Spend time with our children and be part of the local community in the small fishing village of Uig, Scotland, UK

  • Gran Bretaña
  • 70 “me gusta”
  • Última actividad: 8 jun 2023



 Estancia mínima:  1 mes o más



  • Descripción


    Hello. We live in the North End of Skye just outside the small fishing village of Uig. We have two children aged 3 and 5 and three little dogs. We live on a Croft surrounded by sheep and beautiful scenery looking over to the Outer Hebrides! We are probably in the most luckiest positions as we very rarely don’t see the Northern Lights! We run a small cafe and takeaway in Uig, about 3 miles from our home. We are only a few miles from the Quiraing and Old Man of Storr with beautiful hikes and walks such as the Trotternish Ridge on our door step! The ferry port is in Uig making the outer Hebrides accessible for a day trip in the summer months if you fancy Island Hopping! We enjoy spending time outdoors, walking, exploring the Island and helping on the Croft attached to our house, especially during the Lambing season. There are a number of hotspots for wild cold water swimming around us including the well known River Rha falls and we are only about 10 miles from Staffin beach famous for the Dinosaur Footprints! We enjoy going sea fishing in our spare time on our boat with the children or even just our for a spin around the bay or further into the Minch to watch the dolphins swimming on a nice summers evening. The sunsets are spectacular here and we enjoy watching them with a nice bbq to wind down the evening around a firepit. We live in a traditional family home with a private area of the house seperate which is the guest room and small living room perfect for reading or unwinding watching some television or listening to some music. I play the Scottish Harp so we enjoy live music too and have live music at our cafe when hosting local events. We are very sociable as a family in general and enjoy family time at home or away, having board game nights, dinner party’s and friends over especially at the cafe when we can close the door and enjoy locally caught prawns or scallops all together!

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Cuidado de niños y juegos creativos
    Ayuda doméstica
  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Living in a small community so remotely is an invaluable experience in itself and they will have a true insight into Island Living where traditional methods and ways are still applicable in todays very fast paced life! They would learn and experience Island living through the local community, our culture, the land, the people around us, music, food and the outdoors. When we are not working we like to make the most of our spare time with the children and rarely have a free weekend, either out exploring, getting nice local produce and cooking for family and friends, having fun evenings with friends or hosting events at the cafe such as live music etc. There are a lot of local events nearby with concerts from all genres of music, art and exhibitions etc. We are privileged to live on the Isle of Skye home to stunning dramatic scenery such as the Cuillin Hills which are half an hours drive away or the Fairy Pools which are an hour away. The Fairy Glen is a ten minute drive from our house. The local community are so friendly and welcoming with lots of things going on for you to do in your spare time.

  • Au pair

    Ayuda au pair

    This host has let us know they’ll be complying with UK regulations for au pair stays.

  • Proyectos con niños

    Proyectos con niños

    En este proyecto podría haber niños. Para obtener más información, consulta nuestras directrices y consejos aquí.

  • Ayuda


    We are ideally looking for someone with experience in childcare for our two children aged 3 and 5. They are creative and stimulated by our surroundings and the outdoors so enjoy going to the beach or shore rather than sitting in front of an iPad. They enjoy woodland walks and pottering around the Croft, especially during the lambing season when they will get stuck in and help for example bottle feeding the baby lambs or gathering the sheep on the quad bike! My partner and I both have our own businesses (The cafe and my partner is a Pest Controller) but the business is only a few minutes drive from the house. We are hoping to have someone who likes animals as we have the dogs who are very easy and we are fortunate in surroundings that they can be off the lead and roam around as we do not have immediate neighbours beside us. The area is great for walking and bike riding and the children enjoy being out all weathers if they can. They also enjoy coming down and spending time with myself at the cafe too. There would be light household duties but nothing too demanding, a little laundry, hoovering etc. Our priority is finding someone who will encourage our children to progress by stimulating them with arts, crafts, reading, imaginative play, music, exploring outside etc. They enjoy reading and music, singing and dance which I would love to be encouraged and enhanced if possible. They are happy to sit and watch a nice movie or making a den or picnic in the lounge if the weather is horrendous! They love beach combing and the play park. They are not demanding and very polite and clever for their ages. They are very kind and caring little beings full of love fun and laughter. The most important qualities we are seeking is a trustworthy, honest, kind, caring person to take care of our children whilst we are working.

  • Idiomas hablados

    Inglés: Fluido
    Alemán: Principiante

  • Alojamiento


    Double bedroom and seperate small living room/study. Large family kitchen which we rarely use so would be mostly for their use as we tend to cook at the cafe unless we are having friends over or having a Sunday roast all together. We will provide a weekly shop with whatever they would like if they would prefer to cook for themselves or else they can eat at the cafe or with us. If not we can give a weekly shopping allowance if preferred.

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    We are a five minute walk to the bus stop connecting the north end to Uig and Portree the closest town which is 25 minutes away. We have bikes but also happy to take them around the Island as wished.

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Más de dos

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Número de referencia de anfitrión: 187978645445


Enjoy helping with children and dogs near to Sherwood Forest in England
Share you talents at eco-campsite in Somerset