Permaculture and subtropical food forest project in Calabria, southern Italy

  • 782 “me gusta”
  • Última actividad: 30 oct 2023



 Estancia mínima:  Al menos 2 semanas



  • Descripción


    We are Andrea, Agnese, Dario e Paoletta, a couple with a newborn son and a small old cute dog :) <3 :)
    We are turning an abandoned citrus/olive groove into a subtropical food forest trying to apply permaculture principles and ethics. Currently we can only host in tent, 3h work, food not included.
    The land is in Bovalino Marina (80 km from Reggio Calabria, South Italy), it is about 7000mq, 500m from the beach (1,5km walking distance) on the ionic sea. Our land has never been in contact with chemicals and our mission is to preserve and love this place, living it and experiencing sustainable life-style as much as possible.

    Families with babies are encouraged to enroll! at the moment our calendar is very flexible so we can only accept last minute requestes.

    *️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️PLEASE BEFORE APPLY READ ALL THE PROFILE AND BE SURE YOU ARE INTERESTED IN THE PROJECT*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️
    if so, you have very high chances to be hosted :)
    This is a hands-on experience, so if you're afraid of insects or digging in dirt, this will not be a good fit for you.*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️

    We need volunteers who are truly interested in sustainability, DIY, permaculture and in helping to contribute towards the future of the planet and of our project. We expect a good attitude, ethic work and reward our volunteers with the opportunity to learn our approach e to live in this paradise :)

    We are open to volunteers with no experiencing as long as you have a genuine interest in helping, learning and work independently.

    In order we both have a positive experience and you enjoy this experience, is very important to know that:

    -WE START EXPECTING 3H AND FOOD NOT INCLUDED and then we see how things go if you want to turn to 5h/food included that you have anyway to prepare by yourself. There are food shops in about 1km. Local vegetables are around 1-2€/kg, bread 2,2€/kg
    - We can only host in tent or your own camper van

    - you must be trustworthy, clean, tidy, details-oriented, good listener and motivated to learn
    - the place is not touristic, in the countryside, there are not many public transport passing by the house and the nearest village is about 1,5km away with no walking path dark white road (you can walk but have to pay attention and use torch)
    - there is no WIFI
    - typical task may include collecting/cutting wood, digging, planting, cleaning, moving stuff and "dirty" jobs.

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Ayuda en proyectos ecológicos
    Construcción y bricolaje
    Ayuda en una granja
    Cuidado de niños y juegos creativos
    Cocinar para toda la familia
    Ayuda doméstica
    Mantenimiento general
  • Objetivos de sostenibilidad de las NU que intenta conseguir este anfitrión

    Objetivos de sostenibilidad de las NU que intenta conseguir este anfitrión

    Objetivos de las NU
    Fin de la pobreza
    Hambre cero
    Salud y bienestar
    Educación de calidad
    Igualdad de género
    Agua limpia y saneamiento
    Energía asequible y no contaminante
    Trabajo decente y crecimiento económico
    Industria, innovación e infraestructura
    Reducción de las desigualdades
    Ciudades y comunidades sostenibles
    Producción y consumo responsables
    Acción por el clima
    Vida submarina
    Vida de ecosistemas terrestres
    Paz, justicia e instituciones sólidas
    Alianzas para lograr los objetivos
  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    You will experience an authentic and non touristic south italian area, discovering good and bad sides of this culture (there is , enjoying a natural place and the sea, just 1,5 km walking from the house. We are happy to have english-italian-spanish conversations if you want to practice your language skills as well as teach anything we can from how to set a synergetic garden to play guitar or cook a real italian pasta :) We are also happy to learn from you is you have knowledges and experience to share.
    We often go to help some friends in Bovalino or other nearby villages and you are welcome to join us to see new places and meet friendly locals.
    There is an archeological site more than 2000 y/o in Locri, free entry the first sunday of every month

  • Ayuda


    The project started in April 2016 and we are still learning a lot day by day what we need :)

    Flexibility is necessary: expect to help when is useful during all day for a total of 3-5 hours that will be rarely concentrated all at ones, so if you look for a 8-13 concentrated working hours to be free the rest of the day probably this is not the right place, but here it's rather for people that wish to experience a full countryside life. In Summertime can be superhot till 38 C and the only way to survive is working wet and cover the head.

    Minimum stay of 2-3 weeks are appreciated and, after a trial period, we are happy to consider longer stay and long term collaborations

  • Idiomas

    Idiomas hablados
    Inglés: Fluido
    Español: Fluido
    Italiano: Fluido

    Este anfitrión ofrece intercambio de idiomas
    Este anfitrión ha indicado que está interesado en compartir su idioma o aprender otro.
    Ponte en contacto con él para obtener más información.

  • Alojamiento


    You will camp in a tent in a wild land full of trees. Is possible to park a small camper van, no black water service. There is a very basic compost toilet (update:compost toilet is broken at the moment so you can come and help fixing or use the nature in the meanwhile) , gas stove for cooking, a rain shelter and a solar shower(no sun, no hot water!) .

    If you have any questions, please do not hesitate to ask.

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    When you write us start your message with "I love citrus" please so we know you read until here :) first write few lines on workaway and then we wouldike to have a videochat so you can see the place and ask your questions.
    We are waiting for you! :)

    G E T H E R E :

    TRAIN to "Bovalino railway station" look at

    - From Reggio Calabria see more
    - From Lamezia Terme you can take a bus from the airport to the central train station of Lamezia Terme or just hitchhike with someone who is leaving the airport by car. We think it’s easiest to take the train to Catanzaro Lido first and from there getting into another train that takes you directly and without any long waiting to Bovalino. It took us 2h30min from Lamezia Terme to Bovalino and cost 12€.

    BUS: look at Autolinee Federico, this bus company serves all major cities in Italy Roma, Bologna and Reggio Calabria airport) and stops right in Bovalino.

    Another website worth knowing for all your travels is and the carpooling website that for us it's the best way to move in Italy if you find a seat.

    No public transport will bring you straight to my place so we can come and pick you up at Bovalino train station or bus stop. Be sure to let we know in advance what time you arrive.

    Please do no hesitate to contact us and feel free to ask any information :) we are looking forward to see you here!

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    Max 6m vans, no dark water service, only biodegradable soaps allowed

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Más de dos

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    15 hours/week- no food, 25 hours/week- food

Número de referencia de anfitrión: 878511151717

Comentarios (8)