Stay on a beautiful piece of hilly land with horses in Combermere, Ontario, Canada

  • Canadá
  • 17 “me gusta”
  • Última actividad: 30 sept 2023



 Estancia mínima:  Al menos una semana



  • Descripción


    Hi, I'm Lisa. I grew up in the country, and have finally made my return!

    This past year, I travelled to Nicaragua and volunteered on a workaway to have the experience from the other side of it so that I could provide the best experiences for my visitors.

    I have travelled through most of Europe and Asia much of Central America and the Caribbean, and now North Africa so meeting new people is very interesting to me and I have a great respect for different cultures.

    I live a pretty simple lifestyle, I had a bad accident a few years ago and that is when I decided to move to the country and live a quiet life after 25 years in Toronto.

    The property is at the point of major transformation. It has now been 5 years - with my being here full time for the past two years. We have done most of the work ourselves so if this kind of project appeals I can show you everything that I've learned so far!

    This year I hope to expand the gardens to include a greenhouse, clear trails, amend the fields and pastures, and repair some of the buildings. We will be building an outdoor kitchen, making more fields, building a horse shelter and riding ring.
    I recently got a pond so it also needs maintenance and landscaping, there is always so much to do!

    This is definitely a labour intensive position, but the weather is good, I'm a great cook, and the environment is peaceful. It is a quiet place... not completely in the forest but it is not very populated here.

    Also, it is not easy to get public transportation in the area so it will have to be arranged unless you have a vehicle.

    If you love horses you will have the opportunity to hang out with my beautiful herd who absolutely love people and attention.

    If these are the kinds of activities that you enjoy, and you have gardening or carpentry knowledge or even general understanding of 'how things work' I would love to have you on board to help out. It also helps if you are a bit self-guided...

    I hope to see you soon!

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Ayuda en proyectos ecológicos
    Construcción y bricolaje
    Cuidado de animales
    Ayuda en una granja
    Ayuda doméstica
    Mantenimiento general
    Ayuda informática
  • Objetivos de sostenibilidad de las NU que intenta conseguir este anfitrión

    Objetivos de sostenibilidad de las NU que intenta conseguir este anfitrión

    Objetivos de las NU
    Fin de la pobreza
    Hambre cero
    Salud y bienestar
    Educación de calidad
    Igualdad de género
    Agua limpia y saneamiento
    Energía asequible y no contaminante
    Trabajo decente y crecimiento económico
    Industria, innovación e infraestructura
    Reducción de las desigualdades
    Ciudades y comunidades sostenibles
    Producción y consumo responsables
    Acción por el clima
    Vida submarina
    Vida de ecosistemas terrestres
    Paz, justicia e instituciones sólidas
    Alianzas para lograr los objetivos
  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    You can see how a Canadian farm works - especially one that is on the Canadian shield - which is challenging farm land or simply have a real experience working on a working/semi-working farm. You can learn about sustainable gardening practices ( we are pesticide and chemical free) and we are workign on being completely self sufficient (its expensive and a lot of work... or you live very simply)

    My belief is that you should leave things better than you found them.

    I am always happy to do a language exchange as well as share some of the indiginenous culture of the area.

  • Ayuda


    in 2018 I purchased an old abandoned farm on a beautiful piece of hilly land that I have been rehabilitating for the past four summers. Last year I mended fences and got horses, this year I may add a few cows or sheep. I take campers and guests in my house. There is quite a lot of work to do such as preparing wood, clearing trails, mending fences, weeding the garden, and caring for the animals ... all honest work!

    I have a kayak and a canoe that is docked just up the road so you can paddle in your free time. You will be able to work with the horses and depending on your ability you may be able to ride.

    It's a beautiful part of the country and I go to the beach or jump in the lake as often as possible when the weather is good... its all about living an honest life of hard work and simple pleasures.

    There are often outdoor festivals and events in the summer, so we like to go and see the offerings in the area from time to time.

    This is a remote area, so there is not a lot to do without a vehicle so you should be prepared to be spending most of your time on the property.

  • Idiomas

    Idiomas hablados
    Inglés: Fluido
    Español: Principiante
    Francés: Principiante

    Este anfitrión ofrece intercambio de idiomas
    I'm happy to practice French, Spanish or any other language really... and I will help you with your English

  • Alojamiento


    There is one small bedroom, as well as a trailer and bunkie. Depending on how long you will stay and what time of the year you could be staying in either of these spaces.

    Basic food will be provided, there is ample fresh produce in the garden and pasta, rice and other essentials will be available.
    Occasionally I will cook a steak or burgers. I respect your choices if you are a vegetarian or vegan however I do eat some meat and do my best to keep it natural/organic.
    You may be required to do your own cooking, often times we cook over the campfire or bbq in the summer.
    You will be provided with your own bin for any specialty food items that you wish to purchase.

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    There is no local transportation, but as I mentioned before I usually go to the beach or the lake regularly. The kayak/canoe is located nearby. The village is 5 km away so an easy bike ride and I usually go into town at least 4 times a week. There is a larger town 20 km away and we will do a larger shopping trip there usually once a week.
    There are lakes, rivers, beaches, hills to hike, and lots of other activities nearby. I also host events like a fire walking ceremony and with campers and visitors an the weekends there are usually opportunities to get out and about.

    If you are coming in, the easiest pickup is Ottawa (2 hours) or Peterborough (2 hours)

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    I can set you up with a desk space of you work online... I work online so the internet is pretty good.

  • Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    Yes we have space for a camper or your own accommodation no problem!

  • Podría aceptar mascotas

    Podría aceptar mascotas

    I have a cat that is afraid of dogs, so you must be willing to keep your dog attended, and leashed or on a long tie most of the time if our fur babies have problems... after all, it is Trixy's farm lol

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?


  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Número de referencia de anfitrión: 649376345452

Comentarios (1)


Countryside, tranquility and beautiful moments in Quebec, Canada
Cultural exchange with indigenous family and help with gardening and childcare in Merritt, Canada