1 / 2

Permaculture demonstration site, Far South Coast NSW

  • 125 “me gusta”
  • Última actividad: 21 may 2024



 Estancia mínima:  Una semana o menos



  • Descripción


    We are John and Sharon Champagne and our place is one of the oldest Permaculture sites in Australia. We hav built the property and house over 30 years and are now in enjoying the benefits while maintaining the property. We welcome people who are self reliant, and like to host those who have some knowledge and a definite interest in Permaculture. We also welcome those with trades who are willing to do some work on the house, those with skills in the kitchen and those who can work comfortable with technology.

    We have many jobs around the property and house. The type of work that will be undertaken will depend on the time of year and the season/weather condition. Most work on the property is maintenance work though the vegetable garden is always changing. At various times of the year we process excess food so being comfortable in the kitchen is helpful. In between the gardens, we are completing tasks on our owner built home.

    We welcome people who are prepared to live as part of our family and have a go alongside us. We love to hear about your home and culture and share ours with you. We also have other volunteers staying at times. Sharon works part time off the property and also does online volunteer work with refugees.

    We are 20 minutes drive from a small town (Bega) and 3 hours from Canberra, 6 hours from Sydney and 8 hours from Melbourne. Buses run from major cities on a daily basis and we can collect from bus stops if needed but if you have a car that's great as we live in an area of natural beauty with many national parks, beaches etc to explore. You are welcome to work out times with us to head off and see some of these areas.

    We have five children, their partners and grandchildren who ar frequent visitors to the home.

    We teach and practice Permaculture at the property including weekend and longer courses, open days and consultations. We have a Permaculture teaching focus , teaching locally and internationally. By coming into our home you will develop practical permaculture skills and enhance your theoretical knowledge.

    Our home is an owner built mudbrick house, fully solar powered and we are self reliant for both power and water. As such an appreciation of the value of these resources is essential particulary with a dry summer being forecast.

    We have a range of work for people with various skills and abilities ranging from work on the land to work around the home. Please advise us of your interests, abilities and/or skills.

    You will have a private room and share the rest of the house, including bathroom with us. We have an external composting toilet. There is also a camping site or room for a small campervan.

    We eat a mixed diet and enjoy tasting the food of other countries and cultures. We cannot cater for anyone with strict dietary requirements.

    We cannot take people who want to bring animals. Smoking in the house is not allowed but it's fine to smoke outside the house.

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Práctica de idiomas
    Ayuda en proyectos ecológicos
    Construcción y bricolaje
    Cocinar para toda la familia
    Ayuda doméstica
    Mantenimiento general
    Ayuda informática
  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    We are a couple (62 and 63) who followed our dream and developed a reasonable self-sufficient and sustainable lifestyle. Visitors will gain insights into our journey and experiences and knowledge of permaculture from one of the prominent Australian permaculture teachers.

  • Ayuda


    We are looking for people who will have a go at many of the tasks around the property and the house and if you have particular skills we can generally find a use for them. People who are interested in Permaculture are most welcome to work with us in a learning environment as are tradies who can give us a hand with some tasks. We are happy to consider most people.

    A number of areas are being worked on at the moment including bushfire preparation for both house and property, building a new vegetable garden, repairing animal structures, planting windbreaks/firebreask and planting and maintain a food forest.

    There are also home maintenance tasks ( painting, preparation, finishing off tasks ) for anyone who has a bit of experience in building (including some carpentry) food preparation ( fruit preserving, general cooking, freezer filling) and/or computer work ( marketing of courses and updating website)

  • Idiomas hablados

    Inglés: Fluido
    Indonesian: Intermedio

  • Alojamiento


    Bedroom in house, eat with family (meat eaters and vegetarians welcome- if you are a vegan or have particular food needs you but must be prepared to cook your own meals).

    if you have very particular food requirements please discuss ahead of arrival as we are 20 minutes from shops and this is not always possible.

    Shared bathroom, composting toilet.

    We have good internet available.

    We can pick up from local town where buses run to from major cities.

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    Limited public transport, great beaches, mountains, national parks. Can assist with transport. International driving licence useful.

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    We are happy to accommodate digital nomads who want to work on their own business while helping out. We have excellent unlimited NBN which you are welcome to use. We would also appreciate technical help at times.

  • Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    We have a camping site with basic composting toilet and asian style bathing, a fire pit and a gas cook top for making tea/coffee and simple meals. If you have a small campervan (ie kombi size) we can accommodate you along our 'track' which is near enough to the house to not be isolated but can afford some privacy. We cannot accommodate caravans and or larger mobile vans.

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?


  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    variable hours, generally a few hours in the morning and again later in the day in summer, 4-5 hours in the winter.

Número de referencia de anfitrión: 554948636625