1 / 5

Share your skills with our family on our biodiverse farm while experiencing life in Kildare, Ireland

  • 215 “me gusta”
  • Última actividad: 11 jul 2024

DISPONIBILIDAD

  2024 

 Estancia mínima:  1 mes o más

E
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Detalles

  • Descripción

    Descripción

    ================
    Thank you very much to all those who got in touch.
    ================

    We are living on a biodiverse farm/estate just one hour by bus from Dublin in the foothills of the Wicklow mountains in (South) Co Kildare. We are a big close family although our kids are all adults, so normally it's just Karl and I along with three dogs, farm cats, hens and cattle. We have been Workaway hosts for 13 years and consider our helpers to be part of our extended family. Many have become close friends and revisit when they are in Ireland.

    Our aim on the farm is to marry together our sustainability goals with successful farming. With that in mind, we dedicate large areas of the farm to bee-friendly pastures, ponds and hedgerows for bird-life. While not organic, we minimise the use of sprays and inputs in our farming, and encourage biodiversity wherever we can in small and large corners around the farm whether its through allowing thistles along fencing or establishing wildflower meadows in corner. We have several interesting projects on the farm, including a moth survey, flora and fauna survey, solitary bee habitats, an attempt to re-establish owls on the grounds and regular bat walks.

    Our agricultural industry is sustainable dairy farming, and during the calving season which runs from February to May, we look for paid helpers to get involved in this. We pay minimum wage for hours worked on the farm, and provide accommodation. We generally like our helpers eat with us if they wish, as we consider this part of the cultural exchange which makes Workaway so successful. The helpers at this time of year need to have knowledge and experience of farm/outdoor life, be patient with and have a love of animals.

    We also do short term rentals on the estate but our helpers do not participate in this.

    We farm from a historic 18th century house and garden which is open to the public (in a non-commercial way) for some parts of the year. We live just outside the village of Moone. We have a tennis court, lovely farm walks, bicycles. A couple of km away is the 11th century Kilkea Castle, home to the Dukes of Leinster. A great cycle for the day takes you on a tour of Round Towers and High Crosses, or perhaps take the bus to Dublin or Kilkenny (one of the smallest cities you'll ever see!). The peaceful monastic mountain retreat of Glendalough is 45 minutes by car.

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Ayuda en proyectos ecológicos
    Jardinería
    Construcción y bricolaje
    Cuidado de animales
    Ayuda en una granja
    Mantenimiento general
  • Objetivos de sostenibilidad de las NU que intenta conseguir este anfitrión

    Objetivos de sostenibilidad de las NU que intenta conseguir este anfitrión

    Objetivos de las NU
    Fin de la pobreza
    Hambre cero
    Salud y bienestar
    Educación de calidad
    Igualdad de género
    Agua limpia y saneamiento
    Energía asequible y no contaminante
    Trabajo decente y crecimiento económico
    Industria, innovación e infraestructura
    Reducción de las desigualdades
    Ciudades y comunidades sostenibles
    Producción y consumo responsables
    Acción por el clima
    Vida submarina
    Vida de ecosistemas terrestres
    Paz, justicia e instituciones sólidas
    Alianzas para lograr los objetivos
  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    You can of course practice your English and learn about ecology. sustainability, archaeological and cultural heritage, farming, gardening, cooking and how life is on a busy estate in Ireland. We hope to learn more about your background and culture, as well as showing you ours.

  • El anfitrión ofrece una paga acorde al salario mínimo

    El anfitrión ofrece una paga acorde al salario mínimo

    Este anfitrión ofrece alojamiento y paga.

    El anfitrión ha indicado que pagará al menos el salario mínimo por hora de su país por cada hora trabajada y que también ofrecerá alojamiento. Pide ayuda con un negocio o una actividad empresarial. Ponte en contacto directamente con el anfitrión mediante la mensajería de la página para obtener más información y detalles sobre el salario ofrecido. Cualquier acuerdo con el anfitrión debe cerrarse por anticipado.

  • Ayuda

    Ayuda

    We will need one person.

    Our calving season starts at the end of January and runs through to the end of April. Calves are like babies and need to be individually bottle fed (morning and evening) at the start of their lives, moving into groups as they grow older. They have to be kept warm and dry, and this means that twice a day they are fed (milk and muesli), water and straw bedding freshened up. You need to be physically strong to lift buckets and clean out their pens. Winter/spring in Ireland can be wet and cold, but no matter the weather, the animals have to be cared for.

    We always interview our prospective helpers because its very important to us that we like each other. As you will be officially employed, and it takes time to set you up in the Irish system, we would ideally like you to commit to staying for three months.

  • Idiomas

    Idiomas hablados
    Alemán: Fluido
    Inglés: Fluido
    Francés: Intermedio

    Este anfitrión ofrece intercambio de idiomas
    Jenny is a retired English teacher and is happy to help and give tips if required.

  • Alojamiento

    Alojamiento

    Accommodation depends on what works when you come. Usually our helpers will be accommodated in a self-contained apartment, and, very rarely, in a guestroom in the main house. We have internet access. We can accommodate couples and singles.

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    Re transport : There are busses running between Naas and Carlow which stop in Moone four times daily in each direction, enabling connections to Dublin and Kilkenny or the West. We are 10 minutes by car from Athy where you can get a train to Dublin or Waterford. To get to the airport, there are busses from Carlow direct.

    There is a lovely little cafe/shop in the village of Moone, 1km from the house, where you can meet and chat with the locals. Moone is a tiny place, with just a church, school and playground (apart from the cafe), and everyone knows everyone, and loves visitors, so its always a good place to meet people.

    Re food: as this is a paid position, Workaway suggests that you look after and pay for your own food, however as mentioned above we feel that eating together is very important to the spirit of Workaway. We can find a nice compromise together with this - perhaps have lunch together ? This is very much open to discussion.

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    Yes , Download speed 25mbs

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Uno

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    Roughly 7:00 - 9:00; 16:00 - 18:00, depending on how many calves there are.

Número de referencia de anfitrión: 875916647782

Comentarios (1)

Fotos

Comentarios


Help us in the garden, DIY and restoration projects on a 200 year-old lake-side rectory in Co. Cavan, Ireland
Help with gardening and DIY in Castlelough, Co. Tipperary, Ireland