Help with some restoration of my stone cottage in County Sligo, Ireland

Country

Irlanda

actualizado  

816 “me gusta”


  • rating

    Evaluación del anfitrión

  • feedbacks

    Comentarios

    11  

  • last activity

    Última actividad

    21/01/2021

  • Medallas

    Super Host
 
  2021 

 Estancia mínima:  Al menos 2 semanas

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descripción

    Descripción

    Greetings fellow travellers!

    My name's Daniel, and I've been a volunteer since 2012. I recently purchased a hundred-year-old stone cottage in County Sligo on the west coast of Ireland. I'm now looking for enthusiastic volunteers to assist me in restoring it and developing the one acre of land into a permaculture smallholding.

    The cottage (pictured) needs a great deal of work before it's habitable, so accommodation will be in a small caravan on site, or, if you're feeling adventurous, a private tent. You will need a willingness to live a simple outdoor life for the duration of your stay. There is electricity on site for phone and laptop charging, as well as mobile internet, but it's not what you'll be used to in a city. Water is gathered by hand from a natural spring, and the nearest neighbour is a kilometre away (apart from the mooing variety).

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Práctica de idiomas
    Ayuda en proyectos ecológicos
    Enseñanza
    Jardinería
    Proyectos de construcción y bricolaje
    Cuidado de animales
    Ayuda en una granja
    Cocinar para toda la familia
    Ayuda doméstica
    Mantenimiento general

  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    The cottage is situated close to Lough Gara (pictured) and a short drive from the Curlew mountains (also pictured). It's surrounded by rural countryside, wild moorland and forestry (great for walking). The ocean is an hour's drive west, but I'm an avid explorer of beaches and coastline, so there will be occasional opportunities for adventure if you're interested in tagging along (weather dependent). The local village, with a population of less than a hundred, is a fifteen minute hike down the road. You'll find a welcoming pub, a village shop and a post office, but very little else.

    I have a small two-person canoe, which I love to take out exploring during down-time. If you're feeling brave, and it's a particularly hot day, then Lough Gara is great for wild swimming! I also have a bicycle, which I'd be happy to lend you if you'd like to venture out on your own. Lough Key Forest Park and the megalithic tombs on Carrowkeel mountain are about an hour's bike ride away. Ballaghaderreen is the nearest town - about a thirty minute bike ride away. There you'll find restaurants, supermarkets, and a great many quaint little shops with brightly-coloured facades that sell things you probably won't find anywhere else (or indeed have any use for).

    I'm looking for helpers (one or two at a time) and can pick you up from Sligo or Roscommon, which are connected to Dublin, Galway and other major towns by bus and train. Alternatively, Knock airport is just thirty minutes drive from the cottage, so if you're flying directly to western Ireland then I can pick you up straight from the airport.

    The ideal volunteer would be someone looking for a peaceful environment with a lot of time for reflection (reading, writing, drawing, etc), who loves animals, and has a personal interest in vegetable-growing and permaculture, or at least a preference for helping outside and getting their hands dirty. Bonus points for an interest in house restoration, or even applicable skills, but it's not necessary. A good level of basic fitness is important, as you will be on your feet most of the day. Wellies (rubber boots) are a requirement (it gets very muddy here), as is a waterproof coat. Flip-flops are optional... :)

    All the best on your adventure, and do get in touch if you're interested in visiting me.

  • Ayuda

    Ayuda

    The tasks will be varied, depending on the weather and your area of interest. Don't worry about a lack of expertise. Over the warmer months there's plenty to do outside: planting, weeding, landscaping, harvesting, etc, and it will be a great opportunity for anyone interested in horticulture to learn first-hand as I'm always happy to share what knowledge I have. Then there's the animals to tend to; pigs, ducks, chickens, rabbits, and more on the way. And I'm also focused on restoration work on the cottage, which volunteers are welcome to assist me with, but bear in mind this is unskilled work, and I'm certainly not looking for professionals. And of course there's always basic tasks, like cooking, cleaning, washing, etc. You'll have two full days off per week. Food is included; it's basic stuff, but a great deal of it is home-grown from the veg and herb garden. Expect to see plenty of stars... and perhaps a few clouds (this is Ireland after all).

    In time I'll develop the land further, planting hazel trees for nuts/coppicing, blueberry bushes, building poly-tunnels, keeping rabbits and bees for honey. Moderate self-sufficiency is my goal, but with an acre of land (about the size of a football pitch) I can't get too ambitious! There'll certainly be no herds of alpaca (more's the pity, I love animals).

  • Idiomas hablados

    English: Fluido
    French: Principiante

  • Alojamiento

    Alojamiento

    A log cabin on site, custom built for volunteers (as of May 2020), with a private bed, shared bathroom/kitchen/living space.

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    I'm a published writer by trade and have some experience teaching English, so if you'd like to practise and improve your language skills whilst here then I'd be glad to help.

    Oh, and if you're a vegetarian I can easily accommodate you, as I only eat fish, and then only from sustainable sources, so it's a rare treat. If you're a strict vegan then you may have to do a little extra cooking yourself, and either make do with a simpler diet, or buy some extras (like almond milk, vegan cheese, etc, which are very expensive here), but I promise you'll still eat. :)

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Dos

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

This is where you'll be staying; a little caravan I renovated in the autumn.
Moss on a winter walk.
December 2017. Here you can see the cottage, caravan, and outbuildings on a rare snow-covered day.
My latest project, built in spring 2017.
The veg garden, plus a few brave volunteers camping in the summer.
Moss as a pup admiring the view from the nearby Curlew mountains.
Our local walking haunt on a rare sunny day in spring!
A kayaking trip on the nearby river Lung.
My half acre vegetable garden as it was back in the summer.
Me and Mosschops on top of a mountain!

Son opciones de calificación adicionales para cuando los miembros dejan sus comentarios. Se muestra la calificación media dejada en cada opción.

Precisión del perfil: (5.0)

Intercambio cultural: (5.0)

Comunicación: (5.0)








Número de referencia de anfitrión: 437944469456