Experience family life in the beautiful Vadsø, Northern Norway

  • Noruega
  • 333 “me gusta”
  • Última actividad: 22 sept 2023



 Estancia mínima:  Sin mínimo



  • Descripción


    Dear all

    The pictures of my daughters are old. They are 15, 19 and 22. So all the kind offers to babysit are not relevant :-D
    What we need is more practical help, so you must have some skills, before you come.

    1) Who can fix a scooter, which is losing gas? Who can hang up our curtains and pictures? We need a handyman or handywoman, who knows how to handle tools and vehicles.

    2) Will someone help my 15 and 19 year old teenage daughters with Math on advanced high school level (final year)?
    Will someone teach my 19 year old daughter French?

    3) We also need help for the daily house hold chores and help for sewing broken clothes and hanging up curtains. And when snowy, there is a daily task removing snow from around the house.

    We enjoy beings hosts, but since our house has not much private space, we can only host one or two visitors, who can stay in the same room. For the same reason, when we are all home, we prefer short time stays:

    We use the guestroom for drums, which my daughter practises daily.
    My daughter has to pass through the guest room, when she uses her bath room.
    So it is simply not possible to lock the door to the guestroom. Therefore, for your and our sake, we can only offer short term stays.

    We live in a town with 4500 people called Vadsø. It is situated in Finnmarken close to the Finnish and Russian borders. Here are beautiful landscapes with the sea and the hills, a lot of animals like reindeer, moose, eagle, a good chance to go skiing and see Northern light in the winter and a lot of possibilities for hikers all the year.

    There are bus and flight connections from Vadsø to the rest of Norway. You can take the Wideroe airline or the hurtigruten ferry to Vadsø. Or you can take a plane to Kirkenes and from there bus 64 to Vadsø.

    1-2 hours drive away you can find big forests and possibility to see brown bear.
    We live a place which is good for hiking, with a national parc in the back yard.
    And you can always use us as a base, while you take trips to different places in Finland and - hopefully one day again - Russia.

    We are an active and creative family, who like music, hiking, travelling and new experiences. We are nice and flexible.
    You will be welcomed as a member of the family, while living here. If you want, we will be happy to introduce you to activities in the city, according to your wishes.

    You can be as private as you want. Some might only need a bed, and take care of themselves, when the practical tasks are done. Others might want to be a part of our family and activities.
    Sometimes we are sociable and would love to show you around.
    In busy periods we mostly socialize at the meals. So be prepared for a lot of time on your own in the busy periods with examins or many services.

    You can borrow a bike or some cross country skies from us. If you can fix the scooters, they are also an option to borrow.
    There are really good options for cross country skiing in the winter (November to April)

    We serve all kinds of foods, including vegetarian. As a single mother I don't have much money, so we live on a low budget, but you are welcome to share what is ours, while living with us. If you have expensive wishes or habits, I will, however, appreciate you buy this stuff yourself.

    We are not smokers, and it is not allowed to smoke indoors.

    We have a cat.

    We look forward to meet you :-)

    Best regards Sidsel (mother), Karen Marie (19 years old) and Signe (15 years old)

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Trabajo de caridad
    Práctica de idiomas
    Construcción y bricolaje
    Cocinar para toda la familia
    Ayuda doméstica
    Mantenimiento general
    Ayuda informática
  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    We are a funny, warm and engaged family.
    We live close to the nature and to public transports, so you will be able to go out and see a lot of things easily.
    We can help you finding good tours.

    We are adventurous and would love to learn about your culture, and teach you about ours, if you like. Through my job and our neighborhood, you will meet the Norwegian culture. If you want, you are welcome to participate in the activities around the church, where I am a pastor. It is mainly the sunday services. Being a Christian is NOT necessary to stay with our family - we are a pastor's family, but we love diversity and the cultural exchange.

  • Ayuda


    Housework like cleaning and tidying up, sewing curtains, helping us being well installed in our new house. This could include some DIY. Help in other house holds than ours will only happen after appointment with you.

    Teaching Math, Mandarin, Physics and Science on high public school level and high school level.

  • Idiomas

    Idiomas hablados
    Danish: Fluido
    Inglés: Fluido
    Alemán: Intermedio
    Faroese: Intermedio
    Español: Principiante
    Francés: Principiante
    Norwegian bokmål: Principiante
    Chino (mandarín): Principiante

    Este anfitrión ofrece intercambio de idiomas
    Karen Marie is studying French and Mandarin. Help with the home work would be highly appreciated. We are Danes, even we live in Norway. So if you study Danish, we would love to help you.

  • Alojamiento


    A bed room, where you can withdraw and have some privacy. If you come two, we will find extra mattresses for you, and maybe use one of the living rooms with couches.
    We are quite flexible, as long as you smoke outside and are not extremely noisy. (You are welcome to practise any instrument and invite friends, but not welcome to play loud music).

    We live in a big house (3 stocks) with a garden. We live on a road 10 min. walk from the centre, where there are busses. We also have a car and can help you with transport for catching flights and busses. There are many nice places to hike in our area.

    We eat breakfast together at 7.00 am, before the children go to school. I would be very happy, if you can get up and help me preparing the breakfast, so we all start our day together. Lunch when we are hungry (usually about 12-13 and dinner about 6 pm. We like to make healthy and green food, mainly vegetarian. We are very flexible about your needs. If you want expensive foods, please help with buying foods sometimes, since we live on a low budget.

    My youngest daughter comes home from school about 2-3 pm. My elder daughter about 4 pm. I study and work at an office in the daytimes, and I have services on Sunday mornings.

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    There is a bus and a plane in our town, so you can get around. It is also possible to rent a car. I have a car myself, so I will be glad to drive you on tours, when I don't have too much work. If you like horse riding, culture, night life or whatever, I can help you getting around and finding the programmes and good places to go.

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    As long as you are participating in the house hold and do your duties, you can spend your free time as you want.

  • Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    I have a park place outside our house. It should be possible for a normal campervan or a motorhome to stay there. At least in the summer.

  • Podría aceptar mascotas

    Podría aceptar mascotas

    Smaller animals, preferably in a cage, are welcome. Animals, like dogs, who can scare our cat are not.

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?


  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    25 hours/week- food

Número de referencia de anfitrión: 239722881951

Comentarios (20)



Son opciones de calificación adicionales para cuando los miembros dejan sus comentarios. Se muestra la calificación media dejada en cada opción.

Precisión del perfil: (5.0)

Intercambio cultural: (5.0)

Comunicación: (4.9)

Self-sufficient organic smallholding near Lillehammer, Norway
Learn to be a sled dog handler/guide in Ramfjordbotn, Norway