Create a self-sufficient and sustainable homestead in El Yunque, Puerto Rico



 Estancia mínima:  Al menos una semana



  • Descripción


    **PLEASE NOTE, due to limited capacity, we are currently looking for couples ideally, with experience in either taking care of farm animals, land clearing, building, carpentry, tiling, stucco, and other areas of building.
    Open to a longer stay opportunities a single volunteer, with a trial period to make sure we gel**

    Hello, I’m a mid 40’s New Zealander living in a mountain rainforest of Puerto Rico, I recently discovered my first love with semi off grid living, I feel as though I just discovered one of the biggest joys of my life! There’s nothing quite like living immersed in nature!! :D

    To be transparent: I am in the very very early stages of planning/ observing the terrain, getting familiar with how everything organically flows on the 5 acre homestead, Permaculture is the foundation of this labor of love! This little slice of heaven is located in the foothills of Americas only rainforest, El Yunque National Park!

    I get to a wake up each morning to breath taking sunrises, the sounds of nature, over looking the Caribbean & distant islands.

    Seeking detail oriented volunteers with natural initiative. We will begin our days at sunrise in attempt to beat as much of the heat as possible.

    We are one hour from the San Juan airport, 10 minutes drive from the closest town 10 minutes drive from the closest beach.
    If you are inquiring about house/pet sitting , you would need to rent a vehicle. If you are applying for another position, we would highly recommend renting a car.

    **looking for a potential permanent full timer also, seriously considering creating a very small community here on the 5 acres, if so let me know! **

    * sunsets surf beach jungle rainforest waterfalls tropics tropical paradise organic permaculture sunrises

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Ayuda en proyectos ecológicos
    Construcción y bricolaje
    Cuidado de animales
    Ayuda en una granja
    Cocinar para toda la familia
    Ayuda doméstica
    Mantenimiento general
  • Objetivos de sostenibilidad de las NU que intenta conseguir este anfitrión

    Objetivos de sostenibilidad de las NU que intenta conseguir este anfitrión

    Objetivos de las NU
    Fin de la pobreza
    Hambre cero
    Salud y bienestar
    Educación de calidad
    Igualdad de género
    Agua limpia y saneamiento
    Energía asequible y no contaminante
    Trabajo decente y crecimiento económico
    Industria, innovación e infraestructura
    Reducción de las desigualdades
    Ciudades y comunidades sostenibles
    Producción y consumo responsables
    Acción por el clima
    Vida submarina
    Vida de ecosistemas terrestres
    Paz, justicia e instituciones sólidas
    Alianzas para lograr los objetivos
  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    - Learn with us, basics of planning and creating a permaculture homestead
    - Attend cultural events and festivals in the area
    - Interact with local community members and learn about their way of life

  • Ayuda


    The homestead will be designed to be completely self-sufficient and sustainable. It will include a large food forest, orchard, and livestock pastures. The property also features a natural spring, which will provide a reliable source of additional clean water. (We have a well also) We would love to welcome you to be a part of it, eventually there may be some basic building involved as we update & repair the farm house and ideally add accommodations to the property, create ponds etc. Would love to hear from y'all!

  • Idiomas hablados

    Inglés: Fluido
    Español: Principiante

  • Alojamiento


    I am offering accommodation & weekday meals in exchange for 25 hours of work (Tues - Thurs). So y’all can have 4 days off in a row! :)

    Volunteers will provide own snacks & weekend meals (volunteers to cook meals & dishes - weekdays).

    The property is 15 mins drive to closest village/ beach, 30 mins to townships (where rentals cars can be picked up etc) & 60 mins drive to San Juan/ Airport. Ubers are available to and from vehicle rental locations & airport.

    The home is 3 bedroom, 2.5 bath, equipped with Starlink Wi-Fi, so you can stay “connected”. Your bedroom is private, with the basics you need including a fan and shared en-suite. The property and surrounding National Park are true bliss, we are literally within minutes of waterfalls, hiking trails and Caribbean beaches, I am so grateful to be here & certain you will be too.

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    Their are many local activities and things to do in and around Naguabo/ El Yunque.

    Some popular activities include hiking in El Yunque National Forest, exploring local beaches, and visiting historical landmarks such as the Naguabo Sugar Mill. Other options include kayaking, zip-lining, taking a bioluminescent bay tour or going fishing or for a surf. There are numerous restaurants and shops to visit in the area, offering a chance to experience local cuisine and culture!

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    Este anfitrión ha indicado que le encanta acoger a nómadas digitales.

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Más de dos

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    6.5 hours a day, 3 days a week (plus making weekday meals/ dishes)

Número de referencia de anfitrión: 768152833919

Comentarios (3)


Son opciones de calificación adicionales para cuando los miembros dejan sus comentarios. Se muestra la calificación media dejada en cada opción.

Precisión del perfil: (5.0)

Intercambio cultural: (5.0)

Comunicación: (5.0)

Permaculture project under the tropical sun in Yabucoa, Puerto Rico
Family looking for some help with our home and land, near the beach in Luquillo, Puerto Rico