Sample an off-grid tiny house lifestyle in the remote mountains of Montana, Anaconda, USA



 Estancia mínima:  Al menos una semana



  • Descripción


    I am a semi retired woman who moved to 20 acres off grid in June of 2022. If you want to enjoy the mountains of Montana and/or the off grid lifestyle, this would be a great place for you. It is extremely peaceful here. My tiny house on wheels sits on the edge of a meadow surrounded by Aspen. The wind rustling through the Aspen leaves is an experience you will not soon forget.

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Construcción y bricolaje
  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Staying with me would be like taking a step back in time in some respects. If you have ever dreamed of living like a mountain man in the wilderness, then this would be like a dream come true. I have all the major conveniences of daily life for the most part, but when you are as remote as I am, you can easily imagine and feel what it must have been like back in the late 1800's when mountain men first came to the mountains of Montana or what it was like for Native Americans before settlers arrived.

  • Ayuda


    Next summer's projects will include building a shed, outhouse, shop, and A-frame guest bedroom. And there is always firewood to cut. The first project will be the construction of the A-frame guest bedroom that is pictured below. You do not have to have any previous building experience. What I mostly need is someone to work along side me. For example, I may need an extra hand to hold up a board while I nail it in or help holding a post upright while I fill in the hole around it. I can teach you everything you need to know. If you have some construction experience and skills, then I may have you work more independently at times. I will require 4 -5 hours for 5 days with 5 days on then 2 days off. Or you can do 7-8 hours per day for 3 days on then 4 days off. Either way, I will want you to put in about 21-24 hours per week in exchange for room and board. The other type of help that I always need is cutting firewood so that may be one of the things that we may do together or you may do by yourself.

  • Idiomas hablados

    Inglés: Fluido

  • Alojamiento


    I can offer my tiny home to you as a guest to sleep in while the A-frame is being built or you can stay in my tent. I have a full bed inside the tiny and a full size air mattress in the tent. Once I get the A-frame built that is where guests will stay. I will provide all meals, camping equipment, linens, towels, etc. Please be aware that this is an outdoor type experience where you will be "roughing it". I have a shower and kitchen inside the tiny house that we will share, but I only have a composting toilet which is outside.

    I am a decent cook, but it is not something that I enjoy too much. I would expect that we would share in the cooking and clean-up for meals. I tend to eat meat at most meals, but also love fruit, vegetables, and salads. I tend to cook bacon and eggs every morning for breakfast, but don't mind providing cereal, oatmeal, or bagels if you would prefer. Otherwise, if there are special foods that you require, I would ask that you supply those unless I would enjoy them as well, then I will provide.

    The nearest town is an hour away so you will not be able to go to the grocery store or convenience store very easily. I usually only go to town once a week. If there are things you need from town during you stay, I would suggest that you plan ahead and get them before you come to my place. It would be a good idea for us to discuss and do a little meal planning before your arrival so I can get the supplies we will need ahead of time as well.

    Please note that the location shown on the map attached to my profile is not accurate. The map shows that I am in Anaconda, MT. I am an hour drive from Anaconda, an hour drive from Butte, MT, and an hour drive from Helena, MT.

    To get to my land, you will drive on a dirt road for 10 miles after getting off the interstate. The road is in decent shape for a dirt road and a car will be just fine. You do not need 4 wheel drive. Be prepared for many potholes though. The dirt road twists and turns as you climb up the mountain and there are no guard rails. You will only want to go 10-20 mph on this road so it will take you 30 minutes to travel on the dirt road after the pavement ends. The pavement ends at Interstate 90 at the Galen exit. So once you hit pavement, it is extremely easy to get to where you want to go.

    Since this place is so remote, you will need a vehicle to stay here. It is possible that I could pick you up and drop you off in Butte, but you would have to be willing to spend a couple of weeks here and I wouldn't be available to shuttle you back and forth other than at the beginning and end of your stay.

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    There are miles and miles of National Forest land surrounding my place where you can explore. My modern ways of exploring are on a dirt bike or 4 wheeler which you are welcome to borrow. Or you can explore the old fashioned way on foot. I am located about 5 hours from Glacier National Park and 3 or 4 hours from Yellowstone National Park. And there are an infinite number of possibilities for exploring the mountains in between. Possible activities include: mountain biking, hiking, backpacking, fishing, rafting, canoeing, etc.

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    A campervan or small travel trailer would be fine, but I do not have hookups.

  • Podría aceptar mascotas

    Podría aceptar mascotas

    A dog is fine, but if you are staying in my tiny house or guest house, they are not allowed on furniture.

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?


  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Número de referencia de anfitrión: 885331725242


Help our family with gardening and building community in Hyampom, CA, USA
Looking for extra hand around our family home in Kona on the Big Island of Hawaii