Help with gardening at our family place in Hawaii, United States

Country

Estados Unidos

51 “me gusta”


  • rating

    Evaluación del anfitrión

  • feedbacks

    Comentarios

  • last activity

    Última actividad

    21/07/2021

  • Last email replied

    Porcentaje de respuesta

    93.9 %

  • Last email replied

    Responde en:

    ≤ 3 dias

  • Medallas

 
  2021 
E
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descripción

    Descripción

    We are a couple on a 1-acre plot in Puna, 12 miles from Hilo and between Keaau and Pahoa. The house is 16 years old and surrounded by beautiful tropical vegetation. The ocean is over 3 miles away, but can be barely seen from one porch, while Mauna Kea is visible from another on a clear day. Dead-end but well-maintained street so there is little traffic, yet very close to a major highway.

    There are no good places to visit within walking distance, but by bus or car you can easily reach Volcano National Park, Lava Tree State Park, a couple of parks and beaches in lower Puna, and several swimming holes/tidal pools in Hilo. We have a free pass into Volcano NP and we could take guests there during your visits. There are a few beaches north of Hilo, along with several incredible waterfalls and nature hikes, although all the most desirable beaches on the island are on the west (Kona) side. There are many hiking trails of various lengths both up the mountains and down to the shores in almost all directions, and some fresh lava sites from the 2018 eruption are a must-see.

    We enjoy having visitors, and have in the past taken in travelers through the couchsurfing and home exchange sites. We are new to workaway, but see it as another opportunity for visitors to come with a slightly more formalized set of expectations for how they can contribute to our household.

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Jardinería
    Cuidado de animales
    Cocinar para toda la familia
    Ayuda doméstica
    Mantenimiento general

  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Our own cultural background is the boring Midwest USA, but there is vast diversity in our region of Hawaii and we encourage visitors to explore it more thoroughly in their visit. Scott is an independent scholar in philosophy, also interested in science & history, Jennifer is a homemaker involved with crafts and cooking; we are both interested in progressive politics and humanistic values. If you a Trumpian conspiracy theorist, we advise you to look elsewhere; LGBTQ & allies will find a warm welcome.

  • Ayuda

    Ayuda

    Most help required is fairly basic (unskilled): cutting and moving around unwanted trees/brush, relocating rocks, clearing moss and other vegetation off of volcanic rocks, etc. Some experience with tropical trees is desired but not essential. A good masseuse would be welcome, as would someone to share with cooking and house cleaning.

  • Idiomas hablados

    Inglés: Fluido

  • Alojamiento

    Alojamiento

    Private bedroom with a king bed, shared use of a kitchen/dining area. We will provide all your meals or food for you to make your own; if you have specialized diet/tastes there are farmer's markets within walking distance. We prefer couples or friends who can share a bed to maximize use of the space.

    We require all visitors to be fully vaccinated (last shot 14+ days before arrival). If you are, but find Hawaii's travel rules (which still require negative covid tests) difficult to meet, you can come here and "quarantine" at the house as our guest for 10 days, staying on the property while doing yard work, after which you can take a break and see some sights.

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    We are close to bus lines, however they only run about every 80-120 minutes and somewhat irregularly, so you must prepare for long waits and familiarize yourself with the schedules and routes. We may sometimes provide transportation to local sites of historic, cultural, geological, or aesthetic interest for exploring these together.

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    Fairly reliable internet. That is, it works ~99% of the time, but it does go down once in a while for 20-30 seconds, always coming back on automatically.

  • Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    Parking space close to electrical outlets, though you'd have to come inside for water.

  • Podría aceptar mascotas

    Podría aceptar mascotas

    Must be compatible w/ feral chickens.

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Más de dos

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    4 hours/day, 20 hours/week.




Número de referencia de anfitrión: 464984485752