actualizado  

Work hard, eat well, live beautifully on our little farm in Massachusetts, USA

  • Estados Unidos
  • 565 “me gusta”
  • Última actividad: 27/01/2023

DISPONIBILIDAD

  2023 

 Estancia mínima:  Al menos un mes

E
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Detalles

  • Descripción

    Descripción

    Come help out on our lovely little farm in the fabulous town of Shelburne Falls in beautiful western Massachusetts, USA. We are Janice, artist and interior designer and Michael, professor of English and American Studies at Fitchburg State University. We are both active and engaged people. We like to run, cook, write, garden, and create, among other things.

    Our small lovely farm includes one kitty, Thomas Catkins, and three dogs, Georgia (corgi/golden), Gideon (black lab) and Babette (beagle/Chihuahua) and chickens and is set rurally though we are not too far from wonderful cultural activities. We are always chock full of new projects and creative ideas for beautifying our place and taking social and artistic action.

    If you do not -absolutely love dogs-, we are not the home for you. If you do not love meeting new people but rather, prefer to spend your time on your device, we are not the home for you. If you do not like to try new foods, we are not the home for you. If you do love dogs, the land, good food, creative conversation, social engagement, clear communication and the good life, come stay with us!

    Plan to arrive vaccinated and boostered. :)

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Trabajo de caridad
    Proyectos artísticos
    Práctica de idiomas
    Ayuda en proyectos ecológicos
    Enseñanza
    Jardinería
    Proyectos de construcción y bricolaje
    Cuidado de animales
    Ayuda en una granja
    Cocinar para toda la familia
    Ayuda doméstica
    Mantenimiento general
    Ayuda con ordenadores/Internet
  • Objetivos de sostenibilidad de las NU que intenta conseguir este anfitrión

    Objetivos de sostenibilidad de las NU que intenta conseguir este anfitrión

    Objetivos de las NU
    Fin de la pobreza
    Hambre cero
    Salud y bienestar
    Educación de calidad
    Igualdad de género
    Agua limpia y saneamiento
    Energía asequible y no contaminante
    Trabajo decente y crecimiento económico
    Industria, innovación e infraestructura
    Reducción de las desigualdades
    Ciudades y comunidades sostenibles
    Producción y consumo responsables
    Acción por el clima
    Vida submarina
    Vida de ecosistemas terrestres
    Paz, justicia e instituciones sólidas
    Alianzas para lograr los objetivos
  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    We will love to have you and it is my hope that we will learn from one another! I can teach you some of the basics of canning, cooking and bread baking as well as a thing or two about chicken care and gardening. Michael plays the banjo pretty much every day so musicians are encouraged to apply!

    Michael and I are now both fully vaccinated/inoculated so are moving closer toward the normal pre-covid social activities.

    If you are a Spanish speaker I will enjoy practicing with you and I can help you with English if you like, no matter where you are from!

  • Ayuda

    Ayuda

    Hey There! Here at our farm in western MA help needed will vary from day to day except for a few daily tasks such as animal chores, cleaning, gardening, baking bread, and cooking. Other help required can include raspberry picking, painting, transcription, computer help, organizing the basement, weeding our small kitchen garden and mowing (in summer), leaf removal (in fall) and shoveling (in winter). At this time we could use some light building/construction help. As well, the chicken coop gets "mucked" every three month.

  • Idiomas

    Idiomas hablados
    Inglés: Fluido

    Este anfitrión ofrece intercambio de idiomas
    I would enjoy practicing my Spanish with you and supporting your English learning.

  • Alojamiento

    Alojamiento

    We have two spaces where you might stay depending on what else is happening in our household at the time. We have the “magic room” which is a finished attic space preferred by many of our Workawayers for its privacy and coziness. Or the larger “family room.” Both have comfy beds.

    I am a professional cook and love to feed people healthy, delicious food. This will include our farm fresh eggs. :)

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    If you are a person who spends the bulk of you’re time in your room on your devises— we are not a great fit. We are not anti technology but rather pro irl and part of what we offer are social interaction, connection and adventures in the outer/outside world.

    We live in the fabulous town of Shelburne Falls in beautiful western Massachusetts where open minded people and rural country living co-exist. You can swim, hike, ski, dance, practice yoga and hear live music all within 10-40 min of here. We are 35 minutes from Northampton, 30 min from North Adams (and Mass MoCA), 45 min from Amherst, two hours east of Boston and New York City is four hours south.

    No daily pot smoking.

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    You have internet access everywhere in the house and there is a desk in the bedroom where you can work while not on workaway hours.

  • Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    Any size. We have lots of room on our property.

  • Podría aceptar mascotas

    Podría aceptar mascotas

    Dogs, sorry no cats.

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Dos

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Número de referencia de anfitrión: 635978485569

Comentarios (24)



Fotos

Comentarios

Son opciones de calificación adicionales para cuando los miembros dejan sus comentarios. Se muestra la calificación media dejada en cada opción.

Precisión del perfil: (4.7)

Intercambio cultural: (4.6)

Comunicación: (4.6)


































Join our small family and help us with taking care of our beloved dog Daisy in Salem, US
Assist at our non-profit wild horse training facility in New Mexico, USA