Paula

From: Netherlands

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Finland, Georgia, Iceland, Norway, Poland

  • ...

    Travel dates

    01/12/2016 - 31/12/2021

  • Badges

    Super Workawayer
    Explorer

  • My status

    Travelling

  • Description

    * will be doing a paid job in the south of norway in may and june so not available for workaways at the moment *

    Hi there!

    My name is Paula and from december 2016 I have been travelling and doing workaways. Four years ago I decided to quit my job as a criminologist for Dutch customs. I really wanted to spend more time outdoors and be more physically active. Since then I have been doing all kinds of workaways. Always open to new opportunities!

    Some examples:
    In Sweden I helped guiding northern light excursions on snowmobiles and helped with reindeerherding. In Norway I painted a hallway, prepared Airbnb rooms and helped preparing a skitrack. After that I worked on a huge cattle ranch in Canada BC and a goat farm on Vancouver Island. Besides that I worked on an oysterfarm on Prince of Wales Island in Alaska for almost six months in total, which I really enjoyed. In Ireland I helped with renovating an old castle and worked on their farm. In Ireland I also worked on an oysterfarm. I also did construction work there. We built an addition to an traditional old cottage on a small island. I really enjoyed it!
    The summer of 2018 I spent in Greenland, where I worked at a reindeerfarm. I did a lot of different things there, like fixing fences, helping with reindeer butchering, catching arctic char by nets and processing the meat and fish. Besides this I helped with building a 9 m long wooden barge that will be used to transport reindeer and I made souvenirs out of antlers to sell to tourist.
    All where priceless experiences to me! Workaways offered me great opportunities to meet new people, learn new skills, get to know other cultures and other ways of living, while also helping people.

    About me:
    Well, where should I start?:)
    Untill december 2016 I lived and worked (as a criminologist for Dutch customs) in Rotterdam in the Netherlands, but I grew up in the countryside in the southern part of the Netherlands. I really love being active and being outdoors. Just as most workawayers (I assume) I also really like to travel. I've been to many different countries in the past few years, but the northernmost countries and the Scandinavian countries appeal to me most. This has been the case since I went to Scandinavia for the first time with my parents when I was about 16 years old. I was really impressed by the beautiful nature and also by the people. I was very lucky that I got the opportunity to study in Oslo for a semester. I loved it so much and I didn't like going back home, so I go back to Scandinavia and other northern countries as often as I can :)
    I'm very interested in the way of life in northern countries, as well in the summer as definitely also in wintertime (it seems like I'm the only one in the Netherlands, but I really like winter and cold weather:)) . I'm also interested in many other countries though!
    I have a wide range of interests, including hiking, camping, surfing, reading watching documentaries (eg about nature, society, history, criminology etcetera). Furthermore I became interested in aquaculture after working on an oysterfarm in Alaska. I'm optimistic, eager to learn and a hard worker.
    I'm especially interested in a job where I can be active and outdoors often, but I'm open to a wide variety of projects, so just let me know if you think I can help you out with anything!
    I'm looking forward to hear from you, If you have any questions, don't hesitate to ask me!

  • Interests

    Mountain
    Nature
    Camping
    Adventure sports
    Cycling
    Outdoor activities
    Hiking
    Van life
    Farming
    Sustainability
    Animals
    DIY & crafts
    Blogging
    Politics / Social justice
  • Skills and knowledge I'd like to share or learn

    Some knowledge of:  

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Babysitting and creative play
    Being an elderly companion
    General Maintenance
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Life at a Farmstay
    Eco Projects
    Helping around the house
    Animal Care
    Hospitality/Tourism
    Charity Work
    Language practice
    Art Projects
    Helping with Computers/ Internet
  • More details about your skills

    Last year I did a lot various things. I learned the basics of driving snowmobiles, tractors and skiffs, I did a lot of sanding, painting walls (indoors and outdoors) and learned about farming and reindeerherding. In Alaska I also helped building a shelter out of used materials, learned a lot about aquaculture and pulled a lot of shrimp pots. I all really enjoyed it! I did construction work in Greenland, Alaska and Ireland and loved doing it.
    I also took a 3 day chainsaw course in 2017 and got a certificate, so I do know the basics , would like to practice more.
    Since I was on highschool I've had many different parttime jobs (in weekends and hollidays) e.g. in agriculture, in the food serving industry, logistics and babysitting. I've also participated in various voluntary/charity projects in the field of gardening, human rights, refugees care and elderly care.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Dutch: Fluent
    German: Intermediate
    French: Beginner
    Norwegian: Beginner

  • Age

    37

  • What else ...

    Letter of recommendation written by my Greenlandic host and other references available upon request

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      No

    • Special dietary requirements
      No

Photos

Feedback