Experince life on the arctic circle! Great food! Norway



243 “me gusta”

  • rating

    Evaluación del anfitrión

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Última actividad


  • facebook friends

    Numero de amigos en Facebook


  • Medallas

    Good Host
    Facebook verified

 Estancia mínima:  Al menos 3 semanas

  • Descripción


    Hi there!

    Sorry. We are not hosting at the moment. Feel fre to read profile and send a request if you plan a trip to Northern Norway after August. Life in Bodø is great, but before telling you about the all the perks of this workaway, we need to make sure you are a serious person. So: PLEASE READ WHOLE PROFILE, AND ONLY APPLY IF YOU ARE ONE PERSON, WHO IS SELF MOTIVATED, RELIABLE, FLEXIBLE AND HAVE A POSITIVE ATTITUDE TOWARDS LIFE.

    When sending a request please confirm that you have read our whole profile and write a bit about yourself, your relevant experiences and why you would like to stay with us. We prefere people above 25 years old, who can stay between 3 weeks and two months. The first two weeks will always be a trial period to see if you will meet our needs, and if we all get a long well.

    We need our workawayer to be a good role model to our 18 year old fosterdaugheter. Meaning you shouldn't smoke, use drugs or have unhealthy drinking/partying habits.

    Experince from running your own household and understandable English is a must. Work is easy and only a few hours pr day, but we do expect thoroughness and commitment when doing tasks. Experience from cleaningjobs, as well as gardening/growing vegetables is a pluss along with languge skills in Spanish.

    We are a couple in our thirties called Magdalena and Magne, living with our 18 year old fosterdaughter Malin. Two years ago we bought a big house where we live, and rennovate. At summer we normally host a lot of family and friends, and the rest of the year we sometimes (when convinient) rent out two of our guestrooms. We also keep a few chickens, and grow some vegetables.

    This means we need to find time to take care of guests, cleaning guestsrooms, and working on the house, between work and normal chores. It would therefore be really nice to host a person who can help taking care of our home, our garden and our chickens, while we are busy with work, renovating or attending to the needs of our guests. You will be treated like family and are welcome to join all meals and family activities.

    We live in Bodø, just on the arctic circle, meaning that we have midnightsun in summer and Northern lights at winter. But don't fear the klima. Summer temperatures are normally between 10-25 degrees celcius and at winter it is normally between -5 and +5 celcius. It rarly drops below 10 degrees and Norwegian homes are really warm and cozy.

    Magne is a geographer/social scientist and works as a konsultant at the state reindeer-herding management in Nordland county.

    Magdalena is a social worker/historian/social anthropologist and a cook. Currently working with youths at an activity center for people coping with psyciatric illness.

    Malin is in high- school and have a part time job at the nearby waterworld. She is spending most of here sparetime at home and likes gaming, cooking and make up.

    We have some experience hosting workawayers. It is really great to lend out a spare room in return of some help. We are also experienced couchsurfing hosts and really love hosting. Now however, we are too busy to host couchsurfers. So Workaway just seems to be the perfect deal to us right now, when we don't have time to do hosting just for the sake of hosting. You help us out with daily chores and we get time to hang out and show you the region.

    All of us love traveling and Magne and I have some solid experiences from studying, living, volunteering and working abroad in indifferent countries.

  • Tipo de ayuda

    Tipo de ayuda

    Mantenimiento / bricolage
    Cocinar / compras
    Ayuda en casa

  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    We can teach you about Norwegian (and Sami) culture. If you wish Magdalena can also teach you a lot of great cooking and baking stuff.

    We love to cook quality food with inspiration from all corners of the world. When we have time, we like spending time in nature. You will be welcome to join us for meals and depending on the season, we will be happy to take you hiking, biking, kayaking, fishing, foraging, or simply just to enjoy a cook out, a nice view or a bonfire on a natural beach

    We are hoping you will feel at home, and that this should be a reson to respect our daily routines. At weekdays we normaly get up at around 7 in the morning, go to work, then have dinner at around 5-6 and go to bed between 10 o'clock and midnight. We expect the house to be quite by 10. You'll be able to bring guests over but preferably not during the weekday evenings. No parties and no sleepoverguests unless this has been agreed on in advance. No drugs and only moderate drinking at the house.

    There is no sallary/allowance, but you'll be treated like famiy and will be welcome to join us when we are going for activities such as eating out, moovies, picnics, hiking, swiming, kayaking, or small roadtrips. We also have an old but functional bike that you can use as much as you like, and a car which we may trust you with, if you proove to be a good driver and have an international driving licence for manual.

  • Ayuda


    Your tasks include cleaning the house, changing bedsheets, and doing loundry. As a member of our home you are also expected to participate in daily household tasks such as shopping earands, cooking and washing dishes. If you speek Spanish, Malin might also need help with her homework.

    The tasks are very easy, but needs to be done with comittment and care. In return you get a comfy room free meals and plenty of spare time to explore Bodø, which is a great Northern Norwegian town surrounded by beautiful nature.

  • Idiomas hablados

    Idiomas hablados

    fluently English, a little bit Italian and a little bit Spanish

  • Alojamiento


    You will stay at our home and we'll share the work and all facilities between you and the three of us. Our house is sometimes quit busy. We host a lot of overnight guests and love to invite friends for dinner. You'll be having your own private room in the basement with easy accses to a bathroom. We will provide all meals (normal dietary) and you are welcome to use our kitchen our big livingroom and the balcony when ever you feel like it. You will have accsess to wifi, but you need to bring your own lap-top/pad if you need a computer during your stay. There are also computers to use at the public library and the touristoffice i town.

    There aren't many tasks. Maximum 5 hours pr day 5days a week (normally less) and in your sparetime, you'll be welcome to hang out with us, explore Bodø or spend time in your room. Whatever you prefere will be fine.

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    Bodø is a medium-sized Norwegian town, just above the artic-circle. This is where the Norwegian railroad ends, and you can also easily get here by plane or by boat. The town is surrounded by georgues natur like clear blue sea, white coral-beaches and peaky mountains. It is a great base for hiking, biking, kayaking, sailing, fishing, climbing or other outdoor activities.

    There are also a few nice cafees, bars and restaurants in town as well as some small galleries and a few museums. Bodø is also the best gateway to the famous Lofoten Islands, beutiful Kjerringøy, and the worlds fastest tide-water male-stream Saltstraumen. Svartisen glacier is only a few hours drive away. If you enjoy spending time in nature, you will definetly enjoy Bodø!

    Our neighbourhood is a typical small-town suburb-looking residential area in the outskirts of the so called central area of Bodø. You'll be only 10-30 minutes (walkable distance) away from anything the town has to offer:

    Airport: 15minute walk

    Maskinisten (start point for different hike-routes including the easy accsessable Keiservarden, mountain-top with a 360 degree view): 40 min walk

    Bodøsjøen (outdoor museeum, path along the shore and a popular spot for picnics): 40 min walk

    The National Aviation Museeum: 15 min walk

    Nordlandsbadet & Spectrum Velvære, (waterworld and spa): 15 min walk

    Bustop with connection to almost anywhere: 5 min walk

    Different supermarkets: 10 min walk

    City Nord shopping area: 20 min walk

    Town center ( trainstation, ferry terminal, boat harbour, busstation, tourist information, library etc): 20 min walk

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?


  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Número de referencia de anfitrión: 837889799678