Experienced horse trainer & ranch hand in the foothills of the Rocky Mountains, Alberta, Canada

Country

Canadá

107 “me gusta”


  • rating

    Evaluación del anfitrión

  • feedbacks

    Comentarios

    -

  • last activity

    Última actividad

    02/05/2022

  • Last email replied

    Porcentaje de respuesta

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Responde en:

    ≤ 10 dias

  • paid opportunity

    El anfitrión se ofrece a pagar

 
  2022 

 Estancia mínima:  1 mes o más

E
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descripción

    Descripción

    We currently have our workawayer in place and do not anticipate further need for some months. Please check our calendar, as I will update it when there is any change. Thanks!

    This is a paid position, full time with long term to permanent tenure.

    We are looking for someone who already trains horses, preferably western riding and cowhorse discipline. We need you to start our young horses, develop our 2-5 year olds and prepare them for sale, keep horses fed, doctored, attend farrier & body worker etc. You also help with cattle herd duties - taking shifts during calving, repairing fences, moving and doctoring cattle at pasture.

    Experience, references and video required. Please provide references that can describe your work training horses from birth to finished. Video of you riding and/or competing horseback are required Please include a description of the horses you have trained stating their level of training before and after your work. We would also like to read a short description of your training philosophy, education and methods along with personal goals and reflections on your future.

    We live in the foothills of the Rocky Mountains, in Alberta. This is horse and ranch country, with large open spaces, bush pastures, creek crossings and wild predators. Our family raises cattle for profit and American Quarter Horses for pleasure. We sell the beef from our farm store and market our horses to local NonPro competitors. Learn about the Canadian Cowhorse competition, start, train and show our horses. This is a paid position, full time, caring for our horses and training them to show competitively. We attend shows through Alberta in cowhorse clubs (NARCHC and ARCHA) and sometimes ranch horse versatility (ARHVA). There are also many cutting opportunities (ACHA) in the area. Shows are held monthly from May through September with occaisional clinics outside this period. You will also help us with our marketing program, participating in local events, posting to facebook, instagram etc. and building a network of horse people that are interested in quality horses.

    We have an outdoor arena to ride in, a round pen and free walker under cover, a patience pole (learning to stand tied), plenty of trails through the bush, bridges, gates and a herd of quiet cattle. We have 160 acres at our home location and another 500 acres nearby for grazing. We also have almost 500 acres grazing land in the mountains. We supply the young hores - you bring the desire and passion.

    Private, onsite housing provided with kitchen, dining area, living room, bedroom. Laundry facilities are provided. When the day is done, enjoy fishing or a quiet canoe ride at the pond, watch for deer and moose on a walk through the bush or relax in the hot tub under the stars.

    Dabble in roping or cutting if you are interested or enjoy mountain riding. On your days off, explore the local area or the mountains nearby. We are close to Banff and can ride the mountains at YaHaTinda on a day trip. We can arrange schedules to allow you time to explore a little or accompany you on a short trip.

    This could be a life-changing opportunity. You bring the desire and drive - we provide the facilities and support your success. Local professional trainers are available to provide lessons and guidance as you develop your skills. The shows give you a chance to see what is expected and show your work. Entry fees are covered by us for any of our horses. This could work into an opportunity to move permanently to Canada if you are interested.

    Our only restriction is that you not compete directly with us in your spare time. A minimum two year committment is preferred.

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Jardinería
    Proyectos de construcción y bricolaje
    Cuidado de animales
    Ayuda en una granja
    Mantenimiento general

  • Objetivos de sostenibilidad de las NU que intenta conseguir este anfitrión

    Objetivos de sostenibilidad de las NU que intenta conseguir este anfitrión

    Objetivos de las NU
    Fin de la pobreza
    Hambre cero
    Salud y bienestar
    Educación de calidad
    Igualdad de género
    Agua limpia y saneamiento
    Energía asequible y no contaminante
    Trabajo decente y crecimiento económico
    Industria, innovación e infraestructura
    Reducción de las desigualdades
    Ciudades y comunidades sostenibles
    Producción y consumo responsables
    Acción por el clima
    Vida submarina
    Vida de ecosistemas terrestres
    Paz, justicia e instituciones sólidas
    Alianzas para lograr los objetivos
  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Learn about Canadian culture, the western lifestyle, raising grass finished beef in the Alberta foothills, training and showing horses in Reined Cow Horse, Using classic Cowboy skills of riding, roping and cutting.

