1 / 5

Help to renovate our stone home and get to know Istria, Croatia

  • 299 “me gusta”
  • Última actividad: 17 abr 2024



 Estancia mínima:  Una semana o menos



  • Descripción



    We are Pete and Helen, a couple who have sold our house in Manchester, England, and have moved out to the beautiful region of Istria in northern Croatia. We have bought an Istrian stone house which we are in the process of renovating. The major structural work is completed, as well as most of the big internal renovation, so we're now onto the really nice work - the finishing touches. Although, there are a lot of them - and this is what we need help with. As well as renovating our home, we also still run our business, designing websites, and so we can't devote as much time as we would like to this phase of renovation. Because we are often working from home, we cannot stress enough that anyone who visits needs to be independent and self-sufficient, as we will not be available all of the time - another reason why we would prefer a couple to visit.

    Our house is in a rural location, in a village setting. However, we are not isolated. The Adriatic coast can be reached in under 40 minutes and Slovenia and Italy are very accessible. Although public transport is virtually non-existent, we do have an insured car that can be used by visitors (by prior arrangement), who have a full, clean driving licence - and we also have a couple of bicycles which could be at your disposal. You would have a double bedroom, with two single beds which can be combined to make a double bed. We have two bathrooms - one upstairs and one downstairs, both of which have been fully renovated.

    We think that our house is a beautiful place for people who appreciate stunning surroundings, good food, good music and good company, to come and stay. We appreciate contact from independent-minded people who have the kinds of skills we are looking for, in return for a slice of Istrian life. We would also want to make you aware that you would be coming to our full-time home, not our holiday home and would ask that anyone who stays, respects this.

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Construcción y bricolaje
    Mantenimiento general
  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Anyone wanting to immerse themselves in culture and history, needs to come and stay in Istria. Influenced by the Romans, the Venetians and the Austro-Hungarians, it is rich and diverse. Although English is spoken extensively (even in the more remote areas, although you will find it's maybe not quite as easy to be understood as in the towns), if you can speak - or want to learn - Croatian, Slovenian or Italian, this is where you need to be. If food and wine are your thing, this is most definitely the place to be - we are surrounded by vineyards and some of the best restaurants in Croatia are to be found in Istria. From Roman Pula in the south, to the Austro-Hungarian spa resort of Opatija in the east, the inland medieval hilltop towns and the islands of Krk and Cres, Istria is the perfect destination for anyone wanting to experience something just a little bit out of the ordinary.

  • Ayuda



    Well, it's been a crazy last couple of years, and we have now decided to embark on a new adventure! Our beautiful home is just about fully renovated now - although we are continually finding new projects! Thankfully, these are no longer structural or messy or requiring work from very experienced people.

    But, we've decided that it's time to get our hands dirty and tackle another project, so we have taken the decision to put our renovated stone house on the market. We're not sure where this new adventure will take us, but we do know that it will involve hosting Workaway guests, hopefully in the near future.

  • Idiomas hablados

    Inglés: Fluido
    Italiano: Principiante

  • Alojamiento


    Our house is a largely renovated Istrian stone house. We have three double bedrooms, two bathrooms, a large lounge, a newly renovated kitchen, a converted indoor cellar, an outdoor cellar for storage and ample outside space. Plus, our Well Room... In detail, the accommodation comprises :

    Kitchen - newly renovated with washing machine, dishwasher, eye level oven, hob, breakfast bar, fridge freezer, underfloor heating.
    Lounge - two large sofas, TV (we can get Netflix, Sky movies, sports channels etc) woodburner.
    Well Room - this room used to have an internal Istrian stone well - we had this relocated outside the house, the chamber drained and a reinforced glass cover installed. A very unique feature! We also have had a concrete dining table made, as well as creating a day bed, for when you fancy a lie down...
    Downstairs bathroom - newly renovated, with power shower and underfloor heating
    Three double bedrooms - the one you would have has views out to the village. There are two single beds, which can be combined into a double bed - perfect for couples and friends.
    Upstairs bathroom - recently renovated by a WorkAway couple.
    Internal cellar - we call this "The Snug", because that's what it is. We have a big sofa, lots of shelves full of books, vinyl LPs, an old school record player and a cosy woodburner. Plus, hidden away in a recess, a tumble dryer and a small fridge.

    We have fixed line internet and two separate sources of 4G internet - as we are quite high up, weather conditions can sometimes affect the 4G signal, so we do have the option of both. Unless extremely foggy or stormy, mobile phone signals are very good.

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    We are looking for self-sufficient travellers to come & stay with us. Obviously, once you are in our home, we will provide you with what you need to be comfortable and relaxed and feel at home - and we'd extend the invitation for you to eat with us at mealtimes. We'd understand however, if you preferred not to do this, all the time.

    If you cannot drive, where we live is perhaps not right for you, as public transport is virtually non-existent. We have an appropriately insured (3rd party), taxed & MOTd Fiat Punto which could be at your disposal, if agreed in advance, as we will still need to work on our design business and so would be unable to drive you, all the time. (Please be aware that any damage to the car would be the responsibility of the driver). The Istrian peninsula, once you get to know it, is small and you can explore very easily. Main roads are very good and we have a toll road which takes you north to south, relatively inexpensively. Our Punto insurance only covers the car for Istria.

    We'd prefer to have a couple stay with us, as we think this will be easier all round, as you can choose to be as involved in our routine, or as self-sufficient, as you prefer. Therefore, we are really sorry that we won't really consider applications from solo travellers. Unfortunately, we can't really accommodate a family either, as we don't think we have the amount of space we'd all need, and we do still need to do our day to day work website design work. We also very strongly recommend, as a sensible precaution, that anyone travelling and who visits us via Workaway, has valid travel insurance.

    We think we are easy going and don't have too many house rules - as long as you help along the way after mealtimes etc, and obviously understand that this is our full time home, not a holiday house, we're sure we'll get along fine.

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?


  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Número de referencia de anfitrión: 287712818697

Comentarios (3)



Son opciones de calificación adicionales para cuando los miembros dejan sus comentarios. Se muestra la calificación media dejada en cada opción.

Precisión del perfil: (5.0)

Intercambio cultural: (5.0)

Comunicación: (5.0)

Helping near the most beautiful beach in Zlatni rat,Brač, Croatia
Learn about coexistence with nature and help on a sustainable farm in Reka, Croatia