Se voluntario ayudando en Málaga, España

Country

España

325 “me gusta”


  • rating

    Evaluación del anfitrión

  • feedbacks

    Comentarios

    15  

  • last activity

    Última actividad

    05/04/2021

  • Medallas

 
  2021 
E
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descripción

    Descripción

    Retired expatriot (Scottish) living in Spain for 15 years. I have a villa and land in the coastal foothills near to Sayalonga, Axarquia. 7km from the coast and 14km from the coastal resort of Nerja. Sevilla and Grenada (the Alhambra) are not far away and there is a very good bus service operating from Torre del Mar, the closest large town.

    The villa has a wonderful outlook facing West towards Malaga bay, Gibraltar and North Africa. In winter because we face south west we get the max amount of sun available. On a good day we can see the African Coast, Gibraltar and the Twin Pillars of Hercules. In high summer I return to the UK to visit friends, relatives and avoid the worst of the heat.

    I need volunteers to help me prepare the land/irrigation system/buildings for the long hot summer and to recover it when I return in September; the total plot area is 2,600 sq.m.
    The land has 20 odd Almond trees, olives, figs, apricots and other fruit trees. I have a vegetable patch to provide fresh produce as much as possible. I try to be as organic/bio as possible.
    Irrigation is a problem most of the year and cold winds in the winter months.

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Jardinería
    Proyectos de construcción y bricolaje
    Cocinar para toda la familia
    Mantenimiento general
    Ayuda en proyectos ecológicos
    Ayuda doméstica
    Cuidado de animales

  • Ayuda

    Ayuda

    Mainly help with the land eg pruning the Almonds, weed clearance and maintaining the irrigation system.
    Some building maintenance including painting.
    Sharing of household duties and most importantly enjoying the company of MrB, my ancient Border Terrier, including looking after him when required.
    If you want to try your hand at some cooking that would be most welcome!
    Workaways are also invited to join me in a glass of the excellent Spanish wine in the evening when the volunteer work is done.
    Bring working clothes and a good pair of boots.
    A mobile is also a good idea, especially if you need picking up somewhere.
    Because my Casa is a small villa and the lounge, dining area and kitchen are open plan (based on the local 'torre' design to provide cooler air in summer) I prefer to take single workaways only.
    Having taken workaways, including couples, for the last 11 years I find it much easier to live and work on a one to one basis.
    I believe in keeping fit both phisically and mentally and so take regular exercise including starting the day by walking up the local mountain!

  • Idiomas hablados

    Inglés: Fluido
    Español: Fluido
    Francés: Fluido
    Alemán: Principiante

  • Alojamiento

    Alojamiento

    Own room plus access to internet and TV.

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    Excellent walking from September to April in the local Sierras so bring along your hiking gear!
    Spanish classes can be arranged in the nearby by town of Torre del Mar.
    Nearest main bus station in Torre del Mar-good service to all major tourist sites and cities in Andalucía, Madrid and the rest of Spain/Europe.
    Good birdwatching nearby in Sierras de Tejida y Almijara, Montes de Malaga and (4h drive/bus) Cota Donana, Spain's top National Park
    Good rail connections especially on the fast Ave train from Malaga mainline station.

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Uno

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    5 hours per working day of the week:- 9am until approx. 2pm. Weekends free.










Número de referencia de anfitrión: 4734238794a3