Looking for help with works in our cave home in St Epain, France

Country

Francia

17 “me gusta”


  • rating

    Evaluación del anfitrión

  • feedbacks

    Comentarios

    -

  • last activity

    Última actividad

    10/08/2022

  • Last email replied

    Porcentaje de respuesta

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Responde en:

    ≤ 2 dias

 
  2022 

 Estancia mínima:  Al menos una semana

E
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descripción

    Descripción

    Some years ago we (Joanna and Jean Pierre... English and French) decided to leave Paris and set up home in a small collection of caves south of Tours in France. Now we have reached the point of them being habitable... water, electricity, drainage, internet etc.
    We have lovely warm living space both in caves and in the additional conservatory area that have added so that we can get some extra light.
    It's quaint but very comfortable when it comes to living in a cave... although still a bit of a building site (it could be many years before it's totally finished... not even sure we have enough years left in us but we'll see!)
    We have various little garden areas... mostly tomatoes and hopefully veggies and lots of pleasant space in a large area, edged by a stream, for chilling and barbecues.
    We are situated in a small valley of about 5 kilomètres which has lots of cave houses and even a cave chapel.
    It's an interesting area about 30km south of the Loire River with lots of other rivers and castles not far away.
    Public transport is reasonable but the nearest bus stop and train station are about four or five kilometres away. Having transport or be willing to cycle would be recommended.

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Ayuda en proyectos ecológicos
    Jardinería
    Proyectos de construcción y bricolaje
    Cuidado de animales
    Mantenimiento general
    Ayuda con ordenadores/Internet

  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    You will be able to discover the benefits (and disadvantages) of life in caves. With all the changes going on with the climate etc you will be able to learn how to overcome some of the problems. We do not live off grid and are not living the perfect eco life style but we do live close to nature with respect for biodiversity and all that we have here.

  • Ayuda

    Ayuda

    We need help on many levels!
    W have lots of ground works to do to be able to install a natural drainage system using plants. Work has started but there's a long way to go. Not sure about the timing of this at present.
    Our land is on different levels including woodland above the caves. We would like to improve access to this area by building a track to go up there.
    Both these jobs need some physical strength but I'm a believer in always finding an easier way if there is one! Willingness and the ability to look at a task from a different direction are just as important.
    We have a veg garden but have decided to relocate it to a different area. I'm very interested in learning about setting up the new area as raised permaculture beds and although I understand the basics but it would be great to have some help in this department.
    Other than these projects we have various small jobs that always need doing... some physically demanding and some not too strenuous. And if by chance you enjoy cooking at the end of the day that would be a huge bonus! I've always preferred being outside working rather than in the kitchen. That being said.. I do knock up some pretty good grub 🤗

  • Idiomas hablados

    Inglés: Fluido
    Francés: Fluido

  • Alojamiento

    Alojamiento

    Sleeping acommodation will be in a large comfortable caravan. There is WiFi by satellite. Good shower room, washing machine and dryer.

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    We are a pretty laid back couple in our 60s and 70s although still young at heart. I'm not a fanatic housewife... in fact I hate housework but do enough to get by.

    Life's pretty chilled here with plenty of space for quiet time alone. We do have a bike (or a couple I think) so that you can get to the town about 5km away along quiet roads. There is also public transport there and a train line to Tours, the nearest city. Tours is lovely with always plenty happening. Two rivers pass through Tours and you will find plenty of lovely chateaux not far away.

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    Internet by satellite. Not the fastest and doesn't like storms.

  • Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    Este anfitrión puede proporcionar un sitio para autocaravanas.

  • Podría aceptar mascotas

    Podría aceptar mascotas

    No problem having a dog here as long as they don't chase the chickens. No cats pls as we enjoy the wild birds. More obscure pets would need some extra consideration 😊

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Más de dos

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    4 hours a day five days a week.


Número de referencia de anfitrión: 931864648594