Come join our organic family homestead located within a Land Co-op, in Central NY’s Fingerlakes area, USA.

Country

Estados Unidos

212 “me gusta”


  • rating

    Evaluación del anfitrión

  • feedbacks

    Comentarios

  • last activity

    Última actividad

    22/11/2021

  • Last email replied

    Porcentaje de respuesta

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Responde en:

    ≤ 1 dia

  • Medallas

    Super Host
 
  2021 

 Estancia mínima:  Al menos 3 semanas

E
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descripción

    Descripción

    Our family farm and homestead is 2 acres. It’s located within a Land Co-op, an intentional community landtrust,in Central NY’s Fingerlakes area. My husband, Karl and I (Alison) raise organic vegetables, herbs, fruit, flowers, potted herbs and perennials on our farm and homestead. We make herbal tinctures, salves and soap and save our own seeds. We raise poultry, rabbits and dairy goats and use draft ponies for doing some farm tasks. We use a rototiller, but most is done by hand. We make cheese, yogurt, fermented vegetables and kraut, kombucha, wine and do lots of canning. We have one paid, local employee for tasks related to producing and selling products at the farmers market. Our workawayers help us with tasks related to producing and storing food for the family. This includes planting, weeding, harvesting, processing, cooking meals, canning, freezing, fermenting, wine making and animal care. The length of stay is flexible, but we prefer at least 2 to 3 weeks. We can host volunteers during our growing season, which is from March through September. Children and pets are not usually hosted. We eat a mixed diet including vegetables, dairy and meat from the farm. We want to share experience, knowledge, culture and companionship and create a mutually beneficial experience.

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Jardinería
    Cocinar para toda la familia
    Ayuda en una granja
    Ayuda doméstica
    Cuidado de animales
    Práctica de idiomas

  • Objetivos de sostenibilidad de las NU que intenta conseguir este anfitrión

    Objetivos de sostenibilidad de las NU que intenta conseguir este anfitrión

    Objetivos de las NU
    Fin de la pobreza
    Hambre cero
    Salud y bienestar
    Educación de calidad
    Igualdad de género
    Agua limpia y saneamiento
    Energía asequible y no contaminante
    Trabajo decente y crecimiento económico
    Industria, innovación e infraestructura
    Reducción de las desigualdades
    Ciudades y comunidades sostenibles
    Producción y consumo responsables
    Acción por el clima
    Vida submarina
    Vida de ecosistemas terrestres
    Paz, justicia e instituciones sólidas
    Alianzas para lograr los objetivos
  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    We love to cook with all our homegrown food. We also love to share new food and recipes and music and stories that workawayers bring. Food is a great cultural exchange along with music and working together. We are producing the majority of our own food and producing our own solar energy. We are saving our own seeds for many flowers and vegetables. We are teaching sustainability and having fun.

  • Proyectos con niños

    Proyectos con niños

    En este proyecto podría haber niños. Para obtener más información, consulta nuestras directrices y consejos aquí.

  • Ayuda

    Ayuda

    Help could include planting, weeding, harvesting, canning, herb processing, butchering (if desired), greenhouse, processing vegetables for ferments, cooking, and animal care. We built a new earth sheltered greenhouse in the summer of 2015. It has vastly improved our ability to grow things year round, and is much easier to heat.

  • Idiomas hablados

    Inglés: Fluido
    Catalan: Principiante
    Alemán: Principiante
    Francés: Principiante

  • Alojamiento

    Alojamiento

    We have a 10 x 17 foot platform with a large cabin tent on it. It has a mattress and rug and is under a large tarp. We have sleeping space for one volunteer at a time. We share the house for cooking and socializing. Our bathroom is in the house and we have an outdoor composting toilet.

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    We are in New York State's Fingerlakes District, so there's lots of hills, lakes, parks, and waterfalls. There is a mostly wooded 432 acre hillside has a beautiful ravine with a stream. There's a dirt road going up the hill and many trails. There are 20 community residents living in 13 owner built homes using alternative design and energy, uses consensus decision making at it’s meetings and hosts one to two gatherings every summer, plus occasional potlucks and parties. Karl and I can provide transportation to and from the local Greyhound bus station in Cortland, NY and possibly Syracuse if necessary.

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Uno

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    Maximum 5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Son opciones de calificación adicionales para cuando los miembros dejan sus comentarios. Se muestra la calificación media dejada en cada opción.

Precisión del perfil: (5.0)

Intercambio cultural: (5.0)

Comunicación: (5.0)









Número de referencia de anfitrión: 758555211156