Jessica

  • United States
  • Login to see last activity

Badges (3)

Email verified
Good Workawayer

Watch my profile video

Please accept marketing-cookies to watch the video.

Profile information

  • Travel information

    I am currently

    At home

    My next destination:

    Hawaii, United States - from Aug 2024 until Sep 2024
    View all
  • Description

    Greetings fellow earthlings, soy Jes. I live on Kalapuy Ilihi – the traditional indigenous
    homeland of Kalapuya peoples, who were dispossessed of their lands by the U.S. government and white settlers in the mid-1800s. I gravitated to Europe when I was 21 to work on de-americanizing my mind. I kept busy for four years teaching English, tending bar, working with children, teaching theater, editing PhD theses, backpacking, drinking moonshine with villagers, climbing mountains, riding bikes, making general mischief, and doing my best to learn from every new creature, person and place I encountered along the way. I returned to the US in 2018 because I felt my language, teaching and mentorship skills would be useful in helping immigrant families in the middle of the raging shitstorm that was trump (not that any US president has ever been a decent human, as the US is a powerhungry bully of a country founded on the genocide of cultures far wiser than our own.) I am currently working as a teacher for Latine and Indigenous youth (middle school and high school level) and as a technology tutor for spanish-only elders. I also DJ at least twice a month, I love curating and sharing music and hosting fun events. I love to travel, but I find aimless travel flat and unfulfilling compared to traveling with a purpose and a basis for relationship building, which is why this is my ninth year as a registered workawayer.

    I'm energetic, independent, humorous, an oddball, a swimmer, a punk rock spirit, an activist, fiery and loving. I was absolutely born to work with youth, probably because I'll never grow up. Skilled interior organizer, designer, very creative mind. I also love to work with elders, and I love animals (I do eat them though, respectfully but still.) I come from a farming family, so I appreciate honest physical labor as well as more interactive work. I am very engaging and outgoing when working one-on-one with people. I have experience in most sectors, including front desk/secretary, animal care, farmer/gardener, design and decor, painting and doing murals, writing and editing, hostess, bartender, teacher/tutor, curriculum planning, choreography and play direction, bike tour guide, event organizer and project leader. Fluent in English and Spanish, French intermediate. I can promise you an honest and humble effort to help in whatever you need. I am grateful to be considered and hungry for new projects, new skills and new friendships. Thanks for taking the time to read this.

  • Interests

    Pets
    Plant care
    Water sports
    Cooking & food
    Photography
    Nature
    Camping
    Dancing
    Outdoor activities
    Architecture
    Writing
    Self development
    Politics / Social justice
    Performing arts
    Music
    Languages
    LGBTQ
    Hitchhiking
    Gardening
    Fitness

    show more
  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Fluent
    French: Intermediate
    Italian: Beginner

    More details about my language interests
    For long-term stays I am often available for tutoring or teaching creative english to students of any age. Especially skilled with kids age 10-15 and seniors.

    Find a language buddy

  • Skills and knowledge I'd like to share or learn

    I'm interested in:  

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Being an elderly companion
    Life at a Farmstay

    Able to teach about:  

    Art Projects
    Languages
    Teaching
  • More details about your skills

    I speak English, French & Spanish
    I LOVE ALL ANIMALS! I don't mind getting dirty. Also experienced dog walker/trainer.
    Farming & gardening (18 years experience -- I was raised on an alfalfa/cattle farm -- I love hard work in the dirt)
    Household maintenance, decor and organization. I can feng shui the crap out of your house and re-organize your everything.
    Front desk customer service, secretary, concierge
    Very skilled with youth -- mentorship, teaching, childcare, & au pair experience
    English teaching & tutoring for people of all ages -- I go outside the box, incorporate a lot of movement, multimedia & creativity into lessons
    Opening & closing procedures, maintenance, inventory and stocking, operate cash registers
    Competent in technology, I train elders in Spanish
    Barista
    Basic bartending
    ART!! Painting, decorating, sculpting, you name it

  • Age

    31

  • What else ...

    RE: Video
    The video on my page is from 2014, when I was 21 and just starting as a workawayer :)

    RE: Feedback
    Most hosts I've stayed with didn't think about leaving ratings at all and for the most part, neither did I. Oops!! I served as a workaway volunteer at a family farm in Austria, in an AirBnB for downhill mountain bikers in Slovenia, on a homestead in Hungary, for a charity called No Name Kitchen providing food to immigrants in Serbia, and at a dog rescue in Greece -- all wonderful, wild and positive experiences.

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements
      Not special, but I tend to have stomach issues generally. Need regular greens.

Feedback


Photos

Friends

Feedback