Help us with gardening near Olympia, WA, USA


Estados Unidos

196 “me gusta”

  • rating

    Evaluación del anfitrión

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Última actividad


  • facebook friends

    Numero de amigos en Facebook


  • Medallas

    Super Host
    Facebook verified
  • Descripción


    I live on 22 acres in between Seattle, WA and Portland, OR. I'm about 20 minutes south of Olympia, WA, an adorable, green little city with a ton of attractions, right on the Sound. We're about an hour and half away from the WA coast, the Olympic Peninsula, Portland OR, and Seattle WA. Right in the middle of everything, but out in the middle of nowhere.

    Our land is mostly pasture, but with a giant yard and a huge garden area. It's green and lush most of the year, though late summer is hot and dry, so the lawn isn't quite as pretty. We live under old pine and cedar trees, in a lovely, comfortable home. We are caretakers for a number of animals on the farm, including 2 big dogs and 2 cats in the house, and 1 cow, a llama, 3 goats,many chickens, a bunch of turkeys, and a family of geese in the pastures.
    It's hard to over emphasize how incredibly beautiful this place is, with a large back deck overlooking the barn and deeply wooded back pasture, a hot tub on the side of the house for cool nights, a side deck under a shade giving tree with a bbq and sitting area, and a beautiful rock garden for a front yard, with a pond and waterfall.

    The best part of the house, though, is the animals and people who live here. Right now it's just me living here full time, and then the troop of folks who come and go from Workaway and elsewhere. We are all very community oriented people, who believe that open communication, honesty, kindness, and warmth create the best of what humans are able to be socially. We are hospitable and happy, and thoroughly enjoy learning as much as we can about new people and places. I have traveled extensively, mostly doing housesitting for farms and ranches, and have a deep love for the joys and hardships of travel. I enjoy helping makes others experiences just as warm and wonderful as mine were.

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Proyectos de construcción y bricolaje
    Mantenimiento general
    Cocinar para toda la familia
    Ayuda en una granja
    Ayuda en proyectos ecológicos
    Ayuda doméstica
    Cuidado de animales

  • Objetivos de sostenibilidad de las NU que intenta conseguir este anfitrión

    Objetivos de sostenibilidad de las NU que intenta conseguir este anfitrión

    Objetivos de las NU
    Fin de la pobreza
    Hambre cero
    Salud y bienestar
    Educación de calidad
    Igualdad de género
    Agua limpia y saneamiento
    Energía asequible y no contaminante
    Trabajo decente y crecimiento económico
    Industria, innovación e infraestructura
    Reducción de las desigualdades
    Ciudades y comunidades sostenibles
    Producción y consumo responsables
    Acción por el clima
    Vida submarina
    Vida de ecosistemas terrestres
    Paz, justicia e instituciones sólidas
    Alianzas para lograr los objetivos
  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    We are open minded people with a love of multiple cultures. We have masks from all over the world, a library full of books both spiritual and scientific, and a hodgepodge of meaningful decorations that span multiple cultures. We try to be deeply respectful of the faiths and cultures we're drawn to, without being culturally appropriative or ignorant. But there's always learning to be done :). We enjoy a respectful exchange of ideas and beliefs, enjoy hearing about others worlds and experiences, and enjoy telling our own stories.

    As for the area we live in, it's a mix. We are 4 minutes outside a tiny little town with a gas station and grocery store, 20 min from a small city with everything you could want, and 1.5 hours away from two of the most beautiful cities on the Pacific coast. Day trips by train are possible to both Seattle and Portland, with either a car or a ride to the train station, which we'd be happy to help with.

  • Proyectos con niños

    Proyectos con niños

    En este proyecto podría haber niños. Para obtener más información, consulta nuestras directrices y consejos aquí.

  • Ayuda


    For the time we have available right now, the help we really need is in the garden. We have a huge space, and not as much time as we'd like to take care of it. I'd like to find people willing to do some heavy weeding and organizing for a short period of time during the day. Maybe a couple of hours in the mornings, when it's still cool, or in the evenings.

