Italian / Spanish / English speakers help extended family settle in to a tiny village in Spain's Cave Country, near Baza, in Spain

Country

España

actualizado  

781 “me gusta”


  • rating

    Evaluación del anfitrión

  • feedbacks

    Comentarios

    84  

  • last activity

    Última actividad

    15/10/2019

  • facebook friends

    Numero de amigos en Facebook

    461

  • Last email replied

    Porcentaje de respuesta

    97.4 %

  • Last email replied

    Responde en:

    ≤ 1 dia

  • Medallas

    Top Host
    Facebook verified
Contacto Registro
  2019 

 Estancia mínima:  1 mes o más

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descripción

    Descripción

    UPDATE... THERE HAS BEEN SOME FLOOD DAMAGE, NOT SERIOUS, BUT THIS HAS TO BE ADDED TO THE PROFILE AS AN IMMEDIATE TASK, not just for me but some of my neighbours too. We help each other

    Hello! I am Clare, I am 64 years old, which I find hard to belive!... my project is a big challenge and the needs are always changing. Last year, our extended family, (me, my partner, Frank my daughter Chilli and her partner, Joe, my son Sam and my mother in law Jose) bought a finca in El Olivar, North East Granada province in Andalusia.

    There are 2 cave houses, a few small caves for reform an olive mill, a campsite and an old empty swimming pool. All very neglected by the previous owner. As things become impossible in UK we have decided to go and live there.

    At present we have to work in UK at festivals all summer to recharge the bank accounts.... But my son and I returned now for the winter and my daughter on 12th October, and Jose is with us for the first time. She is nearly 92, and is a native Italian speaker, but also speaks English. She would enjoy some conversations in her native tongue!

    There are 3 cats and 4 dogs, a friend of ours has stayed all summer with the help of a few Workaway guests and pretty much looked after them and everything else all summer and will stay on for the winter too.

    We had planned that Jose wouldn't arrive yet because the house is very unfinished, but things have changed. We have now got a barbarian government in UK, led by a sociopathic dinosaur. Now it's a strong possibility we may crash out of Europe (Brexit) on 31st October. If that happens, my elderly mother-in-law Jose, will not be able to access reciprocal healthcare. Our best advice has been to bring her here much sooner than we had planned, at least a month ahead of 31st October.

    Can you help?! I want someone kind, a good home maker and who can help me upcycle old things to make an old lady's last home on earth a joyful colourful but peaceful place.

    I also would welcome some companionship and support with just keeping Jose happy and looked after. She doesn't need personal care at all, but needs a hand getting around and hates being alone.

    Come and help me work out how you can make a home out of a hill!

    YOU NEED TO BE A DRIVER, and have an EU style license, as our guest does not have an EU license, ...and the place is remote, I think for practical reasons it's important to drive. So getting supplies needs a car, which I supply

    The village of El Olivar is on the bend of the river Baul but also on the edge of Spain's smaller desert and newly designated Geoparque de NE Granada.

    There is the larger village of Bacor 10 minutes walk away, with a bakery, pharmacy, small general shop, a bar and a wonderful view.

    We are on the outskirts of a smaller hamlet, where there are farmers and growers but no facilities except amazing warmth and kindness.

    By car, Baza is 20 -25 minutes in one direction and Guadix 40 minutes in the other, there are buses but not too frequent.

    Granada is 1h15 away by car and there are some reasonable bus connections too.

    The Sierra de Baza, Nevada, Cazorla and Castrol are close by, but the jewel in the crown is Pantano de Negratín, a beautiful lake reservoir, 22km long and delightful for a swim. It's minutes away by car, and stunning. Our local mountain is Jabalcón, a great place to look over the lake and surrounding Geoparque.

  • Tipo de ayuda

    Tipo de ayuda

    Jardinería
    Construcción
    Cuidado de ancianos
    Mantenimiento / bricolage
    Cocinar / compras
    Otra
    Ayuda en casa
    Ayuda con animales
    Ayuda con idiomas

  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Learn about cave dwelling, join in the village life, engagement is strongly recommended.

    Many of my volunteers are able to expand their English or Spanish or Italian language while volunteering for us.

    However, I believe the greatest exchange is the relationships you can build with other people that you meet, both residents of the area and travellers.

    To explore the possibilities of social fun in a strange place, sometimes, but learn to be sympathetic to customs and practices in the host country.

    The oportunity to live in a cave and experience the geothermal qualities, cool in summer and believe me, warm in winter.

    Experience something about deserts ...Europe doesn't have many!

    Possibly step a bit outside your comfort zone if you have spent a lot of time in cities, become sociable with our neighbours, learn their different values and attitudes.

