Fun tiny house project in Ballater, the Cairngorms Scotland, UK

Country

Gran Bretaña

actualizado  

421 “me gusta”


  • rating

    Evaluación del anfitrión

  • feedbacks

    Comentarios

    24  

  • last activity

    Última actividad

    01/12/2021

  • Last email replied

    Porcentaje de respuesta

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Responde en:

    ≤ 7 dias

  • Medallas

    Top Host
 
  2021 

 Estancia mínima:  1 mes o más

E
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descripción

    Descripción

    Hi, our names are Bess & Karl

    Karl is a fully trained carpenter with over 15 years experience in the building trade. I have recently stopped working on other peoples projects for a simple way of life. I have given up setting alarms in the morning and instead wake up with the sun if my body is ready to, I like the idea of working with the daylight and seasons. After creating a holiday let business out of the house I built for myself a number of years ago, I live in my old camper for over a 2 years and feel its time to use the skills i have developed to build my very own tiny house. I would like this to be a fun project. There are also lots of other projects that I'm looking for help with, so it will depend on when you come as to what we will be work, (van conversion, maintaining the garden, building shelves, and general improvements around the property, eco pod).

    In my spare time i enjoy cycling, rock climbing, kayaking, yoga and Wim Hoff, going to the river 5 days for a quick breathing exercise and a dip :P . Im 36 and Bess is 30. I would describe myself as passionate, driven, soft, caring, cheeky and understanding, I can also be a little stubborn at times. Feel free to email us and ask anything you would like to know.

    NOTE - We are looking for a couple people to tick things over during the winter months, this could be someone looking to work on thier projects like a camper conversion - We will be taking a little winter break from December to March and will carry on with workaway then, if your interested in staying from March time please send a message.

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Ayuda en proyectos ecológicos
    Jardinería
    Proyectos de construcción y bricolaje
    Cocinar para toda la familia
    Ayuda doméstica
    Mantenimiento general
    Ayuda con ordenadores/Internet

  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    I have traveled on and off in my 20s and love meeting new people and exstrang stories and experiences. Some of my highlights have to be volunteering in the Philippines, driving the Hai Van Pass in Vietnam on a old moped and down hill mountain biking in Whistler Canada. I'm open minded and do love deep conversions from time to time, thats not to say that every conversion has to be deep. Unfortunately my langues skills are basic, i only speak English tho i would love to be able to learn a new language. however when it comes to building i will be able to teach you lots and lots. I also love talking about life. Your likely get to know and be welcomed into my family, my brother and my retired parents live just along the road. I have had one previous Workawayer stay but not throw this website, He was walking past when i was building a composing toilet we got chatting and he ended up coming back a few weeks latter and stayed 2months. He also joined us for part of our family holiday in Spain at the start of this year, with his new girlfriend. (Just shows me i never know whats goin to happen in life)

  • Ayuda

    Ayuda

    We have had workawayers since May 2020 and have a great time, we have had over 17 people stay with us and each have their own experience. We will normally have between 3/5 people stay with us, (preferably) for a minimum of 4 weeks which creates a little community.

    We each take it in turns to cook, and do the washing up and keeping the communal areas clean and tidy, so if there are 6 people here then it would be 1 in 6 days. We do eat plant based and try to keep our food pantry stocked with as much exciting ingredients as possible, and of course keeping a good supply of crumpets and personal requests.

    The days are structured, where we currently start at 830 and finish at 2, this gives people the opportunity to have the afternoon to themselves especially when the daylight is limited.


    Currently as I'm writing this the jobs that are in progress are: building tiny house interior and Eco pods, running cables for plugs, putting in a driveway, van conversion, chainsawing wood, building a 30m fence, Recent projects have been building desks from scaffold battens, designing and painting a cottage, laying laminate flooring in a caravan, digging trenches for water runaways, building an outside shower

    In springtime the garden will be needing some love and lots of attention :)

    Skills
    We are looking for people who have intermediate DIY skills, foraging, wood working; people who take responsibility for cleaning up after themselves, and who are self motivated and do not need constant supervision

    We are very happy for people to use our bikes etc as long as they are treated with respect and put back clean and dry after use.

  • Idiomas hablados

    Inglés: Fluido

  • Alojamiento

    Alojamiento

    There are 2 caravans which we prioritise couples for, if anyone single is really wanting to stay then we have a van conversion in the making (insulated, electric) and the tiny house possible.


    Outside the van there is a deck made from pallets and a covered area (built from reclaimed material by a hitchhiker i met) with a sofa, another log burner, Nepalese prayer flags and some funkier colored string lights. this is lovely to sit under when it's snowing or just chilling listening to the birds. There is also a washing machine, composting toilet and best of all a outdoor bath! Which is lovely to look at the stars in.

    Food...I will happily provide food for breakfast lunch and dinner. I changed to a plant based diet a few years ago and feel great for it, i don't expect you to change your diet. We take it in turns to cook and do the washing up, and feels this works really well for us. Don't worry as long as you can follow a recipe we will do fine, i have a load of recipe books. You might want to occasionally by yourself some extra snacks, though there will always be tea, coffee, bread, butter and (alternative) milks

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    Time off...
    If you like the outdoors your in the right place, Ballater is located in the Cairngorms national park witch has some stunning scenery, I have a mountain bike and two river kayaks you can use to explore. There is also loads of nice walks/hikes near by (try googling Loch Muick, lochnagar and look at the images) If you like wild camping then why not think about walking the Lairig Ghru where you could camp along the way or even stay in one of scotland Bothys these are free to use. There is a bus that runs past in both directions up to Braemar past Balmoral Castle( the queens holiday house) or into Aberdeen if you fancy checking out a city on your days off or going to the beach. If you fancy something i bit more relaxing you could spend the afternoon at are local whiskey distillery this is about 5 miles away and called Royal Lochnagar. Last of a all a great day trip if like me you have a interest in exploring your spiritual side or even Eco friendly living and building a trip up to Findhorn foundation is a must, this is about an hr and half away. I should also say that Edinburgh is a great weekend/short break its 2 and a half hrs by car.

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Más de dos

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Son opciones de calificación adicionales para cuando los miembros dejan sus comentarios. Se muestra la calificación media dejada en cada opción.

Precisión del perfil: (4.8)

Intercambio cultural: (4.9)

Comunicación: (4.9)


















Número de referencia de anfitrión: 411447277738