Help with various projects; including art project support, building, land maintenance in Pahoa, Hawaii

Country

Estados Unidos

247 “me gusta”


  • rating

    Evaluación del anfitrión

  • feedbacks

    Comentarios

  • last activity

    Última actividad

    14/01/2021

 
  2021 

 Estancia mínima:  Al menos 2 semanas

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descripción

    Descripción

    Greeting from us; Julia and Harry!
    We are looking for help on our family homestead in Hawaii.
    We are really needing someone with physical strength, able to lift heavy lumber, dig, move rocks, use power tools as well as finer work.
    A couple who would like to stay long term would be ideal for us.
    We are artists, craftspeople, beekeepers, builders, inventors, hosts and are active in native american spirituality ceremonial community.
    We live on an acre of land 2.5 miles from the ocean.
    We have an open air gathering of buildings (4 sleeping cabins, main kitchen and bath house, woodshop/ art studio, and a fully self sufficient cabin.
    We have been here on this land for 12 years , during which we cleared and built, set up solar power and rain water collection, built our buildings, raised our teenagers, planted over 20 varieties of fruit trees and so much more.
    We love it here! It is a special spot on the planet.
    We have four sleeping cabins that share a kitchen and bath house and one self sufficient cabin.
    It is often quiet here at our home and there are moments of beautiful music and lively activity.
    We do yoga, meditate, go dancing, swim, bike, hike, sing, pray, practice communication and counseling skills, are active, work hard and love to have fun and enjoy this beautiful island we call home.
    We chose to eat a healthy and local omnivorous diet (we eat meat!) as much as possible and are very soberly focused (we don't drink or smoke).
    Our home is a very peaceful spot, very nature connected and part of an old hawaiian village.
    We are close to yoga classes, surfing, hiking, farmers markets, dance and music. We are 7 miles from pahoa town.
    The climate here is lovely all year. We enjoy off grid jungle living in style; solar power, rain water catchment, wireless internet and a good old landline phone.
    We are needing to create more action through having help on various projects, including; growing gardens, landscaping, mowing, fruit tree propagation, building simple structures from local materials, stretching canvas, building frames for paintings, building a cabin and greenhouse, painting, making cement forms to sculpt, gathering and splitting firewood for ceremonial fires and more.
    We are currently focused on creating income through our creative endeavors, starting cottage industries to support our needs and be able to employ people as part of the long term vision. It is very hard to get around here without a car unless you are comfortable hitch hiking.

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Jardinería
    Proyectos de construcción y bricolaje
    Compañía para ancianos
    Mantenimiento general
    Cocinar para toda la familia
    Ayuda en proyectos ecológicos
    Ayuda doméstica
    Práctica de idiomas
    Proyectos artísticos
    Ayuda con ordenadores/Internet

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Just being able to work and play in the area where we live has special blessings; the fresh air, clean water and food, simple living, peaceful environment. Coming to stay with us you can learn a lot about off grid living. How to set up and maintain a solar power system, rain water catchment system. How to keep bees without using treatments or chemicals. How to grow food in a tropical environment. You will learn about hawaiian culture and also about aspects of native american culture. You will learn about building and property maintenance, fruit tree propagation, different aspects of art creation, communication and of course more.

  • Ayuda

    Ayuda

    We would love to have a person or a couple to help us with our various projects; including art project support, building, land maintenance, some hosting, fruit tree nursery, beekeeping and much more.

  • Idiomas

    Idiomas hablados
    English: Fluido

    Este anfitrión ofrece intercambio de idiomas
    Este anfitrión ha indicado que está interesado en compartir su idioma o aprender otro.
    Ponte en contacto con él para obtener más información.

  • Alojamiento

    Alojamiento

    We are providing a private 8 by 16 foot screened in cabin with covered porch. It will have a full sized bed, closet/storage, desk/table and a small kitchen.

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    There are so many fun things to do around here. It would be best if you have a vehicle but there are many people who hitch hike around here. We may have a bike or car to offer at times but do not have extra right now. There is very limited bus service (the closest bus stop is 2.5 miles away).

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Dos

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week


Número de referencia de anfitrión: 383973178248