Nepalese Cultural Exchange in the village of Changu Narayan

Country

Nepal

actualizado  

1451 “me gusta”


  • rating

    Evaluación del anfitrión

  • feedbacks

    Comentarios

    71  

  • last activity

    Última actividad

    28/11/2020

  • facebook friends

    Numero de amigos en Facebook

    703

  • Last email replied

    Porcentaje de respuesta

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Responde en:

    ≤ 1 dia

  • Medallas

    Super Host
    Facebook verified
 
  2020 

 Estancia mínima:  Al menos una semana

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descripción

    Descripción

    Namaste everybody!

    My family and I welcome you to our home in the village of Changu Narayan, located about 20 km from Kathmandu. It's where I grew up and spent my life with my wife Menuka. We have three children, who are working and studying, and one granddaughter.

    We want people to stay with us so they can experience the authentic life of the village and discover the Nepali culture. Here life is really traditional and it is the perfect place for anyone wanting to escape the noise and fast paced life of the city. We encourage you to get to know us and spend time with us! The longer you stay, the closer we become. You will live like a family member with us.

    With the help of former volunteers and villagers, we built an earthquake resistant extension to our home, including a music room where we can share our culture and spend some nice moments together.

    The fee you are giving (USD 5, or 600 Nepalese Rupees) will cover the cost of three meals a day and the accommodation and also helps to put our children through college, and for this we really value your contribution.
    With the help of volunteers, we were also able to crowdfund solar panels for warm showers and WiFi.

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Jardinería
    Proyectos de construcción y bricolaje
    Mantenimiento general
    Cocinar para toda la familia
    Ayuda en una granja
    Ayuda en proyectos ecológicos
    Ayuda doméstica
    Trabajo de caridad
    Práctica de idiomas
    Proyectos artísticos
    Ayuda con ordenadores/Internet
    Enseñanza

  • Objetivos de sostenibilidad de las NU que intenta conseguir este anfitrión

    Objetivos de sostenibilidad de las NU que intenta conseguir este anfitrión

    Objetivos de las NU
    Fin de la pobreza
    Hambre cero
    Salud y bienestar
    Educación de calidad
    Igualdad de género
    Agua limpia y saneamiento
    Energía asequible y no contaminante
    Trabajo decente y crecimiento económico
    Industria, innovación e infraestructura
    Reducción de las desigualdades
    Ciudades y comunidades sostenibles
    Producción y consumo responsables
    Acción por el clima
    Vida submarina
    Vida de ecosistemas terrestres
    Paz, justicia e instituciones sólidas
    Alianzas para lograr los objetivos
  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    If you stay for a shorter period of time, you can experience a glance at the rural life of the village, as well as learning how to cook local food like dal bhat.

    Depending on the season (July to August) you can have gardening experience, and even work in our rice fields.
    If you stay for a longer period of time (at least two weeks), you will be able to experience what it's like to be part of our Nepali family, learning our language, going to our celebrations, becoming known in the village and helping with our daily tasks.

    We are very excited to learn from you as well. As I always say, "The many people coming here is my way of traveling without going anywhere."

  • Ayuda

    Ayuda

    The most important aspect about our workaway is the experience you are going to live as a part of our family, in a Nepali home. We would like some help with the daily tasks around the house. You can also be a part of our seasonal farming and community projects. We still need help with many projects, from the simplest to the most elaborate, as eventually we aim to build up a guesthouse, to provide us with a consistent income to live with.
    As it is difficult for me to ask for help, it is appreciated if you are proactive.

    All the Projects are listed in a Book, created by former Volunteers.
    While you stay here, you can:

    - Help with the daily tasks, such as filling the water tank, helping in the kitchen and washing dishes.

    - Help me to manage our homestay, answer emails with me and teach me how to work with emails and internet in a better way, work on our Facebook page and other administrative work.

    - Help in the garden, weeding, digging all the ground, plant seeds, harvest etc. During many months of the year there is a lot of work in our garden.

    Our 3 long-term projects to support the village are:

    - Help villagers with construction projects or anything they may need (help me organize groups to do this, but you can also help villagers on your own)

    - Teach English at the school (you have to commit fully to this and stay at least 2 months)

    - Continue the waste management project, which just began. There is more and more rubbish, mostly plastic in the village but nothing to collect and recycle properly. So a project just started with a company to pick up waste from the village and take it to a recycling centre, as well as a fundraiser to provide bins to the village's houses and 3 containers for plastic, glass and organic waste, to help them separate their trash, and collect it.

    Every little help is appreciated, even the daily small task.
    You do not need any specific experience to work here, if you come to try and help, that is all we ask for!

    If you want we can go on hikes or day trips. I was working as a Trekking guide back in the days and I know the area pretty well.

    To get here, you can catch a bus every hour from Kathmandu or Bhaktapur. The bus should cost about 50 rupees. If you want to take a taxi, it will cost around 1500 to 2000 rupees.

    If you have any questions, you can call me or send us an email, I'll answer it with pleasure !

  • Idiomas hablados

    English: Fluido
    French: Fluido
    Hindi: Fluido
    Nepali: Fluido

  • Alojamiento

    Alojamiento

    Usually you stay in a single room or in a room with your travel companion. We have Wi-Fi in the house, electricity and hot water.

    You can come with more people if you want, just request it by message before.

    We usually eat vegetarian, but on nights we can eat meat, which is always cooked in a separate pan.

    We eat three meals per day. For breakfast we eat roti and an egg, and sometimes pancakes. For lunch and dinner we eat dal bhat. First dal bhat is around 11am and second dal bhat is at 7pm. Those 3 meals are included, if you need to eat more in between (it is usually enough), you can buy snacks/fruits in the village. Or you can tell us, and we'll be happy to cook something.

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    Changu Narayan is an old village, 6 km from Bhaktapur, home to one of the oldest temples in Nepal, and is close to the forest which you can explore. We have a good view of Katmandu Valley from the house and the village, and you can enjoy a beautiful sunset, when the weather is good.

    My wife can teach you how to cook Nepali food, like momo and dal bhat.

    You can also support local craftsman, which are happy to show you their art. You can discover many Nepali handcrafts in the village, handmade by locals.

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Más de dos

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    Around 2 to 3 hours/5 days a week

  • ...

    Este anfitrión cobra una tarífa

    leer más
    $5 per day contribution towards food costs
A volunteer helping to serve the dal bhat for dinner
Our beautiful temple.
Volunteers helping with the rice harvest.
Our neighbours!
Minuka cooking chapatis for breakfast.
Minuka, my wife, with one of our volunteers.
One of our guest rooms (this room has two beds and sleeps 3 people)
View over Kathmandu from Changu Narayan village.
This is me, Dhruba.
Our home. The guest areas are on the first floor and roof

Son opciones de calificación adicionales para cuando los miembros dejan sus comentarios. Se muestra la calificación media dejada en cada opción.

Precisión del perfil: (4.8)

Intercambio cultural: (4.5)

Comunicación: (4.5)
































































Número de referencia de anfitrión: 792463786792