Ayuda a una pareja retirada pero muy activa cerca de Saint Antonin Noble Val

Country

Francia

136 “me gusta”


  • rating

    Evaluación del anfitrión

  • feedbacks

    Comentarios

    15  

  • last activity

    Última actividad

    19/06/2022

  • Last email replied

    Porcentaje de respuesta

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Responde en:

    ≤ 1 dia

  • Medallas

    Super Host
 
  2022 
E
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descripción

    Descripción

    Chris and Maggie live in a large house which was renovated a few years ago. We just outside the village of Varen, about 100 kms north of Toulouse. Chris is semi-retired, having worked in UK TV and radio as a drama writer and producer and subsequently as an internet consultant, providing advice to the creative industries on how to manage content online. Maggie is an artist and part time teacher of English and French. We have both traveled extensively in Europe and the rest of the world. Nowadays we still spend a certain amount of time travelling, but otherwise occupy ourselves with gardening, tinkering with this and that, reading. Maggie works in her studio and I have a work room in the house.
    The house is surrounded by its own land, with gardens, woodland and a river for swimming and canoeing. There is a railway nearby with direct trains to Toulouse. We are both sociable people, taking great enjoyment from cooking and eating, good conversation. We keep up with friends throughout the world using the internet and we both have a wide range of interests.
    We are internationalist in outlook and our family members speak a wide variety of languages - English, French, Spanish, Italian and Portuguese. We also have friends who speak eastern European languages.
    There is a separate building available for workawayers. It's off-grid with a solar system and composting toilet. It's comfortable and private, suitable for two people and a child.
    We are particularly interested in hosting Spanish workawayers because we want to improve our Spanish language skills!

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Práctica de idiomas
    Jardinería
    Proyectos de construcción y bricolaje
    Cocinar para toda la familia
    Ayuda doméstica
    Mantenimiento general

  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    As we explain in our profile, we are ourselves well travelled, in Europe, central America, Africa (where Chris was once a volunteer), India, East Asia, including China, Australia and New Zealand. Our outlook is international - as British nationals, we are deeply disheartened by the United Kingdom's withdrawal from the community of European nations. In the past we have hosted people from Estonia, Spain, Italy, Germany and the UK. Anyone who comes here will find a couple more than willing to share their own stories and experiences of travel, pass on advice and even suggest people they might link up with when they move on. We also have modern circus in the family and have hosted jugglers, acrobats and clowns in the past. They are always welcome here but bring your own big top.

  • Proyectos con niños

    Proyectos con niños

    En este proyecto podría haber niños. Para obtener más información, consulta nuestras directrices y consejos aquí.

  • Ayuda

    Ayuda

    There are six hectares of land around the house, which is partly garden, partly open fields. There is also woodland, going down to the river Aveyron. As a result there's always a lot to do. I have a small tractor which is very versatile but keeping nature at bay is always demanding. The house was renovated the house five years ago and there is still painting and decorating to finish, inside and outside. We'd like to host people who enjoy this kind of thing and are happy to join in generally with the life of the house.
    Right now the windows and doors on the outside of the house need repainting.
    We are both very keen cooks and have a well equipped kitchen, to semi-professional standards. We are always interested in learning new styles of food. We would welcome volunteers with good cooking ability and a strong interest in food, particularly our regional ingredients.

  • Idiomas

    Idiomas hablados
    Inglés: Fluido
    Francés: Fluido
    Español: Intermedio

    Este anfitrión ofrece intercambio de idiomas
    We are comfortable in English and French. We also speak intermediate Spanish, learned for our travels in central America, particularly Nicaragua, where we have a charity supporting women and children.

  • Alojamiento

    Alojamiento

    We can offer a separate, large double bedroom with its own bathroom. The house has central heating and air conditioning. There is satellite TV and a high standard of comfort. The house is non-smoking inside.

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    The countryside around Varen is very beautiful, with steep valleys. The village itself is medieval, with a huge church and castle. Nearby is the small town of Saint Antonin Noble Val, in the valley of the River Aveyron, where its possible to go canoeing and kayaking. Further away are the towns of Villefranche-de-Rouergue, Gaillac (a wine centre) and Albi (famous for its Toulouse Lautrec museum and enormous cathedral). All these towns have weekly markets which are always popular. If you want to get away for the weekend by public transport, there is a regular train service to Toulouse within walking distance. We he a selection of guidebooks and leaflets to lend.
    We normally suggest that volunteers come for two or three weeks only. We are not able to host people for long periods.

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    Currently we are connected via ADSL at 10mgb down and 1mgb up. But we are awaiting connection to fibre. We have a separate buidling with its own internet connection via ethernet.

  • Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    Lots of space to park up here in our big field once the hay has been cut in June. We can supply power to vans.

  • Podría aceptar mascotas

    Podría aceptar mascotas

    Only well behaved dogs and cats.

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Dos

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    Five hours per day












Número de referencia de anfitrión: 575752515924