Advise, coach, teach and inspire local staff to create a warm and welcome environment in Taolagnaro, Madagascar

Country

Madagascar

39 “me gusta”


  • rating

    Evaluación del anfitrión

  • feedbacks

    Comentarios

    -

  • last activity

    Última actividad

    27/09/2022

  • Last email replied

    Porcentaje de respuesta

    81.8 %

  • Last email replied

    Responde en:

    ≤ 9 dias

  • Medallas

    Facebook verified
 
  2022 

 Estancia mínima:  Al menos un mes

E
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descripción

    Descripción

    We are a Malagasy, American, and French family with two kids living at home (ages 6 & 7) and two older kids (15 & 18) in the USA. We speak English, French, and Malagasy. Here in Madagascar, we run several businesses, including a Guest House & a Cafe Bar. Our goal is to bring the experience of American Hospitality to our guests, think a YMCA camp or a Coworking Space, or your favorite neighborhood cafe -- a place where our guests can count on good food, service, and feel at home.

    We'd love to add more fresh items (smoothies, salads, tacos, wraps) to our menu, and have a restaurant garden. However, our local staff has never experienced this -- we'd love to have a younger person with experience working in a cafe or smoothie shop, someone who loves to cook (you don't need to be a chef, but just enjoy recipes) with some management, hotel, hospitality, gardening, and or teaching experience -- to join us for a minimum of 4 weeks (current visitor visa to Madagascar is two months). We'd provide room and board and local minimum wage when you work with our staff.

    We are fully staffed (servers and kitchen) so you will not be doing the work of one of our employees, but rather supporting them to understand "American style" friendly service and Fresh & Cal-Mex type recipes. We envison role-playing how to greet customers the first time, teaching phrases in English, experimenting with some recipes (and trying them out together). You might watch "how-to recipes" on YouTube together or you could start growing lettuce in a box or come up with other ideas.

    You can surf, bike, play tennis or basketball, enjoy the beaches, and explore in your free time.

    We live on a large property (several acres) in the center of town with an ocean view, a basketball terrain, gardens, two bungalows, a tree house, and a large building with two apartments downstairs and our "penthouse" upstairs. Just joking -- it's an American-style ranch house built on the second floor. We have a large open kitchen, fully equipped, three bedrooms, and two bathrooms. You'd share a toilet/shower with the kids. We have two house cats, two friendly dogs, and various other wildlife that pass through, from chameleons to geckos. We rent out our bungalows, tree house, and lower apartments to other guests. The Cafe Bar is onsite and has a garage and office/coworking space.

    Alison is a professional business and life coach who works remotely with corporate and private clients worldwide. Yves is a retired Special Forces soldier who operates tours, manages construction projects, and more. We both oversee operations of the bar but need someone with energy and new ideas that can inspire and teach our cafe & bar staff. We have a housekeeper/nanny who manages the house/kids from 9 am to 6 pm Monday to Friday and a staff member who cleans the bar and guest lodgings and does laundry and ironing.

    We would love to have someone who can integrate as a family member for the time you are here.

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Proyectos artísticos
    Práctica de idiomas
    Ayuda en proyectos ecológicos
    Jardinería
    Ayuda en una granja
    Cuidado de niños y juegos creativos
    Cocinar para toda la familia
    Ayuda doméstica
    Hostelería/turismo

  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Improve French or English language skills (depending on your native language). Learn Malagasy. Appreciate the cultural diversity in the South of Madagascar, alongside a deep appreciation for the extreme poverty that exists here and the lack of educational and professional development opportunities for natives of the region. You can certainly put the experience on your work resume and your resume of life -- Alison was a professional resume writer in a previous life and can make sure that you take away from this experience a useful professional narr

  • Proyectos con niños

    Proyectos con niños

    En este proyecto podría haber niños. Para obtener más información, consulta nuestras directrices y consejos aquí.

  • Ayuda

    Ayuda

    Can you become an overnight expert? Are you proactive and a doer? Are you someone that jumps in and lends a hand (respectfully, not critically)? We'd love to teach our staff to make wraps, quinoa salad, Mexican-style tacos, and other fresh items. We'd like them to see how to provide amazing service as waiters/waitresses. We'd love someone who loves to make and share good food, who is not timid or shy, self-confidence is a must.

    On an average day, we could imagine that you wake up and go for a surf or a run, you come back and check on the staff cleaning an apartment, and at mid-day, you hang out with the kids while we wait for lunch. In the afternoon maybe you read a book or go to the beach, try out a new recipe with the staff, or visit the market for fresh ingredients. In the evening, you might coach the staff in our Cafe Bar, watching where you see you can provide proactive feedback, chatting with customers, or taste-testing a new recipe.

    We are also open to someone who loves kids, art, and classical dance or another sport (tennis, swimming, basketball, etc) and that loves to cook fresh recipes but doesn't necessarily have restaurant experience. You could still teach our staff new recipes, hold a classical dance workshop or run other kid-friendly activities. Not sure? Reach out and we can chat to see if we are a good fit.

  • Idiomas

    Idiomas hablados
    Inglés: Fluido
    Francés: Fluido
    Malagasy: Fluido

    Este anfitrión ofrece intercambio de idiomas
    We speak English, French, and Malagasy (Anosy). We are happy to have you improve your English or French, we are curious to learn Asian Languages, Spanish, German, Nordic languages...

  • Alojamiento

    Alojamiento

    Bedroom with a desk, a double bed, and an ocean view. Shared toilet/shower. Access to the kitchen, living room, terrace, and grounds. In the morning you can prepare your own breakfast, at noon we eat a Malagasy meal prepared by the housekeeper, or you could offer to cook your favorite dish. In the evening we either eat leftovers from lunch, order pizza, eat in the Cafe, or cook something -- you can also jump in here from time to time. We are flexible. We are omnivores that said, Alison leans toward vegetarianism and Yves leans towards carnivore. The kids would live on bacon, pasta, and Vietnamese spring rolls if we let them.

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    Our town is walkable, there are taxis and bajaj (tuk-tuk), we have a bicycle you could use. Car rental and Quad rental is possible, but they are expensive (terrible roads) and 4x4 rental will include a driver. We mostly get around by foot, taxi, quad, or occasionally car. You can see rainforest and dessert in the same day here -- there are opportunities to hike, camp, surf, kayak, and visit lemurs.

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    Our town is a Fibre optic entry point/hub to Madagscar and our location is in the center of town, which means we usually have a minimum of 15 MB and usually more than that. Alison works remotely and spends 3 to 5 hours on video calls per day (and has since 2018). We keep a backup dongle for times that the electricity goes out and the router is not powered. This is rare, but not impossible due to weather events or other unplanned events. We have wifi available at nearly all points on our large property, with individual routers in the house, cafe bar and the office. You can also get a monthly data plan for less than $20 USD.

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Uno

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    5 hours a day, 5 days a week


Número de referencia de anfitrión: 445846547937