Help us with care of goats and aviaries in North Auckland, New Zealand.

Country

Nueva Zelanda

364 “me gusta”


  • rating

    Evaluación del anfitrión

  • feedbacks

    Comentarios

    36  

  • last activity

    Última actividad

    19/05/2022

  • Last email replied

    Porcentaje de respuesta

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Responde en:

    ≤ 1 dia

  • Medallas

    Top Host
 
  2022 

 Estancia mínima:  Al menos 2 semanas

E
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descripción

    Descripción

    Please read our profile and only apply if you have the skills we need, especially the ability to work with birds.

    We have a 10-acre lifestyle block in North Auckland, 5 mins from main highway north, about 30 mins from central city.
    With one double bedroom available, it would suit a couple or a single person. The bathroom is shared, so being clean and tidy is a must.

    We mainly keep angora goats and many aviary birds along with sheep, cattle and a few chickens. We are part of a hedgehog rescue network and currently have around 30 in care. We also have two working dogs that are part of the family.

    We would like some one that is knowledgeable, or at least not scared of, many different types of aviary birds. You will be shown what is needed but you will have to be confident around the birds, some are large and can seem intimidating.
    A strong willingness and enthusiasm to learn will be an advantage.
    You will be expected to be diligent and caring regarding their needs. Feel free to contact me for more details.

    There are many different jobs that we need your help with, some are hard, others easy, nearly all require you to get a little dirty. Some will require you to be physically fit and strong also.

    You will be expected to be a self-starter, very responsible and have great initiative. Enthusiasm to learn is a must for us.

    Some of your daily tasks would be to help care for the birds in the morning, in the afternoon there is the cleaning and feeding of the rescued hedgehogs in our care.
    There is also cleaning of the aviaries, helping with the goats when needed regarding drenching and foot trimming, fencing, mowing the small lawn we have, gardening and weeding, planting trees (at the right time of year,) line trimming where needed, spraying the paddocks for reeds, sorting through "stuff" stored for far too long. These are by no means all that we have as jobs but just a variety, as all lifestyle blocks have.
    As there are many jobs, they will be chosen depending on your abilities and the time of year.

    We do sometimes have kids, they are normally very friendly but they all have 4 legs and are covered in mohair fleece.

    15 mins drive from Orewa and it's beaches and shops, 5 mins drive from Silverdale shopping centre and supermarkets. We do have some amazing walks and parks nearby, Shakespear Park and Okura- Stillwater walk to name a couple. Plenty of beaches for chilling or swimming. We can point you in the right direction or, if we have the time, join you to let you know what you are seeing.

    Own transport preferred but, when convenient, we can drop to local buses during reasonable hours.

    We also have 27 acres in Wellsford where we may require some fencing and spraying done from time to time.

    Free WIFI with reasonable usage. This does not include watching movies or downloading podcasts as we do not have unlimited access.

    Water is collected on our roof so careful usage will be appreciated, especially if we have not had rain for a while. During the summer months, this will be strictly monitored.

    During your time with us we will treat you as part of the family, not as unpaid labourers, and would like you to behave as such. This will mean you would be expected to help with the meal, clearing the table and washing the dishes.

    We eat a variety of foods and enjoy cooking but please feel free to take over the kitchen if you have the skills.

    If you have read this far, you could be the person/people we are looking for.
    Please make sure you start your email off with these words "Kia ora koutou" to ensure you understand what we are requiring and what you are heading to.

    Special diets. eg vegan, vegetarian and gluten free are not catered for as we are predominantly meat eaters.

    Non-smokers only.

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Jardinería
    Mantenimiento general
    Cocinar para toda la familia
    Ayuda en una granja
    Ayuda doméstica
    Cuidado de animales
    Ayuda con ordenadores/Internet

  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    We have many skills they can learn, caring for birds, hand feeding young birds, goat handling and care, hedgehog care and many other task common to all lifestyle blocks.

  • Proyectos con niños

    Proyectos con niños

    En este proyecto podría haber niños. Para obtener más información, consulta nuestras directrices y consejos aquí.

  • Ayuda

    Ayuda

    We mainly need help with outside chores and projects, some fencing, tree planting (at the right time). Sometimes we need assistance with the care of our angora goats.

  • Idiomas hablados

    Inglés: Fluido

  • Alojamiento

    Alojamiento

    Double bed in own room, shared bathroom in our home. You will be part of the family during your stay here.

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    We are close to the bus stops and can drop off or collect when convenient.

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    Este anfitrión puede proporcionar un sitio para autocaravanas.

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Dos

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

























Número de referencia de anfitrión: 455624356464