Join our outdoorsy family for some childcare/household help in Drumheller, Canada



17 “me gusta”

  • rating

    Evaluación del anfitrión

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Última actividad



 Estancia mínima:  1 mes o más

  • Descripción


    Hello! We are Ryan and Dusti Semchuk, and are looking for full-time help with our 2 year old daughter, Jude. We also have two friendly, female dogs; a 15 year old pitty and a 2 year old rescue (unsure of exact mix).

    We live in the heart of the badlands, and dinosaur capital of the world! Ryan is a marketing guru and head of hotel marketing for a locally based company. In his spare time, Ryan enjoys BBQ/smoking (he can teach you how to smoke a mean brisket!), audio engineering, playing and making music, and he is a very capable greenthumb. Ryan is quite committed in pursuing his hobby of growing organic plants. Ryan is also an ex-certified snowboard instructor, and a great teacher if you need some help hitting the slopes! Dusti works part-time in the hospital laboratory, drawing blood and performing other medical lab tasks. In her spare time, she enjoys working out, brewing beer and wine, playing guitar, and cooking. She also travels for competitive roller derby.

    We are an outdoorsy family and we love to take advantage of the local beauty in our little valley. We have a very supportive, close friend base and cohort, who we would love to introduce you to! We were both raised in Drumheller and are living and loving the small town life! We are located 1.5 hours from both Calgary and Red Deer, and about 2.5 hours from Banff (helloooooo mountains!). Ryan has access to hotel deals through work, which can be passed along to our workaway! If you are into soaking up the Calgary nightlife or making a trip to the mountains for hiking or skiing/snowboarding, we can hook you up with hotel discounts on your days off! In addition, our workaway can access the gyms, swimming pools, and hot tubs in town at no cost using Ryan's benefits.The Rockies offer some of the best snow sports worldwide. Drumheller is a stunning small town with lots to offer and we’d like to show you why we chose to stay here!

    We have a very well-balanced home life and are looking for weekday help watching our child while we are at work. We would prefer a minimum stay of 2-3 months as we feel that is the amount of time necessary to truly experience our unique community; and we are open to longer term placements if you desire. We have a large house with a very big spare bedroom that comes furnished with a king sized bed, end tables, and lamps. Our workaway would have shared access to the house, including our massive and very private backyard, as well as a soundproof studio/music room. Feel free to bring any musical instruments you may happen to play.

    We would love for someone to join our little family clan and amazing group of friends!

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Cuidado de animales
    Cuidado de niños y juegos creativos
    Cocinar para toda la familia
    Ayuda doméstica
    Mantenimiento general

  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Being raised in Drumheller, The Semchuks offer unique connections in our small town, and are knowledgeable about local events and attractions. Drumheller in and of itself has SO much to offer, as a tourist but also as a resident. We are closely connected to a vast local network of musicians, hikers, kayakers, hunters, amateur cooks, pet-lovers, homebodies and social butterflies, people who enjoy a few drinks and people who don’t, people who are 420 friendly and people who aren’t, and all of our friends enjoy hanging outside around a fire pit at all times of the year! Basically we are a laid-back, drama-free group of inclusive and accepting people.

    Our home has a massive backyard with no alley; we literally back onto a lush green area about a 3 minute walk from the Red Deer River (don’t worry, we’re elevated enough so flooding isn’t a risk). We have a great big deck with a patio to lounge on, a large BBQ and smoker, a fire pit, and a garden. In the winter we have lots of outdoor fires, or cozy up to one of our two indoor fireplaces. Skiing/snowboarding is a huge attraction as The Rockies are so close, which offer some of the best winter sports worldwide. Ryan's company hotel discount includes The Canalta Lodge in Banff, which would be available to our workaways. Summers in Drumheller get quite hot and we like to spend our time tubing, kayaking, hiking, hanging out at the local brewery, catching some live music at the Last Chance Saloon in Wayne, or just hanging out in our backyard, which we consider to be our own piece of paradise.

    Drumheller offers a rich prehistoric history. We are the dinosaur capital of the world, and home to the Royal Tyrrell Museum of Palaeontology. A couple hour drive south (or a few beautiful days by kayak or canoe) will take you to Dinosaur Provincial Park, where dinosaur excavation is currently ongoing! Drumheller was also a booming coal mining community in the early 1900’s (with some of the last mines actually remaining open until 1979). There is a lot of history to explore in our community.

    City life is as close as a 1.5 hour drive to Calgary, and you can immerse yourself in the Rocky Mountains within 2.5 hours. What more could one want?

    We have a really fantastic group of cohorts that will provide a very rich friend life for our workaway! I’m sure everyone will say they have the best friends, but ours truly are something else ❤️ If you’re looking to meet talented, genuine, caring, and compassionate people who are also chill and easygoing; we know the right people for you! It’s a passion of ours to bring likeminded people together, and you will be welcomed with open arms into our circle.

  • Proyectos con niños

    Proyectos con niños

    En este proyecto podría haber niños. Para obtener más información, consulta nuestras directrices y consejos aquí.

  • Ayuda


    We are looking for someone reliable to watch our 2 year old baby girl Monday through Friday, and help out with associated housekeeping duties and regular house maintenance. Our workaway must also be okay with pets, as we have two friendly dogs who love attention! Some evening and weekend availability is required, but generally speaking the majority of the responsibilities are required (3-5 days a week) Monday-Friday somewhere between the hours of 0700 and 1700. Typically speaking, the hours will fall on the earlier end of the spectrum as Ryan has some flexibility with being home early to relieve our workaway.

    We will supply everything required to care for our child, including an introduction to our family lifestyle. We think it is important that both Jude and our workaways are comfortable with one another and we want to set everyone up for success. We are gentle parenting; we treat Jude as an equal and always acknowledge her feelings. Jude is an independent girl who loves nature. She enjoys listening to music, playing in her sandbox, and helping out around the house (she is good at unloading the dishwasher with help, and letting the dogs in and out). She also loves dinosaurs! Jude is good at communicating her needs through sign language, and her spoken language is also starting to develop. Jude is a busybody and is usually on the move, although she will cuddle up on the couch for a few minutes here and there. There is never a dull moment with our girl!

  • Idiomas hablados

    Inglés: Fluido

  • Alojamiento


    Our workaway will have their own bedroom on the basement floor of our house. Access is through the main door. The workaway room is furnished with a king bed and end tables with lamps. If needed, we can arrange to have a dresser added, but there is also a large closet for storage of clothing and other personal items. The basement floor is also home to our soundproof music room, Ryan's personal indoor garden, and a large furnished family room equipped with a TV and a few video game consoles. There is also a natural gas fireplace in the family room. Our workaway will have their own bathroom in the basement with a large shower, and access to a tub on the main floor if you are a bath kind of person. You will also have access to all the main areas of the house and yard to use at your leisure.

    We are open to adding a workaway to our grocery shopping and cooking, or not if that’s what you prefer!

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    Our workaway will have have time to enjoy life! The work schedule will be provided up-front (mainly Monday-Friday), and any additional hours will be shared in advance. We are knowledgeable about local areas to explore and fun things to do during your time off. BC is also a short drive away if you wish to visit on your days off! There is no public transit or Uber in Drumheller, so it's preferred that you provide your own vehicle in case of on-the-job appointments or emergencies.

    We are excited at the opportunity to host you!

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    Wi-fi is included in your stay and works well!

  • Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    We have a large driveway and potential for parking in the green area alongside our house (outside of our fence). Our home is more than large enough to accommodate you, but we are open to discussion.

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?


  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    4-5 hours/day, approximately 3-5 days/week.

Número de referencia de anfitrión: 697421298482