English speaker to help with digital projects as part of my desert tourism project in Wadi Rum Village, Jordan



34 “me gusta”

  • rating

    Evaluación del anfitrión

  • feedbacks


  • last activity

    Última actividad


  • Last email replied

    Porcentaje de respuesta

    84.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Responde en:

    ≤ 3 dias

  • Medallas

    Good Host
  • Descripción


    I'm Zead. I'm a Bedouin from Wadi Rum Village where I grew up and am now living with my family. I work in tourism. We run a traditional Bedouin camp for visitors. There's much to be seen and done, as we are providing desert tours as well.
    Our life is all about giving the guests in our camp the best experience of Wadi Rum. This includes guiding sightseeing tours, hiking or scrambling tours, taking tourists on hikes through the desert and sleeping under the stars.
    We will be happy to take you with us during these activities, so you get the chance to see the Wadi Rum not from the tourist's perspective, but from the Bedouin's.

    For you, staying here is an opportunity to get to know the modern Bedouin life. It's a look at our life most tourists won't get to see.
    The south of Jordan, where the Wadi Rum protected area is located, is one of the most beautiful places on earth, I think. The cultural value as well as the stunning landscape are fantastic.

    Jordanians are very hospitable and we are always happy to host guests and welcome them into our life. So do I.
    My family and me would love to have you as a guest and show you around the area. It is a place far from civilization, but there is still much to discover.
    In the village, we've got all the amenities you would need. There are two restaurants, a few grocery shops, a barber and a hardware store.

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Ayuda con ordenadores/Internet

  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    When you are a guest at my house, you are one of us!
    We will treat you like family and you can live the life we are living. Also, I will take you on the tours so you can explore the Wadi Rum area, go hiking or climbing and see my friends and family. This will give you a very personal insight in our day to day life and Muslim culture.
    You can join us for celebrations, prayers or just for tea at our friend's house.
    I've got many family members who are always as happy as I am to show you our culture or teach you a few words of Arabic.
    Maybe you would like to learn how to bind a Kufiyah or how to cook local dishes.
    Just join our everyday life and soak in the modern Bedouin lifestyle.

    Two of my uncles are still living very traditionally in the desert. They have camels, goats and sheep which they let roam around the area in search of food. We are visiting them whenever we've got no work to do in the village. You can get to know the tradtional nomad lifestyle that many of my grandfathers were still living not even 50 years ago.

  • Ayuda


    I am very experienced in hospitality for tourists and doing tours around the desert, it's the technical side where I'm struggling.
    Therefore, I need help in creating and maintaining an online presence for my business. Everything from creating a website to setting up and teaching me how to maintain profiles on various booking platforms.
    You do not have to be an expert in IT or a SEO manager, it's enough if you can help me out with the very basics of doing these sorts of things.

    Your skills should include:
    - English
    - basic to advanced computer knowledge
    - driving (not necessary)

    Also, you can help me in the camp or with guiding the tours. There are normal sightseeing tours as well as hiking and scrambling tours. If you feel fit enough to help me or my family members guide a 6-8 hour hiking tour up a mountain, we are happy to see you join.
    Helping to guide these tours means helping to carry amenities like lunch, water or tea, as well as taking pictures of tourists if they wish so and generally taking care of them to make their time here as pleasurable as it can be.

    If you wish to help us with the camp or the tours, you should be:
    - speaking English
    - be nice and welcoming to people (experience in hospitality is not necessary)
    - openminded
    - able to learn some basic facts about the region

  • Idiomas

    Idiomas hablados
    Árabe: Fluido
    Inglés: Intermedio

    Este anfitrión ofrece intercambio de idiomas
    I would love to exchange language skills. My English always needs some polishing and I'm very happy to teach you a few words of Arabic. Although I'm no teacher, so please don't expect to be fluent in Arabic after visiting me. I'm also speaking the regional dialect of the Bedouins. It is similar to Arabic, but not quite the same. If you are already speaking Arabic, I can teach you my dialect.

  • Alojamiento


    You will stay in the guest room, that is separated from my house. It's a typical Bedouin den with carpet and pillows. There's normally no bed in the room, however we can provide one in just a few minutes. The room has a heater and air-conditioning.
    There is an bathroom outside of the room with a squat toilet and shower. Unfortunately there is no hot water.

    Don't worry about food, my family provide breakfast, dinner and lunch. If you would still like to have something else, there is a small corner store right across the street.
    We are a traditional Muslim family so my family will usually cook and I will bring it to you. We will try our best if you are vegetarian. There is also one simple cheap restaurant in the village. You will not be hungry during your stay with us!

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    The Wadi Rum area is filled with many interesting sights and places to visit. You can join the tourist tours for free, go hiking or climbing and explore the desert. We can also do Sandboarding on the sand dunes.
    If you have a drivers license, you can take my car and go around the village or desert by yourself. When my friends or family are having a celebration or come together for tea, feel free to join us.
    You can also come with us when we are going to Aqaba, which is 40km from the Wadi Rum village. There's a bus or taxi as well if you want to experience the city alone. In Aqaba, there are a few shops, a beach and activities like snorkeling or diving.

    Other than that, I've got wifi, so you can keep yourself entertained with that.

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    There is actually a very good internet connection in Wadi Rum. Although it's no broadband internet. We've got a 4G Transmission tower right in the middle of our village. My home Wi-Fi runs on 4G as well and you can also use your mobile phone as a hotspot. Mobile phone data is very cheap in Jordan. Around 15-20 JOD for a sim card with 40GB of data and 4G connection.

  • Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    There is enough parking space in front of my house to set up a camper van or caravan. Although, it may be a little tight in the street, depending on the size of the vehicle. I can provide electricity for the camper if needed.

  • Podría aceptar mascotas

    Podría aceptar mascotas

    Tell me before bringing an Elephant, we might have to talk about that!

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Más de dos

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    Maximum 3-4 hours a day, 5 days a week

Son opciones de calificación adicionales para cuando los miembros dejan sus comentarios. Se muestra la calificación media dejada en cada opción.

Precisión del perfil: (5.0)

Intercambio cultural: (5.0)

Comunicación: (5.0)

Número de referencia de anfitrión: 697938968126