Explore self-sufficient life at our remote family farm in Ullapool, Scotland

Country

Gran Bretaña

actualizado  

320 “me gusta”


  • rating

    Evaluación del anfitrión

  • feedbacks

    Comentarios

  • last activity

    Última actividad

    23/01/2022

  • Last email replied

    Porcentaje de respuesta

    96.2 %

  • Last email replied

    Responde en:

    ≤ 9 dias

  • Medallas

    Super Host
 
  2022 

 Estancia mínima:  Al menos 3 semanas

E
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descripción

    Descripción

    Myself and my partner Julien and year old son Leon live and work on our farm. We are 8 miles from the village of Ullapool down a private bumpy road so feels very remote and even getting there is a bit of an adventure. We run a hill farm with sheep and cattle and well as a couple of self catered properties. We try and live as self sufficiently as possible producing our own electricity and growing as much as possible in our garden.
    We would really appreciate the extra help around the house and Garden and the farm during the summer which is always a busy time. You will be out of mobile phone reception and very limited internet as we have a small allowance per month. So prefer workaways who want a digital detox.

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Práctica de idiomas
    Ayuda en proyectos ecológicos
    Jardinería
    Proyectos de construcción y bricolaje
    Cuidado de animales
    Ayuda en una granja
    Cuidado de niños y juegos creativos
    Cocinar para toda la familia
    Ayuda doméstica
    Mantenimiento general

  • Objetivos de sostenibilidad de las NU que intenta conseguir este anfitrión

    Objetivos de sostenibilidad de las NU que intenta conseguir este anfitrión

    Objetivos de las NU
    Fin de la pobreza
    Hambre cero
    Salud y bienestar
    Educación de calidad
    Igualdad de género
    Agua limpia y saneamiento
    Energía asequible y no contaminante
    Trabajo decente y crecimiento económico
    Industria, innovación e infraestructura
    Reducción de las desigualdades
    Ciudades y comunidades sostenibles
    Producción y consumo responsables
    Acción por el clima
    Vida submarina
    Vida de ecosistemas terrestres
    Paz, justicia e instituciones sólidas
    Alianzas para lograr los objetivos
  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    We love hosting people from all different countries and sharing our way of life with them. We try for self sufficiently, making our own electricity and produce our vegetables and meat from the farm and garden. Volunteers will benefit from an amazing opportunity to stay in the highlands of Scotland living on a traditional hill farm. Julien is French but we speak English at home, so its a great place to improve your English. We try hard to make this a great exchange for both of us, language, music, books, traditions, food and also work and skills.

  • Proyectos con niños

    Proyectos con niños

    En este proyecto podría haber niños. Para obtener más información, consulta nuestras directrices y consejos aquí.

  • Ayuda

    Ayuda

    Help required is very dependent on what jobs we are doing when you stay and work is very varied. The most important work will be helping around the house with cooking and cleaning which with a new baby will be much appreciated.
    +++UPDATE Jan 2022 ++++
    We are looking for help with lambing and cutting splitting wood from beginning April until end May.
    We are also looking for help to get the garden and guests houses open, looking after Leon, painting, decorating from Beginning March until end of May.
    Then looking for someone until the end of September. please get in touch if its of any interest to you.

    Any keen builders/ carpenters / DIYers?! We have a couple of interesting projects on at the moment. We are making a shepherds hut and horse box bathroom. There is always lots of maintenance work such as digging, log splitting, painting and fixing to do around the place as well as help in the garden. Farm work depends when you stay as often the animals are out of the hill grazing and don't require much. We are lambing in May, shearing in July and gathering animals in in the autumn. We have chickens, sheep, cows, working dogs and ponies.

  • Idiomas

    Idiomas hablados
    Inglés: Fluido
    Francés: Fluido

    Este anfitrión ofrece intercambio de idiomas
    Este anfitrión ha indicado que está interesado en compartir su idioma o aprender otro.
    Ponte en contacto con él para obtener más información.

  • Alojamiento

    Alojamiento

    We love to make you feel at home here and part of the family so you will be living in our cottage with us. Your bedroom will either be a shared room with other volunteers or a private room depending on availability. We will let you know before if we are expecting other volunteers during your stay. We have double or single beds and a shared bathroom. We cook and eat meals together. I love it when volunteers help with the shopping list, getting the food they love to cook and eat.

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    We are quite remote so good for those people seeking to get of the beaten track and wanting a bit more adventure and lost in nature. On the farm you can enjoy walking, climbing, riding, sailing, fly fishing or staying out in a bothy. We live in an incredible remote location with great walks from the door step. To show you have read my profile before applying please mention the word unicorn in your email of introduction....Sorry getting a bit fed up with copy paste and no thought to the first emails to me. Thanks.
    The village of Ullapool is 8 miles away. We have bikes you can borrow- if you can help with bike maintenance always appreciated. Happy to offer lifts when we are going. Ullapool is a small but bustling fishing village with cafes, restaurants, art galleries, book shops, pubs and some great live music.
    From Ullapool there is the possibility of exploring further afield. The nearest city is Inverness which is an hour and a half away with a couple of buses going a day.

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    We can not have large motor homes or vehicles that are low to the ground.

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Más de dos

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Son opciones de calificación adicionales para cuando los miembros dejan sus comentarios. Se muestra la calificación media dejada en cada opción.

Precisión del perfil: (5.0)

Intercambio cultural: (5.0)

Comunicación: (4.8)








Número de referencia de anfitrión: 737942963212