    We speak excellent English and some French. We have a little Dutch and Spanish.
    On site you can canoe, paddle board, fish, hike, do photography.
    Nearby you can do white water rafting with an outfitting company, hike or ski in the mountains, visit Banff and Jasper.

  • El anfitrión ofrece una paga acorde al salario mínimo

    El anfitrión ofrece una paga acorde al salario mínimo

    Este anfitrión ofrece alojamiento y paga.

    El anfitrión ha indicado que pagará al menos el salario mínimo por hora de su país por cada hora trabajada y que también ofrecerá alojamiento. Pide ayuda con un negocio o una actividad empresarial. Ponte en contacto directamente con el anfitrión mediante la mensajería de la página para obtener más información y detalles sobre el salario ofrecido. Cualquier acuerdo con el anfitrión debe cerrarse por anticipado.

  • Ayuda

    Ayuda

    We are looking for a full time, professional horse trainer (paid position). We have 2 mature geldings that compete in Cowhorse and versatility. There are 4 broodmares - 3 are very rideable and could even compete. Next we have 2 four year olds - one in Cowhorse, the other in roping. There’s just 1 three year old, ready to ride. We have 2 two year olds and 2 yearlings. One new goal is expected shortly. The job will include barn chores, help with cattle herd and other ranch work as well as horse training.

    We enjoy meeting new people and learning about their home country and culture. There are plenty of different activities working with the horses and cattle. Experience with fence repair and construction, chicken care, dog training would be very helpful.

    Although you will be responsible fir training our horses, every day is different. You might be exercising a horse or spending time with a newborn foal one day, rounding up cattle and/or checking calves another day and harrowing fields or driving the baler the next day.

    We will use the skills you bring and include you in daily ranch life. The cattle will likely be at pasture all summer - requiring basic riding skills to locate, count and check for any health problems.

    Teaching our dogs to herd would be a wonderful bonus!

  • Idiomas

    Idiomas hablados
    Inglés: Fluido
    Francés: Intermedio
    Español: Principiante
    Holandés: Principiante

    Este anfitrión ofrece intercambio de idiomas
    Interested in learning a little German, Dutch, Italian, Spanish, Finnish etc.

  • Alojamiento

    Alojamiento

    Housing provided - a private fully furnished suite, bathroom, shower, kitchen, dining, living room, laundry facilities.
    Swimming pool & hot tub available, pond with boats & fish, XC ski trails, snow shoeing and trail rides right out the door.

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    Very close to the mountains for hiking, riding excursions.
    There is very limited public transport. You may need to rent a vehicle for excursions.
    We have plenty of horses for riding in your free time if you are interested.
    This position is for a person who enjoys family life, quiet time in nature.

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    We live rurally and although the internet is decent, it can have outages or slow periods. We must be flexible in terms of scheduling time to work online. Our location might be suitable for flexible bloggers but not for regular online work.

  • Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    We live on a ranch so there is plenty of room to park. We can provide electrical plug in and water hose attachment. There is public dump facility in town. Camping is not possible in winter as water connections will freeze. We have available extra rooms for guests with shared bathroom and laundry facilities. Shared family meals.

  • Podría aceptar mascotas

    Podría aceptar mascotas

    Please specify your pet type, if they will stay mostly inside your room/campervan or outside. If they have experience with other dogs, cats, cattle and horses. We have 5 resident dogs and 3 cats at the moment.

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Dos

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    8 hours a day, 5 days a week


Número de referencia de anfitrión: 541651216745