Help with gardening and get to know the local people in Thanamalwila, Sri Lanka

Country

Sri Lanka

15 “me gusta”


  • rating

    Evaluación del anfitrión

  • feedbacks

    Comentarios

    -

  • last activity

    Última actividad

    01/12/2022

  • Last email replied

    Porcentaje de respuesta

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Responde en:

    ≤ 1 dia

 
  2022 
E
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descripción

    Descripción

    We built this two story building as an escape for my father who’s a Buddhist monk. He has not stayed longer but he knows that the place is available if he wants to come. This place is located in Thanamalwila area in the center of a two acres farm land. It’s equipped with a patio, bathroom, and tiled floor. Great for a couple to live and do some gardening. There’s a River just a block away. 10 min to Lunugamwehera Safari.

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Trabajo de caridad

  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Travelers would have a place to stay, enjoy a meal, and travel to nearby safari, and beach areas in Hambantota. Travelers will immediately notice the simple nature of the place as it is initially built for my dad who is a Theravada Buddhist monk. This is basically his place of living when he is visiting the town. It is newly constructed to make it look like a simple monk lodging upstairs. However, the place in itself is not a temple. No monks are living in it. There is a temple in the village too, and travelers can explore the local temple and observe its functions and shrines. Additionally, travelers have the opportunity to visit Buduruwagala temple just two towns away, nearly 34 km from Thanamalwila where the house is based. Buduruwagala is an ancient buddhist temple in Sri Lanka. The complex consists of seven statues and belongs to the Mahayana school of thought. The statues date back to the 10th century.
    A workawayer would see that the place is not a cultural center. It is simply located in a village in Sri Lanka. The locals are born Buddhists, that means, they do not practice much of Buddhism at all. They don't speak English. They are not in a tourist town. A small number of locals visit the temple to offer meals daily as their turn comes. There is a school nearby: the Kithulkote School. Workawayer can visit the school and converse with the English teacher and volunteer to teach English if they feel like doing so. No obligation. Anything else, please email and ask, I will be happy to provide details as needed.

  • Proyectos con niños

    Proyectos con niños

    En este proyecto podría haber niños. Para obtener más información, consulta nuestras directrices y consejos aquí.

  • Ayuda

    Ayuda

    Gardening, watering plans and socializing with the villagers

  • Idiomas

    Idiomas hablados
    Inglés: Fluido

    Este anfitrión ofrece intercambio de idiomas
    I speak Sinhalese and English, any other language is welcome

  • Alojamiento

    Alojamiento

    Upstairs room with an attached bathroom and a patio. Local food will be cooked and be provided as the need. All 3 meals can be provided. Rotie, rice, and curries, bread, butter, pancakes, sweet potatoes, beans, lentils, pasta, spaghetti will be the options. Travelers can also prepare their own food in the kitchen. There are local shops within 5 km radius to buy vegetables and prepare a fresh meal.

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    Downstairs is occupied by family that’s hosting. A wife and husband, and their toddler

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    Got to have internet sorted, once that is done, for sure

  • Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    Este anfitrión puede proporcionar un sitio para autocaravanas.

  • Podría aceptar mascotas

    Podría aceptar mascotas

    Este anfitrión dice que acepta a viajeros con mascotas.

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Más de dos

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week


Número de referencia de anfitrión: 433371386141