Come and join us for a sailing adventure in Clear Lake, Texas, USA or Mexico.



 Estancia mínima:  Al menos 2 semanas



  • Descripción


    If you are looking for some sailing experience before the fall, I take my boat out at least once a week. So if you are doing a workaway that is local or thinking joining me for the adventure of sailing in Mexico, come join for an afternoon out in the bay. I love teaching people to sail. No experience needed. Until setting back to our other boat on the southern Pacific side of Mexico, this is one day afternoon thing.

    Sailing north in Mexico up to the sea of Cortez after finishing maintenance. After that ether setting sail west across the Pacific or north to Alaska and then next year the Pacific. Then island hop over to Australia. I plan to visit my sister and her family in Thailand and spend a few months sailing around with them. Will need help sailing and fixing things on the boat. looking for a two week minimum commitment. For the longer ocean jumps minimum time will be port to port.

    I sold my 43 foot Gulfstar sailboat and my girlfriend and I bought a Slocum 43 sailboat, so new projects!!! The boat is down in marina chiapas in mexico.

    When departure time gets closer, I'll make a full list of gear, supplies and such on board. I'm still making list of what to buy. But important things being a dive compressor...

    As for the trip, the jump up Mexico will take around three weeks. I will be close to shore so getting on or off the boat will not be a problem. I can't give exact schedule as the weather dictates much of what we can do. If we are doing boat work, I will be covering on board boat costs. Anything onshore will be your responsibility. If we are just having fun, we'll have discuss costs.

    Over the past three years, a friend and I, plus a number of workawayers, have been working on the boat, a 56ft sailing catamaran and a 44ft monohull. We have been slowly fixing the boats while exploring the Caribbean. Main projects are done. My friend is off adventuring on the 44 for the next year or two in the Pacific. The big boat is off in the Bahamas with a lovely couple running the boat in charter. I may be doing some things with the big catamaran and be looking for help. If that interests you, send me a message on that.

    I have been back in Texas fixing up family rental property. My education... Graduate studies in organic chemistry and genetic. Past decade been traveling the world, much of it done while sailing. My first transatlantic trip was 13 years ago on a 30 foot sailboat. The past four years been sailing in the caribbean.

    During our free time, we like scuba diving, exploring the islands, going on hikes up the volcanoes and hanging out at beach bars. I have some friends and family that will by flying out to join for a few weeks from time to time.

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Proyectos artísticos
    Práctica de idiomas
    Ayuda en proyectos ecológicos
    Construcción y bricolaje
    Cocinar para toda la familia
    Ayuda doméstica
    Mantenimiento general
    Ayuda informática
  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    I expect you to leave here with the ability to fix engines, cook amazing food and the skills to sail a boat. We will likely also be doing fiberglass and wood work. If you scuba dive, there are so many amazing places to see on this trip. We will be visiting several countries on our travels.

  • Ayuda


    Looking for people ready to get their hands dirty to keep a boat sailing. I'm happy to teach anything you want to learn how to do on the boat. It is an extensive project list. You will be helping with cooking and cleaning daily- foodies appreciated! You'll also get lots of sailing time when we start sailing north.
    There is a bit of fiberglass work to be done. The boat has been pulled out of the water to sand things smooth and then paint the bottom. We are also replacing chain plates and some mechanical work. If we have time will do a little wood work and painting top side too. Will be looking to get the boat back in the water as soon as we can and then do work while under way between having fun.

    What I require of you: Must be able to swim. Reasonably fit. Can cook well, like good. Cool with eating fish. Lots of fish. Your relationship status with sea sickness can't be bad or worse. Passport, obviously. You play well with others. Pull your weight with ship duties. And you must follow orders. Also, this is work away, not a holiday. You are expected to learn and help.

    Most importantly, being a clean and tidy person is paramount in our small floating house. If you have unwashed dishes in your sink at this moment, you're probably not a good fit.
    I am not looking for some one with experience. No experience is best. All I'm looking for is hard work and a determination to learn new skills.

    If you are into video editing and photography that would be a plus!

  • Idiomas hablados

    Inglés: Fluido

  • Alojamiento


    About Slocum 43: she is an ocean going 43 foot Slocum ketch rigged monohull. She has two cabins, one bathrooms, a kitchen, living room, and large cockpit. You may not have your own cabin but the solon hast a big comfy bunk and the v birth has bunk beds. So no sharing needed. Preference to the cabin is given to crew with most time on board.

    More specifics: Fridges, freezer, stoves, ovens, air conditioners (though we hardly use) water maker. Our power is provided by solar, so there will be a bit of a leaning curve for being efficient.

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    Time off is mostly spent swimming, hiking, scuba diving... Will rent a car from time to time. We may not have internet on the boat all of the time, so a love of reading is good. We also watch movies from time to time on the boat.

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    Most of the time there will be internet available. Might be a few days a week where we don't.

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?


  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    2-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Número de referencia de anfitrión: 443868571121



Home Stay in Asheville, North Carolina, USA
Help out at our non-profit museum and hostel in Little Rock, Arkansas, USA