actualizado  

Be a member of our family, just below the arctic circle in Skonseng, Norway

  • 822 “me gusta”
  • Última actividad: 4 jun 2024

DISPONIBILIDAD

  2024 

 Estancia mínima:  Al menos 2 semanas

E
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Detalles

  • Descripción

    Descripción

    Updated May 2024.
    For the summer season, we will really prioritize anyone with skills in carpentry or advanced DIY skills in house renovation. The building project is close to being finished, so everything we do now will be very visible on the end result, so attention to details is important. If you have absolutely no experience with building anything, it is almost no point to apply.
    In addition to the house project, we do have lots of general maintenance chores around the farm, taking care of outdoor areas, garden, etc.. So even though we really need someone with building skills, there will also be jobs not connected to the build.

    We prefer workawayers who have at least SOME life experience, if you are closing in on the mid 20'ies or older, it gives you an advantage when applying to us. If you are below 20, your application really needs to stand out to be considered.


    General information:
    We are a family of 4, Ivar and Wirat in late 40's, Jonas 9 yo, and Aria 16 yo. Grandparents living next door. Both parents have jobs outside the farm, so having help from workawayers is greatly appreciated. With two (soon three) houses on the farm, and a big garden, we basically never run out of stuff that should be taken care of, but time is always limited!

    The farm is located just below the arctic circle, at the base of Saltfjellet/Svartisen National Park. Our family has been running the farm since around 1760. Until recently, we produced potatoes on about 10 hectares, but due to the financial situation for agriculture in Norway, the production has now stopped. Our cultivated areas are still being used for production of food for animals on neighbouring farms.
    We are friendly, sociable people, and hope to make new friends, as well as getting help on the property, through the workaway experience! Aria sometimes needs to be dragged out of her room, but when you succeed, she loves to play cards, and is very social. Jonas is usually shy for about 5 minutes, but when he has warmed up, he loves to play. Any effort to get both of them away from phone, television, playstation, etc., for a while, is greatly appreciated!

    The workaway experience at our place, is mainly focused on a building project. We are building a house to have more space for accomodation. The house is constructed from second hand housing modules, and we have tried to reuse as much as possible, without compromising living standards and comfort.
    Parts of the house (bedrooms, living area) are almost complete, but especially bathrooms till have som work to do, and also the outside of the house.

    We also expect the Workawayers to take part in general household chores. We have quite a busy everyday schedule, with full jobs outside the farm, and children who need driving to different activities several days a week, so we are always falling behind on stuff that needs to be done. We appreciate very much those who are "self propelled", and simply just helps out where it's needed, without necessairily being given detailed instructions on every little task. This mainly concerns simple tasks, such as keeping the house clean, taking out the trash, etc.,
    Worth to mention, since many workawayers have special dietary information, is that we are not vegetarians. Hunting and fishing has been part of the lifestyle on the farm since our forfathers made the first fields, and we are still self supplied with moosemeat from the wilderness, which we are happy to serve to our guests.

    Even though the potato production has come to an end, if you write "potato lover" in the headline, we will know that you actually read our profile, before applying. ;)

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Jardinería
    Construcción y bricolaje
    Ayuda en una granja
    Ayuda doméstica
    Mantenimiento general
  • Objetivos de sostenibilidad de las NU que intenta conseguir este anfitrión

    Objetivos de sostenibilidad de las NU que intenta conseguir este anfitrión

    Objetivos de las NU
    Fin de la pobreza
    Hambre cero
    Salud y bienestar
    Educación de calidad
    Igualdad de género
    Agua limpia y saneamiento
    Energía asequible y no contaminante
    Trabajo decente y crecimiento económico
    Industria, innovación e infraestructura
    Reducción de las desigualdades
    Ciudades y comunidades sostenibles
    Producción y consumo responsables
    Acción por el clima
    Vida submarina
    Vida de ecosistemas terrestres
    Paz, justicia e instituciones sólidas
    Alianzas para lograr los objetivos
  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    When you stay at our farm, you will be a member of our family, and take part in our way of living. If you are in a process of getting language training, we could be helpful both with Norwegian and English.

  • Proyectos con niños

    Proyectos con niños

    En este proyecto podría haber niños. Para obtener más información, consulta nuestras directrices y consejos aquí.

  • Ayuda

    Ayuda

    You will be expected to help out with random tasks around the property. Anything from normal housework and gardening, to smaller refurbishing projects, maintenance and cleaning. Also at times, we have bigger building projects, so carpentry skills can be greatly appreciated.

  • Idiomas

    Idiomas hablados
    Inglés: Fluido
    Norwegian: Fluido
    Alemán: Intermedio
    Francés: Principiante

    Este anfitrión ofrece intercambio de idiomas
    Having worked abroad for many years, Ivar has an above average command of the English language, and can be a good conversationalist, in order to improve your own skills.

  • Alojamiento

    Alojamiento

    Although our new house is not finished yet, we have the bedrooms and livingroom ready for use, and this is where you will be staying. Bathroom and kitchen is still under construction, so these facilities is shared in our main house.

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    At the base of Saltfjellet/Svartisen National Park, you have a perfect starting point for hikes in the mountains. The nearby Svartisen Glacier is another popular sight. The farm is located kind of in the wilderness, so if you like to stay close to nature, it's a perfect spot. There is a river running through our valley, and we have both a canoe and a river kayak available, and there are very nice opportunities for fishing. Should you be here during winter, it is usually rich in snow, and mountains around the farm are popular among skiers. Up to more than 1000 altimeters of downhill, after climbing to the top can take the breath out of anyone!

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    Also possible to hook up to electricity from several outlets around the farmhouses.

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Más de dos

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    Up to 25 hours per week.

Número de referencia de anfitrión: 118836939414

Comentarios (27)



Comentarios

Son opciones de calificación adicionales para cuando los miembros dejan sus comentarios. Se muestra la calificación media dejada en cada opción.

Precisión del perfil: (5.0)

Intercambio cultural: (5.0)

Comunicación: (5.0)
































Help me with renovating my catamaran in Bergen, Norway
Join our everyday family life and help with childcare in Oslo, Norway