    Take turns to cook simple stuff for a group of up to 5 WorkAwayers without too much stress.... And learn other cuisines from your co guests!

    We have had the privlage to create life long friendships with many of our volunteers, and they have made great lasting friendships with each other too.

    While volunteering with us, you'll have the oportunity to see an amazing part of Spain. If this all sounds appealing then please send me a message, me and Sam my son, Jose mí suegra and Noé my friend.. and if course my pets and house are waiting for someone!

  • Ayuda

    Ayuda

    UPDATE... THERE HAS BEEN SOME FLOOD DAMAGE, NOT SERIOUS, BUT THIS HAS TO BE ADDED TO THE PROFILE AS AN IMMEDIATE TASK!!!!

    Small renovation tasks
    Home making, with a strong eye to upcycling and repurposing in an arty way
    Companionship for Jose
    Sometimes cook an evening meal.
    Shopping.
    Some garden tidying
    Take turns with basic housework so we all can live nice and clean together.
    DRIVING you must beover 25 and have EU license.
    Joining in and adding to village life.
    Make life joyful for all you meet.

  • Idiomas hablados

    Idiomas hablados

    English, Spanish, Italian

  • Alojamiento

    Alojamiento

    A big old cave house, this is the one to be worked on....there is also a casa cueva (cave AND house) I expect you might stay there, it has 3 cave bedrooms and 2 conventional build bedrooms, lounge and kitchen. I suggest you eat communally with the us unless you intend to buy your own food.

    There is now some feeble WiFi in the house. Be considerate, it doesn't stretch far between everyone.

    3 simple meals a day, but we cannot accommodate really very fussy eaters as there is a common food budget.. We live in a world where people starve, so it's better to just be grateful and not too focussed on food, it would be nice to be able to have eco chem free food, but we don't have a veg garden yet so we have to buy what there is. Meat is not nicely farmed in Spain by and large, and we don't buy much. It's not off limits, just don't like factory farms and have a small budget.

    Use of a shared car

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    Come to the Altiplano de Granada, the nearest big towns are Baza and Guadix. Granada is an hour and 15 min away.

    Enjoy the desert the Geoparque, Parque Megalithica, the Pantano Negratín, the hot springs in the woods, the mountains and the beautiful sky.

    Enjoy the tapas culture.

    Join in the many fiestas and ferias in the villages nearby, Bacor has one in the first full weekend in June...

    See cave houses, with the natural temperature control, warmer in the winter, cooler in the summer.. a d ramble round the strange troglodyte villages which are all around.

    Public transport exists but better from the big towns I'm sure everyone will co operate with lifts to connect to public transport to go places on your days off. There may be a small car available to use if you have the right EU driving license and experience and are aged over 25.

    Bicycles are also avilable.

    WARNINGS!
    1. SMOKING, drugs, alcohol
    Please... I don't really welcome smokersI don't permit smoking in the house and grounds and REMEMBER this is a dry area. Fires start easily. If you must smoke go by the riverbed and be really very careful with cigarette ends and hot ashes, do NOT throw ends on the ground.
    One strike and you are out with any illegal drugs. I have had enough of people using my place to get wasted, fraternising with all the semi criminal elements in the area and drawing the wrong attention to us. NO DRUGS NOT EVEN MARIAJUANA.
    Drinking alcohol is only tolerated at evening meal and social occasions. No daytime drinking, and no habitual drinkers.

    2. FIRES
    No campfires or barbeques, if a fire started it would devastate the area and we would never be welcome back. This is no small matter. Don't leave bottles or glasses abandoned that could focus the sun, the same warning for prescription spectacles. Fire is feared above all else

    3. WATER
    Water is scarce and expensive. Please be sensible about short showers, pausing the flow while you soap and shampoo. Washing machine only use when full, and on short cycle
    Flush the loo only when it's solids, not for pee, unless many have accumulated!
    Watch out for dripping taps, leaks and reuse as much as you can to water the garden.
    Water the geraniums, they repel mosquitos

    4. DRAINS
    don't put paper down the toilet anywhere in Spain. There is always a bin provided. There are times when it's nicer to flush the paper, and in these odd occasions, I'm sure it's fine.

    5. RUBBISH
    There is no house to house rubbish collection, so take your rubbish to the bin and recycle skip in the village. Avoid too much packaging.

    6. SMILE!

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Más de dos

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    4 or 5 hrs on the weekdays, but please let's both be flexible.

Son opciones de calificación adicionales para cuando los miembros dejan sus comentarios. Se muestra la calificación media dejada en cada opción.

Precisión del perfil: (4.3)

Intercambio cultural: (5.0)

Comunicación: (4.7)





























































Número de referencia de anfitrión: 647855692517