    You'd be welcome to help with the animals, feeding and cleaning in the barn, as well as feeding the inside animals.
    We finished building a chicken coop out of an old wagon, but are always improving it. I'm getting started on setting up an Aquaponics hoophouse for this summer, and would love some help with that. I'm learning as I go, so folks who know what they're doing are welcome, but folks who want to learn with me are also welcome. We're interested in sustainable building, specifically cob, straw bale, and earth bag. We have a lot of land, and a lot of interest, but not much time. So, we'd love to learn, and potentially provide space to create and experiment. But for right now, our focus is the garden, yard, and house.

  • Idiomas hablados

    Inglés: Fluido

  • Alojamiento


    We have a little space set up in the atrium on our back deck for sleeping, with a gas fireplace and lots of windows. It gets chilly at night and very warm during summer days, but we keep it cozy. Or you'd be welcome to camp out in the back yard. We can provide a large tent and some sleeping gear, but fair warning, we have a wolf sanctuary within a couple of miles of the house, so being outside at night often means hearing wolfs howling and neighborhood dogs responding to that howling with barking. You can also hear the train going by sometimes, sounding closer than it actually is thanks to a quirky trick of acoustics in this valley. It's country, but it's not always quiet. So, ear plugs or deep sleepers are encouraged.You'd have full access to the rest of the house, including a large kitchen with a gas stove and plenty of counter space, and a very comfortable living room with a TV that doesn't have cable but is hooked up to a laptop for shows online. I would try to provide 2 meals a day, breakfast and dinner, with food available for a simple lunch if you're around. Food would be available on your own schedule if wanted, and you'd be welcome to eat with us on our schedule if wanted. I'm happy to accommodate specific dietary needs, as we already have a mix of dietary conditions in the house. If you're a strict vegetarian or vegan, I'm happy to provide those meals, but please be aware that the fridge and cooking implements are not separated from meat products.

    I have DSL internet that works great, though it can be slow during the days when I'm working from home, so streaming during weekdays might be harder. We also have pretty terrible cell phone reception at this property, though it's fine in the surrounding town and area. We have a land line phone you'd be welcome to make local calls with, and I would provide a calling card for international calls.


  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    The area we live in is not public transportation friendly, so a car is necessary. I'm happy to help with travel to specific spots, and to do a bit of sightseeing, but I work full time from home, so wouldn't have much time during the day. I would recommend either renting a car if wanting to go to the ocean, or planning on a couple of day trips to the city by train. I can help plan where to go, how to get there, and what to see, when you figure out what you'd like to do.

    We are not heavy drinkers or drug users, and do NOT want that energy on our farm. We drink socially and are comfortable with pot, but we're respectful of our environment and people around us. We all smoke a little tobacco, generally from a hookah or pipe, but not in the house, and ask that cigarette smokers stay away from the animals and humans when smoking and that they are careful to take care of their trash.

    This is not an assignment that's likely to appeal to people who are looking to party quite a bit, nor are we likely to be drawn to people like that. We're more interested in comfortable, respectful, quieter (though you don't have to be an introvert. Lord knows we aren't!), people who love nature and getting their hands dirty. Easy access to the city is nice, but the best part of being here is experiencing the land and all it has to offer. Peace, tranquility, and healing are hallmarks of our home.

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    While my wifi is DSL based, so not always the best for video calls, I am able to work full time from home doing computer heavy work. Download time is better than upload time, so if you're having to upload a bunch of video it might not work. But otherwise, I've never had a problem working from the farm.

  • Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    There's a couple of safe spaces to park vans/motorhomes. I don't think anything larger than 25ft or so would work longterm, as the driveway needs to be accessible to large delivery trucks coming and going. The driveway is long, but circular, and easy to get back out of.

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Más de dos

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    2-3 hours a day, 5 days a week

Son opciones de calificación adicionales para cuando los miembros dejan sus comentarios. Se muestra la calificación media dejada en cada opción.

Precisión del perfil: (5.0)

Intercambio cultural: (5.0)

Comunicación: (5.0)

Número de referencia de anfitrión: 167638817336