from recycled materials on a small organic farm. The property includes chickens and ducks, bees, worms, orchards in various stages, some gardens, regenerating forest areas and over grown forests, and is located on the edge of the town of Bellingen.

    The property has a semi-liveable studio for visitors and two camp sites. The studio has a queen bed, although we can make up other beds if needed, and other marvels of the modern world like a toilet, shower and running hot water indoors! There is cold water near one campsite and not far from the other. We can support camping set up with some equipment. There is also a beautiful outdoor fire bath - it is part ritual, part relaxation and part ablution!

    We are a family of 3, a mother and two children, and a miniature schnauzer dog. We are experienced and interested in environmental science, green politics and activism, outdoor adventures, whole foods, fermenting, community building, home schooling/ natural learning, community gardens, felting, dancing, martial arts, yoga and massage.

    We are looking for people with skills and interest in any of the above and building, fencing, animals, gardening, horticulture, guitar, cello, ukulele, playing with children, etc. We would be open to children coming also. We have wifi available.

    Some of the projects we have started or planned include mud brick hut, spa/ hot tub, chicken and duck pens/ houses/ nesting boxes, sheds, arbours/ arches, Hugel kulter/ mounds, murals, mosaics, and lots of different gardens, including contour beds down slopes.

    We are a vegetarian and non-smoking household. We can cater to specific diets as we are mostly vegan, gluten-free and sugar-free. I can even do salycylate-free food! We prefer not to have meat and smoking on the property at all.

    Our town is a very progressive but small place with a focus on nature-based tourism, swimming in relatively clean rivers, local food, great cafes, restaurants, and other food-related businesses, health and healing, arts and music. Of course Covid has dampened a lot of that the last year and a half. Our family includes a medically vulnerable person so if you think Covid isn’t real or it’s just a flu, this probably isn’t the place for you as we really need a high level of awareness and care.

    Our valley is topped by the beautiful old farming district of Dorrigo Plateau. It features rolling hills of rich red soils, a series of tiny villages and the arts-rich town of Dorrigo. The Plateau adjoins World Heritage-listed National Parks and contains the headwaters of the wild and scenic Nymboida River.

    Bellingen sits on the upper floodplain and is a great base for exploring the area with good views food, coffee, people, markets and supplies. The town is ringed by mountains and forests and you probably won’t want to leave. You can walk to town although it’s a few kms so possibly not practical on a regular basis. Being a rural Australian area, public transport is extremely limited so a car is necessary if you want to get out and about.

    The valley meets the sea at two beachside villages and we have several beautiful beaches that are very undeveloped. It’s easy to find yourself alone on a stretch of white sand. Not many surf spots but there are in nearby places along the Coffs Coast and Valla, including some great beginner places and a number of surf schools.

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Proyectos artísticos
    Ayuda en proyectos ecológicos
    Enseñanza
    Jardinería
    Proyectos de construcción y bricolaje
    Cuidado de animales
    Cuidado de niños y juegos creativos
    Cocinar para toda la familia
    Ayuda doméstica
    Mantenimiento general
    Ayuda con ordenadores/Internet

  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Learning about local food, animal care, organic gardening and bush regeneration in an active artistic community in beautiful natural surrounds.

  • Proyectos con niños

    Proyectos con niños

    En este proyecto podría haber niños. Para obtener más información, consulta nuestras directrices y consejos aquí.

  • Ayuda

    Ayuda

    We are looking for people with skills in building, bush regeneration, fencing, gardening, horticulture, playing with children, etc.

  • Idiomas hablados

    Japonés: Intermedio

  • Alojamiento

    Alojamiento

    Self- contained studio (only basic cooking facilities) or camping

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    Lots to do locally - food, markets, art, music, forests, unspoilt beaches.

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    So far our wifi if only working in our living area/ deck - am trying to get it working a little further but it won’t reach the studio or camping area. Most of the cafes it town as well as the library have free wifi.

  • Podría aceptar mascotas

    Podría aceptar mascotas

    Would need to be friendly to little dogs and safe for ducks and chickens.

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Más de dos

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week


Número de referencia de anfitrión: 956149168376