actualizado  

Help me fix up my house and grow vegetables in Gestalgar, Spain

  • 121 “me gusta”
  • Última actividad: 14 jul 2024

DISPONIBILIDAD

  2024 

 Estancia mínima:  Sin mínimo

E
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Detalles

  • Descripción

    Descripción

    Hi there, I'm James. I'm 30 years old and from Scotland. I recently bought a house in the countryside near Valencia. It's a beautiful place surrounded by mountains, with lots of hiking routes and two pretty villages nearby. It's already comfortable inside the house, but it needs a bit of work outside. I have a very friendly if slightly demanding cat. My goal is to learn about growing food and doing basic construction; renovating the house and making it beautiful in the process.

    Right now I'm working on two main tasks:
    - Painting the outside of the house: scraping off the old paint, fixing some cracks and old plaster, sticking down some tiles & finally painting the walls and window frames
    - Growing food in the garden

    I'm looking for people who feel confident doing tasks like that and also doing them alone some of the time, as I'm quite busy with my job at the moment. However, I work from home, so I will be around, and we can work together whenever I'm free and of course hang out at the end of the day and at the weekends.

    I work online as an English teacher, although my real passion is music and writing, which I also do - without making any money. When I lived in London and Glasgow I hosted lots of people from other sites and loved the experience. I love meeting and spending time with new people, learning about other cultures and making connections that last!

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Construcción y bricolaje
    Ayuda doméstica
    Mantenimiento general
  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    I'm an English teacher and I can of course help you with your English. I'm also fluent in Spanish so if you're learning Spanish I can help you with that too! If you're a musician, then we can make some music together - I play the piano and guitar and sing and I have built a small home studio here. Other people are always the best inspiration!

  • Ayuda

    Ayuda

    Most of the tasks I need to do are outside:

    - Repairing cracks in the plaster of an outside wall
    - Repainting the house
    - Preparing the ground, planting and then maintaining plants
    - Building more places to shelter from the sun (which is hot in the summer!)
    - Other small DIY tasks.

    I'm also planning to start brewing beer - something I've always wanted to do. Tasks aren't done on a serious rota like in other more organised workaways - it's just my house and garden and I'm looking for someone who's good company and happy to help out with things!

  • Idiomas

    Idiomas hablados
    Inglés: Fluido
    Español: Fluido

    Este anfitrión ofrece intercambio de idiomas
    I can help you with English, and Spanish as well if you're a beginner.

  • Alojamiento

    Alojamiento

    The house is a bungalow with a big kitchen, a comfortable living room, two bathrooms, a garden and roof terrace. I have a spare room in which there is a comfortable single bed and storage. In terms of food, we can share the cooking (if you enjoy cooking) and I will provide the ingredients. I'm a meat-eater myself, but I love vegetarian and vegan food and I'm happy to adjust my diet according to your needs.

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    The house is surrounded by mountains with lots of places to hike and in the local village there is a nice river you can swim in. The place is amazing for cycling. Like everywhere else in Spain it is full of history - on the other side of the hills there's an abandoned airfield from the civil war, and down the road in Gestalgar there is a castle and the remains of a Roman aqueduct. Valencia is only a 50-minute drive away or there's a train from Llíria which I can drive you to. There's also a bus to the city which passes once a day. I have internet access which you're free to use, although it's a 4G connection and although it's very reliable it's a little slow by modern standards - 20mb/s - and I need to use it to teach my online classes, so I ask that you don't watch any videos in HD or download large files.

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    I have a 4G internet connection which I use for teaching online classes - so you can't watch HD video or download large files. Otherwise, you're free to use it!

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Uno

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    Ad hoc - maximum 4-5 hours a day, up to 5 days a week

Número de referencia de anfitrión: 139123696146

Comentarios (9)



Comentarios

Son opciones de calificación adicionales para cuando los miembros dejan sus comentarios. Se muestra la calificación media dejada en cada opción.

Precisión del perfil: (4.9)

Intercambio cultural: (4.9)

Comunicación: (4.8)












Daily family life and take care of my girls in Conil de la Frontera, Spain
Looking for help with the garden in Benicassim, Spain