Earthbuilding and native plants in sunny southern Arizona, USA

  • Estados Unidos
  • 157 “me gusta”
  • Última actividad: 20 ago 2023



 Estancia mínima:  Al menos una semana



  • Descripción


    Hello! We’re Katie and Jojo and we’re on several acres in southeast Arizona, outside Bisbee. We’ve been out here almost three years and have been building with cob and restoring habitat, among other things. Both of us have had great experiences using workaway to travel around the US and the world and want to bring some of that energy here to us :)

    As of October 2022:
    The bulk of our projects are centered on building projects - finishing mudding, doing lime plaster, pouring floors, etc, and plant projects - trimming mesquite, making cactus cuttings, building check dams in washes, and a variety of other permaculture and agroforestry focused land projects. We might want to collect firewood, build a little animal friendly fencing or spend time seeding out bare areas with native grasses and wildflowers, it all depends on the season.

    We can provide bedding and a small cob building to sleep in, surrounded by beautiful nature and wildlife. Only a 20 min drive from the charming town of Bisbee. Bisbee is an amazing small town (voted one of America’s most beautiful small towns) with an old west feel and full of artists and musicians.

    Let us know if you have any questions/are interested! We’d love to have you out here :)

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Proyectos artísticos
    Ayuda en proyectos ecológicos
    Construcción y bricolaje
    Cocinar para toda la familia
    Mantenimiento general
  • Objetivos de sostenibilidad de las NU que intenta conseguir este anfitrión

    Objetivos de sostenibilidad de las NU que intenta conseguir este anfitrión

    Objetivos de las NU
    Fin de la pobreza
    Hambre cero
    Salud y bienestar
    Educación de calidad
    Igualdad de género
    Agua limpia y saneamiento
    Energía asequible y no contaminante
    Trabajo decente y crecimiento económico
    Industria, innovación e infraestructura
    Reducción de las desigualdades
    Ciudades y comunidades sostenibles
    Producción y consumo responsables
    Acción por el clima
    Vida submarina
    Vida de ecosistemas terrestres
    Paz, justicia e instituciones sólidas
    Alianzas para lograr los objetivos
  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    If you wanna learn the names and uses of every native plant in this part of the world, come on out :)

  • Ayuda


    helping on the land and helping on buildings.

    We will train you in doing anything you don’t know how to do!

  • Idiomas

    Idiomas hablados
    Inglés: Fluido

    Este anfitrión ofrece intercambio de idiomas
    We’re open to learning any language, especially interested in Spanish French Cantonese Hindi

  • Alojamiento


    Sleeping in a small cozy cob building! We can provide bedding.

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    You’ll need your own transport! Not much local buses.

    There are lots of cool things to see in the area - the town of Bisbee, other “old west” towns like Tombstone, Chiricahua national monument, whitewater draw (a bird refuge that has cranes visit in the fall/winter). The big city of Tucson and Saguaro National Park are about two hours away. If you are continuing to travel around the southwest/us in general, Jojo and I have travelled extensively and will have tons of recommendations of spots to see

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    Tons of room for a camper setup

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Más de dos

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    15 hours (~3days) per week

Número de referencia de anfitrión: 899134496991

Comentarios (1)


Looking for a French speaker to help enhance the kids speaking skills in Monte Sereno, USA
Enjoy modern, hip living with a quirky young host in Somerville, MA, USA